Almost done…

How sneaky is this…

1017

Yep – that is Christmas knitting – but I don’t think anyone will be able to figure out what it is, or who it is for.  I’m knitting my fingers off (two weeks today!) but can’t show anything…sigh.  I’m in really good shape – I had 5 people to knit for – and I’m just about done 3…well, really, I’m just about done 4.  Then if I can, I may go back and make something else for 2 of them.  And I think I’m going to be fine.  And I honestly can’t wait to be done – I have already planned my next projects – Cobblestone for Larry, Twinings stole for me, and a pair of socks for Larry.  Hopefully by next week, I’ll be rummaging through the stash for the perfect yarn for each.

Today when I got to work, I took off my coat – and the button to my blazer flew off.   I asked around to see if anyone had thread – no.  I finally used yarn to reattach it – I had a small ball of the yarn I used to make Clapotis with me – I’ve been using it for waste yarn for Fetching.  It actually sort of matched.  A co-worker watched me sew it back on, and couldn’t get over the fact that I had needles with me (you never know when you have to weave in ends!).  She was also amazed that the yarn had more than one color (it is varigated)!  Was it broken?  She wanted to know if I was going to cut it into pieces and put it back together with color that was the closest match to my coat.    I was sort of stunned – but I think that people that don’t knit (or those that aren’t fiber obsessed) just don’t realize how this all works.  I’m sure she’s seen things made of varigated yarn – but never realized what the yarn looked like.    Wierd, though, eh?

On Saturday at knitting group, Debbie (blogless) had the nicest bag with her….from Come to Silver – go look – they are just gorgeous.  I may have ordered one….and it was hard to not buy all of them!

Opal did post in the comments to the last post the link to the blog that has the hand-dyed Sterling…Fiber Among the Roses – she’s not selling direct…I really wish she was!  Maybe if everyone goes there and whines/begs/asks?

Thanks for all the nice birthday wishes for Cieara and Andrew –

OK, I’m off to read blogs (and maybe have a cupcake)…have a great rest of the week! 

9 Responses to Almost done…

  1. hakucho says:

    I wonder what you are making? Looks very nice whatever it is. That is so funny what your co-worker wondering if your yarn was broken. Guess she needs a knitting education!

    happy knitting and good luck getting all your projects done!

  2. Ina says:

    “Broken” yarn? Wow. Words fail.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- You turn your back for a second, and another birthday! Happy Birthday!
    You’re actually almost done your Christmas knitting? That’s great-
    you should feel terrific about that?

    I see you’re a fellow bag Ho!

  4. Jeanne says:

    Good luck with your Christmas knitting. I’m done, done, DONE! That project looks very nice a smooshy, BTW.

  5. Rebekah says:

    Wow 3 of 5, your doing great! Isn’t being a knitter handy, I’ve used yarn for so many other things because its nearly always handy somewhere around me.

  6. Opal says:

    The reactions to variegated yarn is a constant source of amusement to me. The puzzlement! The amazement! So funny.

    What’s with the Twinings Stole anyways? Both Chris and you are doing it and now I’m getting the urge to do one for myself. But I can’t! You should see the list of stoles and shawls I have planned!

    I’m working on getting Shelly to open up an Etsy store. I think a constant and steady pressure should do the trick. 😉

  7. tiennie says:

    Hmm…am wondering what it is! Will look forward to seeing it!

  8. Carin says:

    Happy, Happy Birthdays to Cieara and Andrew!
    As for the sneaky project, I was thinking hat… but it seems a bit too obvious… so I’ll have to wait.
    I have encountered some amazement too when I knit in public, like, “Why would you spend all that time knitting a sock when you could go to Walmart and buy a dozen for under $10 bucks?” I would counter, “Would you rather enjoy a homecooked Thanksgiving dinner with all the trimmings that takes a lot of time to make or eat at McDonalds?”
    Hope the rest of your Christmas knitting does smoothly.

  9. Kathleen says:

    I followed the link to that absolutely lovely wrap. That is beautiful. I have a bunch of lace stocked up hmmmmmmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

