Another birthday….

This is a late post, but I wanted to mark the day – because today is an important day in our house – Andrew’s birthday!  He turned 20 today, and Larry, Cieara and I went down to Maryland to spend the day with him.  We went to Arundel Mills mall which was huge – but very nice, and not Christmas crazy at all.  We had lunch at a  very nice place that had really good beer.  We had a nice time walking around, and spending time with Andrew and Cieara and I even got a little Christmas shopping done.

So how about a picture..

1001

Sigh ….he’s just as bad as Cieara (and yes, they both were probably embarassed I was taking pictures of them in a restaurant!)

1002

A little better, eh?  Don’t you just love the look on his face?  And look – Cieara is smiling! 

Anyway, Happy Birthday, Andrew!

Yesterday, Chris and I went to Kraemer’s Yarn – I needed to find something for my knitting group swap (I decided to take everyone’s advice to put a bunch of little stuff together).  I did find one thing for that…and somehow a little bit more ended up in my arms for me….

This is Sterling – wool, silk, silver-  what’s not to like?  This is really a little darker in person, but so pretty.  The colorway is Red Carpet – the yarn is limited to red, white and black (not sure if they plan on expanding the color line).  Opal knows someone that hand-dyes it – I saw it on her blog and it was gorgeous…unfortunately, I forget what the blog name is….Opal?  Anyway, I think this will go into the sock stash (Chris very meanly pointed out that I just joined the Socks from the stash KAL – just as I was paying for it…so if I put it in the stash now I can use it when the KAL starts in January!)

1005

And this is the real reason that I wanted to go to the yarn store (the whole knitting group thing was a front)…Dream in Color Smooshy

1006

Its so pretty – in fact, I didn’t have it in the house for two minutes before Larry claimed it for a pair of socks for him.  The colorway is Deep Seaflower….doesn’t that sound too girly for him?  But the yarn – soooooo nice…..

Well, that was my weekend – busy but happy.  I hope everyone has a great week (and Andrew – Happy Birthday again!)

10 Responses to Another birthday….

  1. I’m glad you were able to spend Andrews birthday with him! Sounds like a nice visit. Lunch was great, watching you buy yarn was fun and I am not mean.:-)

  2. Terri says:

    Andrew and Cieara look great in that second photo! I know those looks in the first one though. My two girls do that when they see me coming with the camera!! Happy Birthday Andrew!!!!!!

  3. weezalana says:

    Happy Birthday Andrew!

    Oooo, Smooshy. And in Deep Seaflower, too. That’s the colorway I’ve been coveting. Can’t wait to see what you make with it!

  4. hakucho says:

    Oh, another birthday! Happy Birthday Andrew a little late 🙂 May you have many more happy birthdays! (Our family has a lot of December birthdays too.)

    The new yarn is fabulous. I love the yarn Larry claimed for himself. That will really make a nice pair of socks! The sparkling red is beautiful…perfect for Christmas.

    happy knitting 🙂

  5. Jeanne says:

    Happy Birthday Andrew! You have birthdays one right on top of each other in your family, don’t you.
    I have not yet had the opportunity to feel the goodness that is Smooshy. The colorway is fairly manly, but you are right. The name is not.

  6. Cookie says:

    Happy Birthday, Andrew!

    You would think by now those two would have learned to that if they smile for you, you’ll stop taking pictures. *L*

    Love that Silver yarn. Can’t wait to hear how it knits up.

  7. tiennie says:

    Happy birthday Andrew!

  8. Opal says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Andrew!

    The company that hand-dyes Sterling is Tadpoles For Ewe. They’re brand new. You can see some of their yarns here . It’s really gorgeous stuff!

    I covet your Smooshy.

  9. Kathleen says:

    I saw that nice red yarn at Kraemer 🙂

  10. Wanda says:

    Happy Birthday to Andrew too. You have beautiful kids.

    Hmm, yeah, I’ve seen Smooshy in Deep Seaflower, that’s totally girly. Tell Larry to knock it off! 🙂

Leave a Reply

