Weekend

Wow – was that a long week, or what?  I’m starting to get busy at work, and getting a lot of new projects.   I’m really happy, and finally feel like I belong there (I got a nameplate this week!).  People are more friendly, and I look forward to going in every day.  But damn – I’m ready for the weekend!  I slept the whole way home on the train last night – and still went to bed early. 

I’ve been working on my Christmas knitting and I’ve been ordering from the ‘net – but can’t show you pictures of either…  Sigh…isn’t this time of year hard on bloggers?  Oh!  I have something I can show you – I ordered it for me.  I ordered a book about software license agreements….heehee…no?  Come on – how exciting!  It got great reviews – anyone want to borrow it? 

Since I can’t really show you anything that I’m working on knitwise, I thought I’d show you something else…
970

This is dessert for tonight – baked apples.   I haven’t had these in years, but it just seemed like a good dessert for a cold winter day. 

I love cooking – I hardly get to do it anymore since I get home pretty late so Larry cooks most nights (and he’s a great cook!).  But sometimes on the weekends, I still like to cook and bake.  And I think something about this time of year makes me want to bake more too.  Cieara and I watched Food Network today for a little and I got a couple of receipes….Candy Cane cookies, Rugelach and Chocolate Peppermint Pinwheel cookies that I think I will try soon.  But tomorrow, I think I’m going to make Almond Crescent and Chocolate Peppermint drop-cookies (see a trend with chocolate peppermint?).  It is going to be a miserable day here with snow and rain, so it will be good to stay inside, finish decorating the house and make cookies (and knit of course!).   But unlike someone else, I really hope it isn’t bad because I don’t get snow days and my commute will suck if its snowing/sleeting here….but I do agree that sometimes there is nothing like being inside all toasty warm while you knit and watch it snow. 

Dan is coming over tonight and we are putting up the tree and decorating it.  We switched to a fake tree last year – I miss the scent of a real tree but I love the ease of a fake.  I wish Andrew could be home to help, but I’ll keep his special ornaments off the tree for him to put up when he comes home in a few weeks…

OK, now back to the Christmas knitting grind…enjoy the weekend! 

10 Responses to Weekend

  1. Jeanne says:

    Those apples look so yummy! Now you have me thinking about holiday cookies, but we are getting dumped on right now so a trip to the grocery store is impractical.

  2. Glad work is more welcoming. And shall I check my mailbox for the apples?? They look awesome.

    hrumph – now I’m “someone else” I lurve snow days – and I wish them for all my friends – you can’t go anywhere if there is ice and snow!

  3. Ren says:

    we have a fake tree too, but every year mom goes out to the tree lot and asks them for some branches that have gotten cut or have fallen out or whatever and then she sticks them within the branches of the fake tree so the house still gets some of the pine smell (and the fake tree looks nicer). i don’t know if that would work for you, but i just thought i’d suggest it. : )

  4. Lauren says:

    yummy baked apples look wonderful!

  5. ashley says:

    OoOooOOOoo… those apples look great. I don’t think I’ve ever had homemade baked apples, but now I really want to go make some.

  6. Opal says:

    Oooh. Software license agreements? Sounds titillating. 😉

    Seriously. Those baked apples look delicious. I wish you could send some my way as I am *not* a baker or someone very savvy in the kitchen.

  7. Terri says:

    Those baked apples look delicious. :o) Good for you being so organized. I feel really pathetic by comparison. I just can’t get into it this year – my tree is still in the cupboard!

  8. weezalana says:

    Those apples look so. freakin. good.

  9. tiennie says:

    Your apples look delicious! I love the smells and tastes of the holiday!

  10. hakucho says:

    You baked apples look yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

