Clapotis

I know that I am supposed to be working on Christmas presents, but on Friday I just got a little too bored with the Montego Bay scarf, and decided to knit on Clapotis for a bit.  And once I started, I just couldn’t stop…until it was done.

958

Pattern:   Clapotis
Yarn: Roz Houseknecht 100% alpaca hand-dyed
Started:  October 13, 2007
Finished:  November 24, 2007

The pattern calls for a worsted weight (Lion and Lamb which is amazing yarn but a little pricey), but I used a DK weight.  I bought this at Maryland Sheep and Wool and I’m so glad I chose it for this pattern.  I love the feel and drape of it and it is so warm and soft.    I lost the tag for the yarn but I want to say I used about 600-700 yards – I have a lot left of the second skein and the skeins were around 500 yards (like all this scientific measuring?).  I think its 100% alpaca – but a small part of me also thinks it has some silk in it.  (I’m convinced that Larry tosses the tags I leave in my room because I swear I left it on a shelf and now its gone and it would be just like him to mess with me).   Update – I was cleaning up the family room and decided to clean out the remote basket – which normally holds all the remotes and assorted knitting crap (like stitch holders).  Today it had all of that AND the tag for the yarn.  Sorry about that Larry – didn’t mean to blame you at all!  OK, the yarn is 100% alpaca, and the skein was 680 yards.  I only used a small part of the second skein so I probably have enough left over for a pair of fingerless gloves to match.  Plus a hat.  Great yarn! 

957

I love the pattern – it is just so clever.  And it is very easy and great TV knitting.  I highly recommend it and think I will make another one.  Maybe out of a worsted weight.  I am stalking Lion and Lamb on eBay, but I think if I found a nice worsted from a indy dyer, that would be nice too.  Had I not been distracted by other knits, I would have had this done a few weeks ago – not a bad gift knit.  Cieara seemed to like it – but it is definitely mine!  I love that I can scrunch it up and wear it like a scarf, or spread it out like a shawl.  Either way, very snuggly.

929

We had a very nice Thanksgiving – the Caramel Pecan Tart was amazing.  Cieara said it was the best pie she’s ever had – always nice to hear – I think I’ll be making it again (in fact, I suspect I’ll be making it for Cieara’s birthday in a few weeks).  It was a nice relaxing weekend – full of haircuts, knitting time, naps, family time, the opera and knitting group.    I don’t think I could ask for a better holiday weekend – busy, fun and no shopping!  Andrew leaves for school today – so we’ll get back to normal – school, work and Christmas knitting.  Have a great week!

19 Responses to Clapotis

  1. Kathleen says:

    http://www.oneplanetyarnandfiber.com/

    Nice selection of yarn.

    I can tell you the Lanas Puras is wonderful

  2. It’s sooo nice – I really enjoyed knitting mine and would do it again – keep stalking the ebay – that’s where I found my Lion and Lamb and it was worth the wait.

  3. Pixie says:

    OH!!! It’s gorgeous!!

  4. kitkatknit says:

    Girls Girls Girls, no fighting now. You can share the Clapotis can’t you? (coming from the only female human in the house so I don’t have to share 😉 Love yours!!

  5. stitchdom says:

    Gorgeous! I ended up knitting two of them as well…I think now I have it out of my system!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- That’s so pretty, the color is amazing.

    …another success!

  7. Carin says:

    Very, very beautiful!!

  8. Opal says:

    It’s just lovely! I just realized my friend Kim started the Clapotis in that exact same color. Unfortunately or fortunately? she didn’t have enough yarn for it.

  9. Rebekah says:

    I think I may have finally come around to the Clapotitis rage. I may just have to knit one now. Its very beautiful.

  10. rhoda says:

    it is breathtaking! I’m with Rebekah..I might just have to knit one after seeing yours! gorgeous color.

  11. tiennie says:

    It’s so lovely! Hope you had a great holiday!

  12. probablyjane says:

    That colour is perfect – and I can see how well the yarn drapes. Enjoy it!

  13. susan says:

    Okay I’m beginning to think you’re some kind of super knitter due to the fact you keep whipping these finished objects out. There is no doubt you’ll complete your Xmas Knitting List!

  14. deborah says:

    I love that pattern too! Your colors are beautiful!

  15. Terri says:

    Oh that’s really lovely. Well done!

  16. Peggy says:

    It turned out beautiful! Nice work!

  17. hakucho says:

    Oh, boy your clapotis is beautiful. LOVE, LOVE the color 🙂

Leave a Reply

