Grrr.

There is nothing worse than coming home and seeing a box. 

945

That’s right – a box.  Normally, I really like getting boxes.  But not today…because today’s box didn’t have yarn.  It had…

946

A tart pan.  I am making the most amazing dessert for Thanksgiving (it is a Caramel Pecan Tart).  And I needed a tart pan – so I ordered it from Amazon.  Which is normally great – but not when I’ve been waiting for yarn to come.  Yarn that is going to be used for Christmas presents.  And no matter how many times I say that I’m not putting pressure on myself, and people will get what I finish – I’m feeling a little bit stressed.  And I better see a box of yarn pretty soon….or grrrr….

I am going to show you what I’m working on – and its really boring.  But it is all I have at this point.  And everyday I’m fighting the urge to knit socks.  So humor me and let me show you the project. 

947

It is pretty, and I like the yarn.  And it is sort of boring.   I’m sure it will be nice in the end – but it is really just mind-numbingly-boring.

Beyond being bored by the pattern, I’ve also been pulled away from knitting on the scarf by a book.  I was really iffy on it when I bought it – but thought it was something different – and it is, and I’m really enjoying it.   So much so that I barely knit on my commute today, and instead sat and lost complete track of time reading.  Love books like that!

OK, moving on – did you see this yarn?  Gorgeous.  I just may have to fall off my yarn diet wagon.  The worst part about subscribing to Lime and Violet’s Daily Chum is the pictures of yarn all the time – I have a much harder time staying on plan when I see them (sort of like staying on a diet when I have M&M’s in the house) – but I can’t unsubscribe….

I’m working from home tomorrow – fortunately, my car died today.  I know, I know – odd of me to say fortunately.  But it is a perfect excuse to work at home while it is in the shop – and I can make my desserts.  It is just the kids and Larry and I for Thanksgiving, so no big stress.  Just the perfect kind of holiday. 

Hope you have a happy Thanksgiving (if you are in the US) and have fun at work (if you are not in the US)!

11 Responses to Grrr.

  1. adrienne says:

    Ohhh, that tart sounds REALLY good!!! Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. tiennie says:

    Happy Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Peggy says:

    Even if it’s boring the pink scarf is still very pretty!
    Happy Thanks giving!

  4. peachy says:

    hehe, being a proud enabler since summer 2007 😉

    But Andrea’s yarn is really really gorgeous, so if you really should fall off, it’ll be a very soft landing.

  5. Wow – I thought I was just going to get Scones. But here you are, ordering a special pan just so you can make me a nice dessert! You’re such a good friend!!!
    The scarf looks wonderful – I’m sorry it’s so boring. No Yarn for you! And your holiday plans sound perfect, just perfect. Hope you have a Wonderful Holiday!!!

  6. stitch-dom says:

    Bopring pattern or not – it is going to be very very pretty! And the fact that I thought a tart pan was really cool may say something about my state of mind these days.

    I hear on the Xmas knitting – I’ve given up. The kitchen ate up any knitting time I had and now I’ve just decided to bite the bullet and spend the $ instead.

    Also – I hear on the Daily Chum — it resulted in a not so smart order from Funky Carolina for 3 months of roving. I really need to find some time to spin…

  7. Rebekah says:

    Yes, I must agree yarn is a lot more fun than a tart pan. But I bet the fruitage of the tart pan will be much tastier then yarn. Yarn is a bit try to the mouth 🙂

  8. Carin says:

    I too am expecting some yarn packages and some are for Christmas knitting. I get excited when I check the mailbox and get a little bummed when its only junk mail or bills. It reminds me of when one is dating and the phone rings and it is not him!
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. I just got the last of my Christmas yarn in the mail but it made me freak out when I saw how much of it there was. That tart sounds fantastic, I wish I could stay home and bake today. Hope you get your Christmas yarn soon.

  10. hakucho says:

    Love the color of your latest praject. Sorry it’s boring for you, but when it’s finished – it waill be beautiful 🙂

  11. Opal says:

    Wow. That book, while disturbing, looks utterly fascinating. I might have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

