Spoiled Larry

I haven’t made anything for Larry in the last few months – the projects I had going for him all ended up getting frogged.  But I think I made up for it this weekend…

919

Pattern:  Dashing
Yarn:  Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran
Started:  11/9
Finished:  11/10

That’s right – started them yesterday while I was out with Chris, and finished this morning – before breakfast.  I really like the pattern – I think the cables look great, and it makes a nice alternative to Fetching.  I did modify the pattern a little – I guess this yarn isn’t the same row gauge as the yarn the pattern called for (and you know I didn’t do a gauge swatch!), so I didn’t do as many rows as the pattern called for – if I did, these would have been mittens.    I can’t say anything more about the yarn that I haven’t already said – other than – you have to go get some.  It is that good.  I love it. 

920

Larry is happy with them, and today is a great day for him to have them since its rainy and cold – and in fact, when I got up it was snowing a little.  I got up at 6:00 because I was so excited to finish these.   

I also finished something for him a couple of days ago – but he hasn’t been allowed to wear them since I didn’t blog them (that’s the rule!).

922

Yarn:  Scheepjes Neveda
Pattern:  Basic Ribbed sock
Needle:  US 3
Started:  10/28
Finished:  11/8

This is great yarn – very squishy and soft.  I bought it on vacation – and as I said  – I don’t know if its really machine washable, so I’ll have to be careful.  These are really thick – so perfect for the cold days that are coming.   And do you see my toes peeping in from the left?  I’m wearing my Monkey socks I made from Lisa Souza yarn – I just love them  – so comfy.  It is really great yarn if you are looking.

So I think Larry is good for a while – and I think I’m done with my Fetching/Dashing obsession for right now – but I can definitely see making more of each in the future – it is just so great to finish a project that fast!

Yesterday, Chris and I went to B&N for book browsing, coffee drinking and knitting.  It is really nice to be able to spend time with a friend that you can just be comfortable with.   We spent a while discussing the yarn shop we’d like to open someday.  Wouldn’t that be great?   We went out to lunch, and then back to her house for more knitting.  I have to admit that I was rude and prowled through her yarn  –  it was like being in a yarn shop.  I wanted to “borrow” some, but didn’t have a big enough purse with me!  Isn’t it fun to see other people’s stash?

Our home computer died yesterday – I have my own laptop but the other computer is where we keep our banking and finances stuff – so ouch!  Luckily Larry was able to pull everything off it, and now he’s headed out to see what he can do to replace it.  And I have knitting group and then Larry and I are going to the movies.  It is another kid-less night, so we are making the most of it (sure, the movie is a kid’s movie, but Cieara wouldn’t be caught at a movie like that with her parents – as if!). 

I’m trying to figure out what to make next….I have Clapotis, the fair isle mittens.  I’ve decided to frog Sharfik – just don’t like the combo of the yarn and the pattern.  I really like this, but want to finish Clapotis before I start something big (and of course I really should re-start Cobblestone for Larry).  So I need a small project.  Socks maybe?  Another Chevron Scarf?  I’m heading upstairs now to prowl through my patterns, books and stash….hopefully something will call to me!

Have a great Saturday!

11 Responses to Spoiled Larry

  1. Wow!!! That has got to be a mitt record! They look wonderful. And I had a great time too – you are so right. To be able to have a friend to just hang out with and be comfortable with – have fun, too. And what’s the point of having stash if you can’t have someone go looking at it??? I didn’t mind at all. Ok, maybe just the part where you were trying to tell me how full you were from lunch and it was really all that yarn you hid in your shirt…….

  2. Opal says:

    I cannot believe how fast you knitted those Fetchings! Wow!

    Love that Neveda yarn. What gorgeous colors!

    Oblique is gorgeous! Why have I not seen that before? I think that’s going on my queue. Wouldn’t that be great in Cashmerino? Think of the soft cozy goodness you could wrap around yourself in. But then what a price tag that would be!

  3. Terri says:

    Wow that was FAST!! They look great and very manly. :o)

  4. Beth says:

    quite the spoiled hubby 🙂 the dashing came out great!

  5. Peggy says:

    Fasting knitting ever. You are awesome!
    Watch out during your stash prowl… my most recent ended up with way more WIPs than I can handle!

  6. Wanda says:

    I think Larry is good now too. Those Dashings turned out so nicely!

  7. tiennie says:

    Those dashings look so nice on Larry! Great job!

  8. Carin says:

    It’s nice to spoil our hubbies once in while. Be careful knitting so fast, sparks will fly off your needles and wool is flammable!!!

  9. knitxcore says:

    lucky guy! why haven’t I made dashing for myself yet??????

  10. deborah says:

    I’ve been eyeing dashing for myself. they are indeed ‘manly’ enough for men so perhaps i’ll make a pair for my son. thanks for sharing the pics!

  11. hakucho says:

    Larry’s dashing fingerless mitts are quite dashing. It’s so nice that he likes and appreciates them. My husband hardly ever wears gloves unless he shoveling snow. I wonder if he’ll like a pair?? Very nice.

    Sorry about your computer 😦 I have great sympathy for you. Our computer is so old now (Windows ME) . I think I would just about die if anything happened to it. My laptop is on hold for now.. still trying to save money, which is going to be hard now that I have Christmas shopping to do. Why did I mention that?…now I’m getting queasy again…

    happy knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

