Fetching

OK, I’m going to tell you right off the bat that my pictures are going to suck tonight.  My camera is acting up – not sure if it just needs batteries, or its on its way out.  But I didn’t want to wait to show off….so I used my iPhone…

Anyway – I can’t believe how fast I finished these – and I love them.  I actually finished the pair Sunday night – that’s right – the same day I started them.

fetching1

Pattern:  Fetching
Yarn:  Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran
Started:   11/4
Finished 11/4 (amazing!)

I can’t tell you how much I love the yarn – its amazingly squishy and soft.  In fact, I’ve been stalking it on eBay hoping to a really good price to buy enough for a sweater….its just amazing.  And the pattern – OK, I know – I’m gushing a bit – but I was just so pleased with the pattern – its a quick, fun knit, and I learned how to do cables without a needle.    I’ve worn these to work everyday this week  – even though its really not that cold here.  And I’m wearing them right now (creepy and gushing – great combo!).  Although I swore that I would not do Christmas knitting this year – I’m thinking that maybe I’ll make a few pairs for the women on my list….or maybe I’ll just make a lot more for me. 

fetching2

But since I started this whole thing to make Cieara a pair….I had to start hers…

fetchingnew

The yarn is the yarn I got from the Knit One, Tea Two swap – I really wish I could geta  better picture because it is just gorgeous.  Its DK weight, so I’m using US 3’s, but the same pattern – and it fits Cieara so I’m happy .  Since I just started these this morning, I think I’ll make good progress on them too – but probably not as fast as the first ones.

I’m working from home on Thursday (yea!), and was scheduled to be off on Friday for an extra long weekend (one of the advantages to working for a bank is that I get off on holidays now, so I’m off on Monday – Veteran’s Day!).    But a last minute meeting was called on one of my projects, and I’m torn as to whether or not I should take the day off (new job and all – probably a good idea to show them how motivated I am, eh?).  But we’ll see – I hope that something happens and I can take the day.   

Hope you have a great rest-of-week!  Maybe I’ll have a second pair of Fetching to show you!

12 Responses to Fetching

  1. Adrienne says:

    They look FANTASTIC!! I am so going to do these!!!! I must buy yarn NOW LOL And your pics look good to be from a camera phone! lol

  2. Peggy says:

    Very nice!
    I’m with Adrienne on this- must make some now!

  3. Very, Very Coolio! And I hope the camera responds to some new batteries.

    I think you need someone to watch over you thursday while your “working from home”. You know, just to keep you on track and not buying yarn on ebay….

  4. Nichole says:

    Love your fetching – the color is gorgeous! I’ve got to get mine cast on very soon.

  5. kitkatknit says:

    Oh great…now you got me in the Fetching mood!!! 😉

  6. Rebekah says:

    Wow now that is a quick knit. You may have convinced me to finally make those.

  7. Opal says:

    Beautiful Fetchings! I just love the color. Good luck on finding a good price for the Cashmerino. I think a sweater in that yarn will be just divine. 🙂

  8. hakucho says:

    Your fetching fingerless mitts are beautiful…great color (Cieara’s is pretty, too) Isn’t it wonderful when you find a pattern that is just amazing and fun to knit and you get results fast? I’ve seen fetching on so many blogs that I has suspected it was a good knit. Good to know and keep in mind for a quick gift. We all need those now and then 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  9. susan says:

    Oh those did turn out nice and would make wonderful Christmas presents. I say take the day off, heck my staff does it all the time but next week I’ll get even with a 5 day weekend!

  10. Terri says:

    That WAS fast! They look terrific. :o)

  11. Wow , that yarn is amazing and looks fantastic -even on an iphone 😉

  12. Wanda says:

    Very fetching, m’dear! Lovely color!

Leave a Reply

