Just a couple more…

I probably have mentioned this before….but I’ve been trying to keep focused on finishing projects.  My list of things I want to make is huge – but I realized that if I don’t keep focused and only work on one at a time, I’ll never get anything done.  So I’ve been working on Clapotis at home, and a sock for the train.  And I think its been going well.    I think I’m about halfway on Clapotis, and just about to the heel on my second sock.  Sure – its hard.  I see everyone making beautiful things on blogs, and I really want to start that shawl/sock/sweater….but I’ve been strong.

Until this weekend.  I don’t know what happened, but I seem to have lost my focus….

Are you surprised that I started the mitten?  I got the stripes done on the cuff yesterday morning, but then we went to the mall, so I didn’t take it with me.  Nice, though – amazing colors!

905

Since I couldn’t take the mitten to the mall (and of course, taking my commuting sock would be unacceptable) I started this – a dishcloth for Dan.  Because he was my 2000th commenter, and that’s what he asked for.  

900

OK, not too bad – two small projects.  I’m ok with that.  I can finish these and then get back with the program.  I was good – until Cieara mentioned that she lost the fingerless gloves I made her last year.  Can’t have the kid having cold hands – it is finally starting to get cold here.  So this afternoon I cast on for one more thing…

Fetching!

894

What a great pattern – I can’t believe how fast I finished the first one.  Two episodes of Dexter, in fact.   I didn’t do the picot cast off – just a plain one, but I like the way it looks.  I love it – its Debbie Bliss Cashmerino and I can’t believe how wonderful this yarn is.    It’s too bad that a ball only has 100 yards – it would be great for a sweater.  But damn expensive, so not anytime soon for me!

I started the first one and quickly realized that this would be a drag doing cables the normal way – so I looked up how to do them without a cable needle.  I found great instructions on Grumperina’s blog – and that was it.  I did the whole thing without a cable needle – and I can’t believe I hadn’t tried this before.  So easy!  So fast!  If you haven’t tried it, you should. 

I love this pattern, love the yarn – so much so that I think I may have the second one down by bedtime…

895

OK, do you know what the best thing is?  They are too big for Cieara!  She’s such a peewee that they just are way too big – so I’ll just have to keep them for myself.  I’m really bummed (heehee)…..I’m going to make her a pair of DK weight yarn – same pattern, but I think in a DK weight they will fit her just fine.    Great pattern though – I think I just may make a few pair as Christmas presents too!

So that’s my weekend…I guess I have a little work to do now!  Have a great week!

15 Responses to Just a couple more…

  1. Don’t be too hard on yourself – you’re still getting some amount of knitting done. And see – cabling without a needle! Look at you go! Love those mits!

  2. Sherry says:

    Wow, your super fast with the fetchings. I love that pattern, I make a plain bind-off on the top, too. I like it better, it doesnt seem to roll quite as much. I love the red.

  3. Beth says:

    Glad I wasn’t alone in my cast-on fit this weekend. Those fingerless mitts are such quick patterns, even the ones I did a few weeks ago in sock-weight yarn were done in a few hours.

  4. Peggy says:

    Bonus on the Fetchings! And without a cable needle? go you!
    I’m also getting cast-on-itis. I want to knit everything Now!

  5. adrienne says:

    Love your Fetching!!! I’m going to try this one!!! It will be my first time doing cables!

  6. tiennie says:

    Nice Fetching! Very nice mitts in progress!

  7. Arleta says:

    Poor Ciera! (Lucky you) Those fetching mitts are so cute! I love mine, and they are so quick to knit. 🙂

  8. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I got sidetracked as well- my son wanted the Pirates hat, and I can’t have the kid freezing his ears off, can I?

    It’s mother guilt knitting.

  9. stitch-dom says:

    I’m so sidetracked I’m drafting an “alternative Christmas gift list” for when (not if) I don’t get all the knitting done.

    And its fall…and I love mittens too! Even if they end up too small cause I maybe didn’t swatch them…they’ll fit someone!! Right?

    Those mittens are going to be wonderful! And doesn’t everyone deserve a quick knit or four? Just to take the edge off?

  10. Opal says:

    What a productive weekend! I adore the mittens. I’m getting obsessed with the mittens. I blame both you and Chris. What am I going to do with mittens in Hawaii??

  11. Rebekah says:

    Focus? Excuse me I don’t understand that word. It must be foreign. please explain. 🙂

  12. Terri says:

    You have been productive! Fetching is just that. And more. Lovely. :o)

  13. Carin says:

    My kids wouldn’t belive for one minute (and rightly so) that the mittens I was suppose to knit for them ended up fitting me and not them. The colours are amazing and I will be adding the Fetching pattern to my files. Nice job. With regards to focusing it seems I’m a bit crossed-eyed, that yarn diet I was on was interupted by an order of yarn for an Alice Starmore vest. I think “multi-tasking” better describes what you have been doing.

  14. hakucho says:

    Now wasn’t that very convenient that the mitts were too big for Cieara 😉 Little project are the best to have on hand for palate cleansers. Great choice of yarn for Dan’s dishcloth…I hope he loves it. My 15 year old son loves my hand knitted washcloths . He’s the only one of my boys who uses them so far…eventually everyone will have to use them once the terry cloth ones wear out. No store bought cloths for me anymore 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  15. Wanda says:

    Dang, girl, you’ve got knitting all over the place. Good for you! Everything looks great. I can’t blame you for starting those mittens. They look beautiful.

Leave a Reply

