Maggie’s Socks

As I mentioned before, I have been working on a pair of socks for Maggie.  And I finished them earlier this week – but I haven’t had a chance to wrangle my sock model into posing for me.  But tonight, I finally got the pictures!

So here are Maggie’s Monkeys…

878

Pattern:  Monkeys
Yarn:  Trekking XXL, colorway 104
Started:  October 1
Finished:  October 24

880

I love this pattern – really do.  But I seriously love this yarn!  I hope Maggie enjoys wearing them, and that they give her a little happiness.  So I’ll pack them up this weekend, and they will be on their way!

And just in case you didn’t really believe I have an in-house sock model….

881

Tomorrow we are traveling to Philadelphia to see Andrew compete in this.  Oh sure, so it’s going to rain.  And probably be cold.  But the chance to watch Andrew, and spend the day with Larry and Cieara too?  Definitely worth it (I’m so trying to resist suggesting a side trip to somewhere else.).    This is Andrew’s first year doing crew for Maryland so it’s our first time watching him – I’m very excited.

Rebekah was a very bad influence this week – go check out Leena’s site – and her gorgeous mitten kits made of hand-dyed yarn that’s dyed with natural things (I was going to say natural hand-dyed yarn but it sounded weird).   Gorgeous.  I can’t wait to get my kit.    So I’m passing along the bad influence – you should buy a kit too – that way I won’t feel as bad!

Have a great weekend!

14 Responses to Maggie’s Socks

  1. Terri says:

    I’ve just started my first pair of Monkey’s and I’m REALLY enjoying the pattern so far. I’m using a really nice yarn too, so I’m hopeful I might find the perfect pair of socks for me after all (see my blog re: that cryptic comment!). I was interested to read your comments about this yarn too as a friend sent me a link to an Aussie supplier for it just this week. Great colour you’ve used there. I’m sure Maggie will love her Monkey’s. The look great! :o)

  2. tiennie says:

    Lovely socks for Maggie! Have a great weekend!

  3. chris says:

    Great socks. You’re lucky to have such a beautiful model! And thanks for the enabling – you are evil. Have fun watching Andrew and spending the day with your family!

  4. hakucho says:

    Those monkey socks are gorgeous and you do have a wonderful model 🙂

    Looks like the regatta got canceled…which is a good thing. Can’t imagine that would be much fun in the rain. Hope you all got to do something fun instead 🙂

  5. Opal says:

    Such pretty socks! But I just read on the website that the regatta has been cancelled? Is that right? Poor Andrew!!

  6. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Certainly, a little detour could be arranged…?

  7. rhoda says:

    the socks are pretty! I like the striping effect. too bad andrew’s first regatta was cancelled.

  8. Jeanne says:

    Great socks! I hope there was a little sunshine in your weekend.

  9. Peggy says:

    Love the monkeys! it’s a gorgeous colorway. And I am not even going to go look so don’t try to tempt me!

  10. Arleta says:

    Those are so cute! The socks and the model. 🙂

  11. Beauty socks! 🙂 The yarn looks fab, and is on my list for when I start buying again….

  12. Rebekah says:

    hee hee. I can’t wait to get my kits.

    Lovely socks, I’m so glad she finally modeled them!

  13. Lindy says:

    The socks are so pretty! I love the color.

  14. susan says:

    It’s that time of year. We leave next weekend for the first B-ball game of the college season. I’ll get a lot of knitting time in. Oh those mitten kits are beautiful. Let us know when it arrives and how long it takes!

Leave a Reply

