Long one…

Ok, fair warning – this has the potential to be one of those never ending posts…but I have so much to say!

First up….all the way back in September, I received a package for the Knit One, Tea Too swap.  It was a great package (in fact, I enjoyed some of the tea this weekend!) – but I didn’t know who sent it – she didn’t send yarn because she was going on vacation.  And she didn’t tell me who she was because she wasn’t done.  Frankly, the package was so nice that I didn’t mind the absence of yarn.    But this weekend, I got another box.  And wow.  I was just stunned.

872

When my swap pal said she was sending something, I expected an envelope with yarn.  But damn!  This was a full fledged box – there was fruit tea from Hawaii….candy from Hawaii….notepads, mug…Hawaii.  Can you guess where she went on vacation?  Nice, eh?  But see that yarn – wow.  Its just beautiful.  It is from an indy-dyer, and each colorway is named after a Washington, DC neighborhood.  This is …..sport weight and freaking gorgeous. 

But wait – there is more!

875

Isn’t this gorgeous?  This handspun from fiber my pal bought at Red Barn Farm.  Spun on a spindle (I am so amazed that people can actually make yarn on a spindle – the only thing I can do is watch it drop on the floor while I curse).  Gorgeous.  I love it.  I don’t know what to make with it yet – thinking maybe a lacy scarf….fingerless gloves…but I will tell you that it will be for me.

So who was this most excellent swap partner?  Rosemary from Spindlerose.  Thank you so much, Rosemary!  You’ve been a wonderful swap partner, and I really love everything.    I can’t wait to use the yarn (and eat the candy!) – the tea has already been enjoyed…and the scones.  Thank you thank you thank you!

I’ve been working on Clapotis – and can I say that this pattern is simply amazing.  It finally made sense when I dropped the first stitch.  Someday I want to design a pattern – I can’t imagine how she planned this all out.  I’m loving it though and can’t wait to come home and work it.  Except tonight – I think I’m ready to do the toe on the second sock for Maggie, so I need to finish that and send it off.  But I’m a little whiny because I really love working on Clapotis.

So a couple of weeks ago, I mentioned that I was coming up on a milestone on the blog.  I’ve been watching and waiting.  Because I was coming close to 2000 comments!  And this weekend I knew I’d finally have have a winner….  And I decided that I would send a present to the 2000th commenter….actually, I’d give them a gift certificate to an Etsy store.  A yarn-y kind of celebration.  And so on Saturday, I received it – the 2000th comment.  And who was it from?  My son – actually, in his words – my evil son, Dan.  I couldn’t believe it!  He never comments!  He felt very strongly that he should get the gift – but wasn’t interested in the yarn – so we compromised on a hand-knit dishcloth (or two) since the ones I made when he moved out are past their prime.  So Dan gets some dishcloths….and I get to celebrate it with the 2001th commenter….Hakucho who commented on the same day!  I thought that Yarn Chef would be the perfect Etsy store since she has something for everyone – and her yarn is gorgeous.  So congrats, Hakucho – and thanks for being the 2001th comment! (and thanks, Dan – I’ll get you the dishcloth as soon as I finish Clapotis)…..

 And thanks to everyone else for reading and commenting – my little knitting mishaps are much easier to bear when I get such great support!

Have a great Wednesday – hopefully the next time will have finished socks!

13 Responses to Long one…

  1. Terri says:

    Oh, I’m SOOOOOOOO envious. That yarn is BEAUTIFUL. You lucky girl. What a lovely partner you had in that swap. Very generous and such great taste in yarn!!! :o)

  2. Opal says:

    What a great package! If there’s anything in there from Hawaii that you really adore, I’ll see if I can get more for you.

    I’m so glad you’re loving the Clapotis. I miss mine. It was such a great knit.

  3. tiennie says:

    That cracks me up about Dan! Did he do it on purpose? Congrats on the comments and congrats on all the swaggy goodness!

  4. Peggy says:

    Wow, that yarn is gorgeous! And handspun too? I’m with you on just watching the spindle drop on the floor- why do they have to be called drop spindles?

    I’m still so new to knitting I haven’t made Clapotis yet… but all you wonderful knit bloggers keep inching it up the priority list. Glad you’re enjoying it and feeling a bit better than last post!

  5. Jeanne says:

    What a wonderful swap package! That red yarn is truly yummy!

  6. Rebekah says:

    Wow! You had a great swap person. What beautiful yarn!

  7. chris says:

    I. Want. That. Yarn.

  8. Cookie says:

    Honey, that was not all that long a post. Just sayin’…

    What a wonderful package! I’m always so happy to see a swap go well.

  9. hakucho says:

    That is so funny about your son being your 2000th commenter! I would literally die if one of my boys commented on my blog. Thank you so much for your generous gift ( I didn’t do enough to deserve such treatment…you are a sweetheart 🙂 ) …you certainly made my day. I will certainly look forward to picking out some beautiful yarn…but I think I’m going to have a hard time choosing for all the yarn is so beautiful 🙂 Thank you so much!

    You certainly ended up with quite the swap partner. All your goodies are very beautiful and it was so nice of her to bring them back from Hawaii to boot! It’s hard to believe that that hand spun yarn was made with a drop spindle…it’s absolutely gorgeous!!

    happy knitting:)

  10. stitch-dom says:

    2001+ comments – that’s awesome! I’m happy to contribute a few more if you don’t mind 🙂

    What a swap partner — You certainly lucked out – that is some gorgeous yarn!!

  11. Carin says:

    The yarn IS gorgeous! You’ll have to give your swap pal a big “mahalo” for that beautiful yarn.
    You seem to use the same spindle technique as I do.

  12. rhoda says:

    LOVE that red sportweight stuff your sp sent!! Now you have to tell me who the dyer is so I can pick some up of my own!! Congrats to Hakucho! 🙂

  13. SpindleRose says:

    So happy you loved all the gifts. I can’t wait to see what you make with the handspun. I had a lot of fun virtually getting to know you and putting together a couple of special packages just for you. We’ll have to plan a Maryland S&W meetup next spring.

Leave a Reply

