FrickFrickFrickFrickFrickFrick…Day 2

So how observant are you?  Go ahead, take a look at my blog (if you want to play, you will need to not read this in Bloglines)….I’ll wait.

See anything different?  No?  You sure?  How about that list of projects on the right?  Anything missing? 

Yesterday, as I was coming home from work, and sitting staring out of the window of the train, I started thinking again about the whole stupid Cobblestone thing.  I am still just irritated about the whole thing, and I could kick myself in the ass for messing up like that.  And then I had a terrible thought.  If I made that sweater too big….what about the other sweaters I was making?  What about Drunken Argyle?  OMG  – what about Na Craga?!?!

OK, do you see what’s different on my project list?  Na Craga is gone.  FRICK!  I took it out of the project basket this morning, looked at the pattern – and yep – I was making a 50″ chest  – for a 40″ chest man.    So I did the only thing I could do – handed it to Larry and asked him to frog it while I left the room.   Ok, probably not right away – I have to admit to several minutes of holding it up against him, and asking “do you think it will be too big?”  But after that, I had to admit – it was too big.  So it got frogged.

So my project basket is a little light right now…
863

Ok, well…maybe not.  I have a pair of socks, Clapotis, Sharfik, Drunken Argyle and Spray.  I guess not that light after all…but still.  I lucked out on Drunken Argyle – and made a size that would fit him (not that I anticipate working on it anytime soon!).  But it really hurt to rip out Na Craga.   

I’ve decided that I’m going to use the Cascade 220 I was using on Na Craga to try Cobblestone again.  But this time?  I’m going to make the right size.  I swear it!

So you know how they say when one door closes…a window opens (or something like that)….well, it happened today – lost a sweater, gained some yarn….

868

Nice, eh?  How about this?

871

Both are from Sheep of a Different Color – although I think I got the Golden Wheat color right, the Sapphire Ring is way more gorgeous than I’m showing.    Both are laceweight, and the skein is 1760 yards.   Very very nice.  I officially have enough laceweight for just about any shawl I want to make.    Totally makes up for not going to Rhinebeck.  Well, just about.

I should have a finished pair of socks to show next time….I’m really focusing on finishing the projects in the basket, and not casting on for anything new.  No matter how beautiful my new yarn is…

Have a great weekend!  

13 Responses to FrickFrickFrickFrickFrickFrick…Day 2

  1. hakucho says:

    I’m not going to talk about the f….
    Beautiful yarn aquistions. Just beautiful. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you make.

    Happier knitting ahead……

  2. Terri says:

    I SO feel your irritation. Bugger. Nuff said.

    The new yarn is gorgeous. I love that golden wheat colour. New yarn mends just about anything. I know from experience. :o)

  3. susan says:

    Okay there was an option…you could have fattened him up to fit in the size 50″. The new yarn should ease the pain. Very nice.

  4. Nichole says:

    That Golden Wheat is GORGEOUS!!!!!!!

  5. chris says:

    Yikes!!! That is major suckage. I’m so sorry. The new yarn is splendiferous.

  6. tiennie says:

    What a bummer. At least you have pretty new yarn to enjoy!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- The frog pond is getting full- hop up on my lilypad.

    That’s terrific- I think those of us who didn’t go to Rhinebeck should all have consolation yarn.

  8. Jeanne says:

    Na Craga – That’s terrible. But on the other hand, the new yarn is stunning.

  9. Carin says:

    How awful… Cobblestone and Na Craga may have been some big steps backwards, but I belive that beautiful yarn will have you experiencing the “joys” of knitting again.

  10. lobstah says:

    Oooh…(that was the sound of a crowd as someone gets smacked really hard in a football game or something)
    That really sucks.

  11. Rebekah says:

    I’m so sorry for your irritation, but very proud of the fact you took control over your knitting. I need to do the same thing. YOu are a good example!

  12. Opal says:

    Eek! That’s terrible! I’m so glad you can use the yarn for the Cobblestone though. Things will be much better this time around.

  13. cbdom says:

    That Cobblestone is a terror, isn’t it? 😉 Dang thing! I’m also having a problem with one, but mine starts at the gauge swatch. I can’t get on gauge! I’m sure that I’ll get there sometime soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

