Rambling

October 18, 2007

Just a quick post as the week winds down.  This was my first full week at the new job, and it is kicking my ass.  I am settling into the job, but the logistics of getting there and back are still just not routine yet.  I leave the house at 6 a.m. and get home at 8 p.m.  Sigh.   So I’ve been staying up later to try to get some down time and time with the family.    I’m trying to train my body to accepting that 5-6 hours of sleep is more than enough.  I’m not sure I’ll be succesful at that!  But hopefully this explains why I haven’t been too quick to read or comment on blogs – so if I’ve missed yours, you know why.  I really hope that as time goes on, I’ll just get into the swing and this will all become normal.   People are starting to be more friendly at work, and I have a couple of projects now, so it is starting to feel like I actually work there. 

I don’t have new yarn to show you because although I’ve ordered it – I still haven’t received it.  I think it is one of the biggest issues with Etsy sellers – it is extremely variable how responsive they are on shipping out orders.  Not naming names, but some just have terrible turnaround times.  If I have to email repeatedly asking for status?  And those emails don’t get answered?  Not good – and not somewhere I’ll order from again.  Hopefully I’ll get it soon (it was amazing!  the last email asking for status finally got a response and what a coincedence that it had just shipped the day before – wow!). 

I’m continuing in my delusions that I know how to crochet – and I subscribed to this:

cvr_fa07_25

It came this week – and I realized I have no idea how to crochet.  So it is sort of stupid that I subscribed to the magazine.  But I’m hopeful that eventually I’ll have the time to sit down and learn it.  Because there were some cute patterns.   And I really do want to make a ripple afghan.    Maybe next time I should just buy it, and not subscribe though – it was like reading something in another language.  Pretty pictures but…… 

I am really really looking forward to the weekend.  We decided to not go to the opera, but are planning on spending some good quality kid bonding time (except the kid in question hasn’t decided if she wants some good quality parent bonding time!).    I’m looking forward to sleeping late, relaxing, and knitting!  I haven’t knit much at all this week –  I’m halfway through the second Monkey for Maggie, and at night get about 30 minutes of Clapotis knitting.  So I am looking forward to some extended knitting time.

OK, that’s enough rambling.  Have a great Thursday – and let’s get this week over with fast!