Back on track…

I haven’t been knitting much this week – after I frogged Cobblestone for the second time, I seemed to have lost all interest in it.  I did knit one day on the train for about 10 minutes, but just couldn’t sustain interest and found myself just staring out the window instead.    At night, I watched TV without anything in my hands, and even found myself not really reading knitting blogs.    By yesterday, I really was worried that perhaps I just lost the bug, and wouldn’t knit again.    I had knitting group yesterday…and I went.  I sort of didn’t want to – I was tired, and the thought of just relaxing at home, reading and sipping tea while listening to music sounded really nice (maybe a fire in the fireplace?).  But I’m the organizer of the group, and I think it would be bad for me to blow it off.  So I went – and had a good time.  My knitting group has such a great group of women, and I enjoyed sitting and chatting (but I noticed that I put down my sock several times and just sat and talked). 

I was starting to worry that I just lost it…but (and I know you are all worried), last night, I think I got myself back in the game…

855

Inspired by Opal, I started Clapotis.  And I love it.  Once again, I’m excited about knitting and couldn’t wait to wake up this morning so I could work on it – always a good sign!  The yarn is from Roz Houseknecht – I bought it at Maryland S&W last May.  It is 100% alpaca, and I can’t even begin to describe how lucious it is – so soft and silky.  And the colors are just so pretty.   I made a shawl for my sister a couple of years ago with Merino yarn that Roz hand-dyed and it was also beautiful – so if you  go to Maryland next year, make sure to check out Roz’s yarn!

This is a better representation of the actual colors of the yarn…. 

859

But what a great pattern!  Why didn’t I make this years ago?  It isn’t very demanding, and I am enjoying just the rhythm of all the stockinette.    I had this on my Knitpicks circulars, but switched to wood needles this morning as it was just too slippery – guess I need some wooden circulars, eh?

It has been a very nice weekend – had a golf lesson yesterday, lunch out with Larry and then knitting group.  Today we are golfing (of course!) and then back home for some Clapotis knitting.  I do have some chores this morning (if I don’t clean out my closet, I’m not going to be able to get in there soon!), but otherwise, it has been a nice relaxing weekend.  And cold – yea!  We had a fire in the fireplace last night…and it was really nice.    I’m really love that it finally feels like fall.

Well, I suppose I should go start my chores (or maybe just a few rows on Clapotis….)….have a great Sunday!

14 Responses to Back on track…

  1. chris says:

    It’s looks Marvy!! Glad you found that knitting Mojo again. It’s worth skipping a little closet cleaning to get back!

  2. Cookie says:

    I think we all take little breaks from time to time to keep the knitting from getting old.

    The pattern explains the twisted stitches. I was worried for a minute there. *L*

    Beautiful colorway!

  3. Terri says:

    Glad your knitting mojo came back. Pretty yarn and a new pattern to try and cast on for never fails. :o) Enjoy your autumn whether. It sounds perfect. :o)

  4. Adrienne says:

    Glad you have your mojo! I hope you go back to cobblestone…one day! LOL

  5. Opal says:

    What a gorgeous Clapotis in the making you have there! The yarn is divine.

    I’m so glad I could restore you faith in the knit and purls. I was a little worried when I started reading this post, but I do think a little break was probably needed after all the headaches the Cobblestone gave you.

  6. tiennie says:

    Yay for a fun project to work on!

  7. Rebekah says:

    You know I’ve been the same way, I just haven’t felt like knitting much. So I just haven’t. I figure eventually I’ll get my mojo back.

  8. rhoda says:

    whew, thank goodness it returned..and not a moment too soon! nothing wrong with enjoying the scenery every now and again or stopping to chat. I think some of the people who are used to seeing us knit all the time would like us to participate in things without knitting @ the same time!

  9. Lisa says:

    Gorgeous Clapotis! Those colours are lovely and it is a fun pattern – you get a rhythm going and just when you are getting bored you get to drop stitches which is very satisfying.

    Maybe you’re feeling a bit maxed out with the new job and having to deal with an uncooperative knitting project was one thing too many?

  10. Kathleen says:

    Glad you got back in the groove. I lost it for awhile and production has not been the same. I also just had to quit caffine and I think that is a major contributor to production lost.

  11. Your Secret Tea Swap pal says:

    Lovely Clapotis! I make one for myself a 2 years ago–and wondered what had taken me so long to knit it.

    Your tropical tea swap package will leave my house tomorrow. Look for it by the end of this week.

  12. Carin says:

    Just the beautiful colour of the yarn would lift me out of a funk. The Clapotis, I sure is going to be gorgeous. Cobblestone might need an exorcism before you try it again.

  13. your evil son says:

    lol…yarn thong

Leave a Reply

