Finally yarn!

I’ve been waiting for yarn – and stalking the mailbox.  It finally came this week, and I love it.  The picture is terrible, but it is dark here, and I don’t think I’m going to get better…

852

This stuff is amazing.  Yarn Chef Buttercream.  The colors are just beautiful – honestly – the picture is crappy, but you should see it in person.  And so soft.  I bought two skeins – each is 880 yds.    I’m not sure what I’m going to make – perhaps this…or this or this.  So I’m enabling all of you – go look.  Go buy.  She has beautiful yarn!

Hey, want to see Cobblestone? 

854

Yep – frogged it again.    I had about 2 inches done – and realized that I dropped stitches in at least two spots.  I got frustrated and frogged it.  Stupid sweater.  It was ironic that the podcast I listened to the next morning on the train was all about how to pick up dropped stitches.    (I really do like this podcast – check it out!).  I know how to pick up dropped stitches – but I was frustrated and did it in a pissy fit.  Yes, I am mature!  I haven’t started it again – I’m going to force myself this weekend.  I will not be defeated by this sweater!

So the first few days of the new job have been interesting.  It is a very different company than my last few jobs – very formal, structured.  People seem nice – but not very friendly.  But that’s just the nature of being new I suppose.  I haven’t walked around at all in NYC – no one takes lunch (sigh)….so I haven’t had a chance to scope out yarn shops.  But I’m hopeful that eventually I’ll feel comfortable and find my way around. 

Thanks for the nice birthday wishes.  I had a nice birthday – Larry made a nice dinner and cake, and I got wonderful gifts from him and the kids.  Dan gave me a Wii game – it was a lot of fun – we spent the rest of the night playing (and laughing at each other!).    If you have Wii, I recommend this one!

I am coming up on a milestone as far as number of comments -2000- amazing!  So I thought that I’d celebrate by rewarding the commenter with a yarn-y gift!  I’m not going to tell you how many there are to go – but it should happen sometime in the next week or so (I suppose it depends on how many posts I make!).  I should do another big screwup like Cobblestone since that post got a lot of comments…

Have a great Friday!

13 Responses to Finally yarn!

  1. adrienne says:

    Ohhhh that green is soooo pretty!

  2. chris says:

    That yarn looks like it needs to come live with me. Are you bringing it to meetup? Because I could just take it when you’re not looking…..

    Bad Cobblestone. I want to rip mine out too.

  3. Opal says:

    that is really gorgeous yarn. i can’t wait to see which pattern you decide on. you really should punish that cobblestone yarn and cast on for a shawl. seriously. that is some evil yarn. 😉

  4. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- What Wii game did you get? Don’t you love the Mii’s?

    Amazing yarn- I’ll have to go check it out.

  5. Ina says:

    Gorgeous yarn! I am so not looking at it because Rhinebeck is around the corner.

    Sometimes starting over is better than fixing. It’s karma or somesuch.

  6. Jeanne says:

    That is really beautiful yarn. I’m making a first attempt at lace now, but I’m not sure I’m sold on the idea. Pity about Cobblestone. It may have to go on a time out for a bit, to get it to cooperate.

  7. Cookie says:

    Beautiful yarn. You’ve got me looking at yarn and it’s not yet ten in the morning here. o.0

    I’m sorry about Cobblestone. Maybe the pattern needs a time out.

  8. lobstah says:

    Ooh pretty yarn!! It almost reminds me of a parakeet or something (not sure how true the color is in the photo).
    Hope the weirdness at work dissipates pretty quickly. I have two interviews next week and that is my big fear–trying to fit into a new work environment! Scary!

  9. Terri says:

    The new yarn looks so nice – worth the wait. Thanks for the links. :o) I always love new places to shop online. Glad the new job is going ok. You’ll soon settle in – hope the people relax a bit with you soon too. Shame about Cobblestone. Oh I so commiserate on that one. No, don’t let it beat you. But maybe you should put it away for a while and work on something else for a week or two until the frustration ebbs a bit. :o)

  10. tiennie says:

    Cobblestone will not get the best of you! You can do it!

  11. susan says:

    The yarn looks scrumptious. A shawl in the making? I see an I-phone was received. Good going.

  12. Anne says:

    Wow it’s rare for me to come upon a yarn that I’ve never seen at all – and then to see it in such a great color too. I love that! Sorry you’re having froggy issues; I can SO relate – I’m sure the next time will be the charm! 😀

  13. rhoda says:

    must. resist. the yarn chef. I have a few skeins of her yarn in my favorites basket but have yet to purchase. the laceweight you picked up is gorgeous! good luck with cobblestone–don’t let it get the best of you!

Leave a Reply

