Last day of vacation

It is really hard to believe that it is October 8 – it was 88 degrees here today.  Sunny.  Very hot.  Summer.  Not Fall.   But…it really was a very nice last day of vacation.   I went golfing with Larry – and apparently everyone else had the day off because it was really busy and very slow.  But it was relaxing, and I’m proud that I didn’t throw any tantrums about how bad I play (I’m working on the whole sore loser thing).

Yesterday, I got an early birthday present….can you tell what it is?  I made it a little sock to protect it….

824

No?  No idea?

826

An iPhone!  From Larry – who doesn’t get it when I tell him “hey, don’t go overboard on my birthday, ok?”.  It is very cool.  I have uploaded all my music and podcasts, and I can use it to check email and my bloglines.  Very cool. 

But just to show that knitting is always with me….my wallpaper. 

829

Here is the original picture….a scarf I made from roving that Lisa sent me…still once of the favorite things I’ve made with my handspun.  And it is one of my favorite pictures – I have it on my desktop all the time.

I bought some laceweight from Sheep of a Different Color.  Sarah sent me an email last week and said that the email from Etsy/Paypal got stuck in her spam filter – and because she felt bad, she gave me a discount on the next purchase.  How nice is that?  So of course, I had to take advantage of it – I bought this.  I now officially have enough laceweight!  No more!   I’m waiting on this as well as more laceweight from the Yarn Chef.  I keep on looking out for the mailman – why does yarn take so long to come?

So tomorrow I start my new job – and I have to admit to a little anxiety.    First days are always difficult – in fact, I think it takes a few weeks to feel comfortable.  But I’m excited and looking forward to starting.  And at least I have a new toy to play with on the train!

Have a great week!

16 Responses to Last day of vacation

  1. Adrienne says:

    OH COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Happy Early Birthday!!!!

  2. Yay for a great last day of vacation! And that phone is just the coolest thing – Have fun with it!!!

    Is waiting for yarn like watching for to water boil?

  3. Terri says:

    Very cool. Goodluck on your first day!! :o)

  4. Ina says:

    Happy Early Birthday! What a ‘way cool gift. I’m totally jealous.

    And good luck with the new job!!

  5. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Happy Birthday- I don’t know what an I-phone is, but I’m glad you got one.

    I’ve taken to stalking the mail lady- they don’t understand the need to have the yarn right away.

  6. kitkatknit says:

    Oh great thought putting a knitting photo on your iPhone. Makes mine look real uncreative now, I just choose one from the iPhone regular wall papers. Guess what I’m doing tonight as soon as I get home then!!!

  7. Nichole says:

    Cool bday present! 🙂

  8. lobstah says:

    Hope your first day of work was good!

  9. Opal says:

    Good luck on your first day at your new job!

    Gorgeous laceweight yarns. One can never have too much of the stuff IMO. 😉

  10. deborah says:

    Oh, I love my ipod. I think I’d have a stroke if I got one of those!

  11. stitch-dom says:

    Lucky you! And happy birthday too.

    I’m waiting with bated breathe to hear how the new job is!

  12. tiennie says:

    Very cool! I steal my hubby’s iPhone all the time to play with! Enjoy! And if I haven’t already said it – Happy Birthday!

  13. This is for Jeanne on October 10th, 2007:

    Happy Birthday to YOU! Happy Birthday to YOU! Happy Birthday, dearrrrrrrrrrr Jeaaaaannnnne………Happy Birthday to YOU!!!

  14. Carin says:

    I join Dropstitchknitter in “singing” Happy Birthday to you. I type Happy Birthday better than I actually sing it. Good luck with your new job.

  15. hakucho says:

    Happy Birthday…a little late! An Iphone is a really nice gift. You are one lucky girl. You knitted a wonderful case for it! Hope everything goes well with your new job…fingers crossed 🙂

  16. rhoda says:

    wow, an iphone! cool! ohhh, the laceweight that sheep of a different color carries is gorgeous! things will get easier with the new job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

