Weekend fun

Thanks for all the sympathy about Cobblestone – I was extremely impressed (and surprised!) that no one made fun of me or called me an idiot!  How nice of you all!  

I’ve had a great week off work, and I’m so glad I took this break between jobs.  I’m rested now, and have put all the negative emotions caused by my last job behind me.    And this weekend has been especially nice – a great way to wind up a very nice vacation!  On Friday, Chris took me out to breakfast for my birthday (next week), and then we went to our LYS.  I was hoping to buy some Cascade 220 to use to remake Cobblestone (I was really serious about punishing the Skye Tweed!).  But the shop really was frustrating – they didn’t have enough of any color to make a sweater.  Except orange.  They had at least 25 skeins of orange.   I’ve seen comments on Knitters Review about people not liking yarn stores because of the lack of friendliness or helpfulness of the staff – and I’m right there.  I don’t really need them to follow me around – but if I need help, it would be great if they would actually help instead of just standing behind the counter.    I did manage to find a different yarn though ….Berroco Ultra Alpaca (although it took us a while to find enough of any color – grrr!)

814

Gorgeous, eh?  I think it will make a beautiful sweater.  But Larry didn’t like it as much as the Skye Tweed – so I restarted Cobblestone with the original yarn.  I’ll save the Alpaca for another sweater…its so soft.

In addition to buying me breakfast, Chris also gave me some very nice birthday gifts….

815

Sock yarn….I don’t know who the dyer is (Chris?) – but its gorgeous…I can’t wait to use it.

816

Hand cream and one of Chris’ beautiful shawl pins (I really need to cast on for a shawl)….I don’t know why she did a cat (maybe because I have 4 of them?) but I love it!

The next gift was amazing, and I just love them…

821

Yarn ball earrings!  Aren’t they cute?  There is a blue crystal in the middle.  I told Chris she should sell them on her store…what do you think?  Thanks, Chris!

Last night, Larry and I went here:

317610

The Metropolitan Opera.  We saw Roméo et Juliette – the opera was amazing – the singing, music, sets – just beautiful.   I haven’t been to the opera in a long time, and Larry had never been.  I was very nervous that he wouldn’t like it since we bought season tickets.  But he liked it and we had a wonderful time.   We are looking forward to the next one – which is on Rhinebeck weekend.  So given the fact that the opera is on Saturday night, and we didn’t get home until 2:00 a.m. – I’m not going to go to Rhinebeck this year.  I was a little disappointed – but I do have a lot of yarn/roving, so it won’t kill me to skip.   But it is a tiny bit disappointing.  I suppose I’ll have to attend remotely by reading all the blogs of people that do go!

So today we are going to just relax and not do much….maybe go out to dinner with the kids.   I have one more day of vacation tomorrow  – golfing with Larry and then getting ready for my first day of work on Tuesday.  I’m still not nervous about it – but I’m sure I will be Monday night! 

Have a great Sunday (and wonderful Columbus Day if you are off!)

11 Responses to Weekend fun

  1. […] life’s like that… wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt was amazing – the singing, music, sets – just beautiful.   I haven t been to the opera in a long time […]

  2. Ann says:

    Happy Birthday (in advance). Sounds like a wonderful weekend.

    Gorgeous photo of the Met! DH and I had our first “real” date there … Philip Glass’ 1000 Airplanes on the Roof’ a million years ago … so it has very special memories.

  3. Laurie says:

    You should make yourself something with that pretty alpaLka!

    Beautiful gifties and…the opera! How lovely that must have been. What’s the next one you’re going to see?

  4. Nichole says:

    I LOVE my tea swap package – esp my doggy shawl pin (your cat is cute too!)!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is so awesome, and like you, I now need to cast on one of my 4 shawls “in the waiting” (well, at least one fo them anyway – right?). And those earrings – OMG, yes she needs to sell them… I WANT A PAIR… tell me how??!! LOL
    Thank you again – i’ll be blogging my awesome goodies int he next couple days… Happy Early bday (mine’s today)…

  5. Suzanne says:

    Happy birthday in advance!!!! I love that sock yarn! Glad you liked the opera. I went once and just loved it!

  6. Opal says:

    Oh I love the birthday yarn! And the pin! I love the pin! And the earrings! I love those earrings! Chris really needs to put those up on her shop.

    I used to go to the opera a lot. I miss it. Maybe I can squeeze it in next year. It’s too bad about Rhinebeck, though your wallet will thank you.

  7. LOL – must find new yarn shop. Still glad we went though – we made it fun. And I’m glad you like the presents! The yarn is from:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5112129

    Knitspirations etsy shop.

  8. susan says:

    Wow great presents. Gotta love the cat shawl pin having 3 of my own. Happy early birthday and good luck with the new job.

  9. tiennie says:

    It does look like a fun weekend! Phoe on Ravelry used Ultra Alpaca for her cobblestone if you’d like to see pics. Enjoy your lovely gifts!

  10. rhoda says:

    oooh, the sock yarn chris gave you is gorgeous! I have now added that person to my favorite sellers! and the yarn ball earrings! they are so cool. wow, and you got to go to the met to see romeo and juliet?? rhinebeck will survive without you..and so will your stash. no worries. 😉

  11. Wanda says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!! I love those earrings that chris made for you.

Leave a Reply

