Beaded Socks

800

I finished these socks last week, so I thought I’d give you the official rundown.

Yarn:  Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock – 2 skeins of Light Blue, 1 skein of Navy
Started:  May 17, 2007
Finished:  September 23, 2007

I actually bought this as a kit about two years ago on eBay – I don’t remember the seller.  I replaced the beads that came with the kit with beads I bought at a bead shop last year.  I bought the beads to make Odessa – but ended up using the yarn for fingerless gloves (follow all that?).  Anyway – love the yarn, love the beads.     I think I’d like to do beaded socks again, but use a more interesting beaded pattern – this was pretty – but pretty boring. 

805

So these are the red-wine socks socks….I think for the most part, you can’t tell, but I did see a few spots.  Sigh….

804

Overall, though – I think they came out well, and I really do love Shepherd Socks.  I gave them to Dan’s girlfriend, Carrie, earlier this week, and I think she liked them (or is just too polite to say “ewww”).  Carrie has had a rough couple of weeks, so hopefully the socks cheered her up a little.

Cobblestone – I finished the body and the sleeves, and now I need to join them.  And I’m procrastinating.  Because Chris told me that the next part is hard and confusing (God forbid I actually read the directions for myself!).   But I suppose I should just do it – I searched on Ravelry and the ‘net and didn’t see any comments that its really difficult so I think she could be playing me. 

I ordered yarn last week  – and it isn’t here yet.  Is there anything as long as the wait for yarn ordered online?  Sigh….

It is a beautiful day here today – so I was spinning on the deck for a little – until it got too hot.  Too hot!  In October!  Where is fall?   I’m really done with wearing shorts and being hot – I’m ready for sweaters, apples, colorful leaves…..I hear next week the summer weather will finally end, so cross your fingers! 

11 Responses to Beaded Socks

  1. Jeannie says:

    Pretty! I like the subtle beads, but I can see the want for something a bit more interesting. I guess it would depend on who would be wearing them. I still can’t see any wine spots.

    Fall isn’t here in the hills either. It’s been such a dry summer. I’m really ready for fall and winter too.

  2. Opal says:

    Gorgeous socks! I love the way the beads compliment the yarn.

    Are you sure Chris isn’t just psyching you out with the complicated talk? This might just be a set up. She might be trying to slow you down. Besides, you are an *awesome* knitter. I know you can do this!

  3. chris says:

    Look at Opal – all playing two side so confidently!!!!

    Socks looks spectacular.

    Anyways, that’s just crazy talk. I never said it was complicated – I said the short row wraps were driving me crazy because one side was wonky and the other looked fine.

    On Second thought – it’s too hard. You should stop knitting it. Right. Now. It might make your golf game bad. It’s too stressful. It’s terrible. Complicated. You should knit socks to make you feel better. Lot’s and lots of new socks.

    Teehee!

  4. Great socks! I’m pretty sure Chris is just trying to trip you up. It sounds like she’s got a true passion for scones.

  5. Terri says:

    Hey well done finishing the socks. They look really great. I’m looking forward to seeing your Cobblestone progress as this one is on my to-do list for my hubby. I think he’d actually wear this jumper.

  6. tiennie says:

    How pretty! My daughters would love it if I put beads on socks for them!

  7. Adrienne says:

    Those are really cute! You did a great job!!!

  8. Maud says:

    Beautiful! The beads do make them different, and fresh looking. And the colours match so well.

  9. Petra says:

    They are really pretty. Did you slip the beads on the yarn prior to knitting? I think of doing some beaded socks next.

  10. hakucho says:

    Those are so cute…I love the beaded socks 🙂

Leave a Reply

