Finis

Ended.  Over.  Done.  Today at 11:45, I handed my badge to my now former manager, and left the building for the last time.  And you know what?  It felt pretty damn good.   Not a bad last day at all – I went in a little late, chatted with people, went out to lunch with the group – and by 3:00 I was home.   It was a little bittersweet – I will miss some of the people I worked with.  And they gave me some very nice gifts – which was unexpected.  But overall, this felt good.  And it was totally the right decision to leave.   It’s a wrap!

Last night Larry and I went to the Genesis concert – amazing!.  It was a beautiful night for a stadium concert – it cooled down a little, and we avoided the rain that had been reported.  The band came on late (which was annoying), but they definitely made up for it – great music.  The band is getting old – but they really were so good.  I’d have to say that Genesis is probably my favorite group, and I hadn’t seen them together before (I’ve seen some of them individually) – so I had a great time singing, dancing (ok, bopping a little), and enjoying the sound of tens of thousands of people all singing the same songs.  We really had a wonderful time, and came home happy but tired at 2:00 a.m. (which was why I went in a little late!).  We actually stopped for food on the way home – made me think of my younger days where it just wasn’t a night out until you stopped for food in the middle of the night! 

Because of the concert, I took yesterday off – had a very relaxing day.  Watched a little TV, had a pedicure with Cieara….and I knit just a little…..

793

Tomorrow is knitting group – so I think I’ll definitely have one if not both sleeves done by the end of the weekend.  I think I’m going to win this race (and I hear someone is casting on for socks so she’s just not focused!) – maybe we should take bets!  I will say – this sleeve just seems huge.  I tried it on, and it is really big.  I did a search on the ‘net and Ravelry, and didn’t see any comments about that – so I guess its just the way it is.  But its pretty loose.  I hope its not too floppy to wear. 

Have a great Saturday!   I know I will – is there any better feeling than know you have the next week available to do anything you want to do?  Ahhhh…..

14 Responses to Finis

  1. chris says:

    So glad you’re last day was pleasant. And the concert sounds like it was great!

    What socks? Maybe that was to throw you off the scent – maybe what I’m really casting on for was the second sleeve………

  2. l3ahkn1ts says:

    That’s a beautiful color to make the Cobblestone in. I’m using a heather orange color. Can’t wait to see it as a whole. 🙂

  3. tiennie says:

    Glad that the last day went well and that you had a great time at the concert!

  4. Laurie says:

    Big sigh of relief that you’re done with the crazies.

    It was a beautiful night for a concert!

    As long as the sleeves match you’re doing fine.

  5. Connie says:

    What a fun time! Your cobblestone is looking good. Have a good week off.

  6. susan says:

    Enjoy your down time between jobs. Knitting and relaxing sounds wonderful.

  7. Terri says:

    I bet that was a huge weight lifted from your shoulders! Onward and upward!! :o)

  8. Wanda says:

    Congrats on the new job and leaving the old one. Enjoy your down time, sounds good.

  9. hakucho says:

    Leaving one job for another is bittersweet, especially if you have fellow employees who have become friends. Hopefully you’ll be able to stay in touch.

    Your sweater is beautiful. I was so tempted to buy that issue of interweave knits. but I resisted. Sweaters never quite work out the way I want. I’m anxious to see your finished sweater…maybe I will change my mind 😉

    happy knitting 🙂

  10. Opal says:

    Go Jeanne! Go! Go! Go!

    (Now where’s my yarn? *hee*)

  11. knitxcore says:

    lolz @ white castle. genesis is pretty awesome, was phil collins there in the flesh?????? cobblestone’s looking gr8! i love that yarn.

  12. Lisa says:

    Must feel wonderful to be all done with the “bad place”! Enjoy your week off – you deserve it!

  13. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- The fact that you weren’t that upset says you made the right decision.
    I’ve seen Peter Gabriel, who I adore, and it’s just not Genesis without him.

    Have a great week!

  14. lobstah says:

    Oh man, I have been ready to “turn in my badge” on my job for the last two years! I can’t wait to see how it feels, ha ha!

Leave a Reply

