Knit One, Tea Too….

I had a nice surprise this weekend – a box in the mail!  When I first saw it I couldn’t figure out what I had ordered – and here I thought I was being strong about not buying yarn.  Whew – it wasn’t yarn! 

787

I still don’t know who my swap partner is since she/he only signed the card as Spinning Geek….hopefully I’ll find out soon.    But how nice is this!  Scone mixes (one is Vermont Maple…yum), teas (Chocolate!  Cinnamin!)…and clever little disposable brewing bags.  I had never seen these – I don’t generally make tea with loose tea unless it is a pot but these will let me make a mugful.  Very neat – who thinks of these things?  Anyway, I also got homemade jam – blackberry/lime.  I can’t wait to try it.  And a very cute mug warmer (which is warming up my lobster mug from Maine).    Thank you, Spinning Geek – a very nice swap package and a definite highlight in my weekend.

maggie

Have you seen this?   I saw it over on Craftlily – this is a KAL to knit socks for a 17 year old girl named Maggie who is fighting histiocytosis.  I don’t normally do things like this – I’m a selfish knitter, but maybe it is her age, or the fact that she loves handknit socks – but I decided that I would do this.  Interested?  You can find more details and sign up here – wouldn’t it be amazing if she got 100’s of socks?

I did finish the beaded socks, but need to weave in the ends.    That is the only negative thing about them – because of the switch on heel and toe there is a lot to weave in…

Have a good Monday!

9 Responses to Knit One, Tea Too….

  1. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I love it when you get an unexpected surprise in the mail.
    Lot’ s of great stuff you got there.
    Re: your last post- never ask fellow yarn addicts to help you NOT buy yarn. It doesn’t work. 🙂

  2. Laurie says:

    What a wonderful tea swap package. Yum, yum and YUM! What’s the brand of the tea? Those are really neat looking tins.

    A 17 year old that loves knitted socks. That’s reason enough to cast-on!

  3. tiennie says:

    What a sweet KAL! Great gifts you got in the mail!

  4. Opal says:

    Nifty swap box! Those scone mixes sounds really yummy. Good for you for joining that KAL. It really is a sweet gesture.

  5. I love scones and tea………..you should make some and then, say, have a friend over to share them.

    I’ll check out that sock knitting – sounds like a very nice idea.

  6. rhoda says:

    oh, you got such cool stuff from your swap! I’m excited about the homemade blackberry/lime jam! love the mug warmer too!

  7. Chelsea says:

    Thank you for posting about this wonderful KAL. As soon as I read it, I went over and signed myself up. This is a great thing! Love as healing through socks. Sigh.

    Your gifts look awesome! I hope that you’re getting to enjoy them. What a fun thing – knitting, making scones, and drinking tea!

  8. Terri says:

    That’s a nice box of loot! I like the idea of the mug warmer. I must look for a pattern – my tea always goes cold. I’m a slow sipper.

  9. Spinning Geek says:

    I’m so happy you enjoyed your package. I just finished the last bit of goody shopping while on vacation in Hawaii. As soon as I get back to the mainland, I’ll mail the last couple of “tropical” gifts.

    Here’ the Mug Jacket pattern I used.

    I’ll reveal my secret identity soon.

Leave a Reply

