Silver lining…

How nice was everyone to tell me they didn’t see anything wrong with the socks?  I’m going with the general opinion and will finish them up and send them off to West Virginia – Dan’s girlfriend Carrie is going for her grad degree there…and Carrie will call Dan and say “your mother sent me stained socks”.    Carrie and Dan have been dating for a few years – she’s very nice and the only bad thing I can say about her is that she got me drunk on vacation this year.  (Come on, Carrie – you tell the story your way, I’ll tell it mine).  I hope she does like the socks – because I’ve owed her a pair for quite some time!

So on to the silver lining that I’m referring to….I needed more Malabrigo to finish my Sharfik.  So I ordered it from a seller on eBay.  And never got it.  It is the first time that this has happened to me.  I contacted the seller…nothing.  I finally opened a Paypal dispute, and today I got the money back (meanwhile, I had ordered it from another eBay-er and did get it).   I was glad because I just didn’t want to be out the money.  And now I have money in my Paypal account!  And can I show you what I’ve been drooling over?
il_75x75_10254837

il_75x75_11149572

I know – totally crappy pictures.  These are from Yarn Chef – the top is laceweight, and the bottom one is sock yarn.  Her yarns are gorgeous – remember I said I wasn’t buying yarn?  For weeks I’ve been putting her yarn in a cart on Etsy – and everday I visit it.  And don’t buy.  Even though I want new yarn for the Twinings Stole.  Wouldn’t it be perfect?  Now I have a little money in my Paypal…so I just may click order!  You should check out her site….and if you buy – please don’t tell me!

I was speaking to Chris last night and whining about how long Cobblestone is taking me.  And during that conversation, I became aware of how glad I am that I know other knitters.  Because Chris asked me how much I had done – and I (in a very whining tone) said “I have 15 inches done and have another million to go”.  And Chris gave me a virtual smack, told me to look at the pattern – and damn!  I had the wrong number in my head – I only need 17 inches!  I’m so glad we talked.   Chris also has a kidney stone, so go wish her well!

OK, one more day to go on work this week.  Today I went into NYC to my new job, and got fingerprinted.  And they took my picture – I’m really hoping not for my badge because it was absolutely hideous.   I rushed there from the train station because they were closing and my hair was all over, I was hot…and the person said “look here” and immediately took the picture.  I look like a crazy person.    But I’m a happy crazy person.  My current manager is being a little difficult about my leaving – so it is getting harder to go in.  But just a few more days – yea!

I am working on the second anklet and think I’ll be done with it and the beaded sock this weekend.  Then I’m going to focus on the Cobblestone.  Unless, of course, I buy yarn and start the stole!  Have a great rest of the week!

9 Responses to Silver lining…

  1. chris says:

    ssshhhhh, buy it. I won’t tell anyone, I promise. I’m glad I was able to shorten your knit on Cobblestone! And thanks for the Get Well Wishes 🙂

  2. Terri says:

    Buy the yarn. Start the stole. hee hee. ;o)

  3. Rebekah says:

    go ahead, you know you deserve it, after the wine incident and all 🙂

  4. rhoda says:

    i love it–your son’s gf got you drunk while you guys were on vacation?? talk about torture–when there’s yarn I want on etsy, I put it in my favorites folder and when I log on, I always visit my favorite items. lol! hope your picture came out all right..sorry your current manager is making things difficult for you..like you said, only a few more days left.

  5. tiennie says:

    Oohh… yes buy the yarn! Hmm… now I think I need Carrie’s side of the story!

    Cobblestone does feel like it goes on forever doesn’t it? Although I really needed a project like that when I knitted them!

  6. Opal says:

    Beautiful silver lining and there ain’t nothing wrong with a little crazy. 😉

  7. Nikki says:

    DON’T BUY YARN. I MUST NOT BUY YARN.
    Repeat 10 times and take a deep breath……

    DO NOT BUY ANY MORE YARN!!!!

  8. Laurie says:

    If the socks bother you that much you should spill wine over the other one and then remove it. VOILA! Matching pair!

    But the darned yarn. Winter’s coming and the house needs the insulation.

    Hooray for only 2 more inches!

    Just think of the great conversations you will have with your new co-workers when they see your picture. “You don’t look like that. You look much better!” And then you’ll all laugh and hug and have parties! hee hee

  9. Lorraine says:

    Why did you show me that stole?

Leave a Reply

