News

I’ve got news….hmmm…which do you want to hear first?

How about sock news?

762

I can’t believe that I started this on Tuesday – and only have been working on it during my commute (I really love taking the train!).  I’m ready to turn the heel – so I think I should have this done by the end of the weekend.  And knitting this has reminded me how much I love Lorna’s Laces.  After I knit the first sock, I bought a bunch of this yarn that I still have in the stash.  I think I want to use it for the next pair of socks!  I think I have solids – a red, and a green.  Any ideas?

OK, want more news?

map (2)

See the red star?  That’s Seaport Yarn.  I hear it is an amazing store.  And guess what!  Pretty soon I’ll be able to check it out myself very easily.  Why? (you ask)….well, see the orange star?  In a few weeks I’ll be working there….yes!  I got a job offer today!  I don’t want to say much yet because I haven’t a) accepted it formally and b) quit my current job.  But wohoo!  I’m very excited – it’s a great opportunity – great company, and although it is a slightly longer commute….when you commute 2 hours each way, another 20 minutes isn’t really that big of a deal.  And there is just something about working in New York – I’m just beyond excited. 

So tomorrow, I’ll accept the offer formally, and then on Monday I’ll resign.  I’m going to take a week off between jobs so I can unwind, and recharge….I’m so excited!  I wonder how many yarn stores are in the general area?

20 Responses to News

  1. Linda says:

    Pretty sock! I can’t believe you commute 2 hours each way, that’s a lot of knitting. I only travel 5 minutes to my job, so no knitting for me.

  2. donyale says:

    You commute 2 hours EACH WAY? OMG! That’s a LOT of knitting time.

  3. clumberknits says:

    Congratulations on the new job!

    I never minded the commute when I worked in NYC, but I wish I had been a knitter then.

    What I really want to say … your sock is stunning! I can’t wait to see it finished.

  4. Opal says:

    Oh congratulations! That is wonderful news on the job front! I wish you all the best in this new venture. 🙂

    And your sock? Gorgeous. I adore LL. How about a Cookie A. pattern for the other solids? The Twisted Flower pattern would look splendid in red.

  5. Jen says:

    Woa! Two hours!!! Last year I was commuting to Amsterdam. On a good day, it’d take me a bit over an hour door-to-door. If I missed myt connections, it’d take about an hour and half. All by train. It’s good if you can get a seat. 😉

  6. chris says:

    Wowsers!!!!!! That is wonderful. Have fun accepting and especially resigning! Best of luck (and Yarn shopping) in the new job – and I think there are loads of yarn shops in the city…..

    Oh! And the sock – it’s just lovely!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Congratulations- personally, my criteria would be the same. Any new job would have to be close to a yarn shop.

  8. Laurie says:

    Your sock is very pretty! Lorna’s ROCKS!

    CONGRATULATIONS on the new job. Fantastic news!!! Hooray! Bye Bye to the old job!

    I did a Google Map and see that it’s only 6 miles from Sloan Kettering so I may be making a trip there, as well. Think my bro would like yarn? 🙂

  9. LindaB says:

    Congrats!! Looking forward to hearing more about your NYC adventures!

  10. Cookie says:

    That’s a lot of time spent traveling. o.0

    Congrats on the new job!

    Lovely sock. There’s just something about a solid colored sock, isn’t there?

  11. Jeannie says:

    Pretty sock! I need to try beads on socks. Wow, that’s a long commute, but it does give you a lot of knitting time. Congratulations on the new job!!!

  12. Jeannie says:

    Pretty sock! I need to try beads on socks. Wow, that’s a long commute, but it does give you a lot of knitting time. Congratulations on the new job!!!

  13. Beth says:

    Congrats on the new job!

  14. hakucho says:

    Congratulations on your new job !! Hope you can knit lots during your commute and find lots of time to yarn shop 🙂

    P.S. Love your beaded socks…very pretty!

  15. susan says:

    So happy to hear you got a new job. I wish we had trains here in the midwest! I drive 70 miles round trip to work and I can’t drive and knit. I do get to listen to all my podcasts in peace. The socks are great!

  16. rhoda says:

    congratulations on the new job! New York and it’s by a yarn shop? Sounds perfect. 🙂 So how many yarn shops are there in the general area?? 😉

  17. tiennie says:

    Woohoo! That’s wonderful! I remember that you were feeling a bit ho hum earlier this summer so I’m happy that you’re doing better and feeling excited too.

  18. Anne says:

    Ohhh Congrats!! And the little bit of extra commute is also more than made up for by being near a yarn shop *grin*

  19. lobstah says:

    Congrats on your new job, hope you enjoy it! It’s gotta be good if it’s near a yarn shop, ha ha.
    Seaport Yarns has a branch in Portland but I’ve never been to it, yet.

  20. Terri says:

    Congratulations!! Well done you. And the extra commuting time means more knitting time right?! :o)

Leave a Reply

