Socks and shoes

754

I am proud of myself for resisting the lure of a new project in the last few weeks.   I really do want to finish everything in my knitting basket so that I can start new projects and have some finished items.  I thought I was a process knitter – but I think I’m also a little bit product oriented – I really don’t like too much on the needles at once, and I love the feeling of finishing something.  So last night, I was happy because I finally finished these socks!

756

Pattern:  Child’s First Sock, Knitting Vintage Socks
Yarn:  Sophie’s Toes, Colorway:  Water Lillies
Started:  March 26, 2007
Finished:  September 8, 2007

How pathetic is that?  Can you tell these were supposed to be Spring socks?  And here I am….finished them in time for Fall!  I can’t believe how long it took me to finish them.  I finished the first sock in a week or so in March – and the yarn sat in the basket until last week.  

I liked the pattern, and love the yarn – but I don’t like the pooling so I don’t love them as much as I would without all the pooling.  But I’d recommend both the yarn and pattern – the pattern is easily memorizable, but interesting.  And I love this sock yarn.  I have a lot in my stash – and I hate to use it because then it is not in my stash.  Emily is a wonderful dyer – and it is hard for me to resist the lure of new yarn from her shop.   But these are for me, and I’ll wear them – maybe they will bring a little spring into my winter!

758

I bought new golf shoes yesterday after my first golf lesson!  Aren’t they cute?  I thought maybe the new socks would mean I can combine hobbies…but I don’t think so….

760

So in about a half hour, I’ll be on my way to here….

744

Isn’t it pretty?  The gap in the middle of the distant mountains is the Deleware Water Gap.   This is the seventh hole at the local course we go to – I like when someone is in front of us so I can take a minute and enjoy the scenery.  I know, I know – enough of the golf stuff!  Sorry – just a little obsessive about it right now….I’m sure I’ll return to being equally obsessive about knitting soon!  Now back to finishing up the two other pair of socks – I think its time for the Beaded Socks to have their turn!

16 Responses to Socks and shoes

  1. Emilee says:

    I love the cheerful colors of those socks!

  2. susan says:

    Sping, fall, who cares they are beautiful. Nice yarn choice. That course sure looks green.

  3. They are lovely! And the new shoes are cool – have fun playing golf!

  4. Laurie says:

    Now you need to buy sock yarn that matches your golf shoes.

    Love the Child’s First Sock. It really is a fun pattern and yours are very pretty.

    We are SO going to play, one day.

  5. Jeannie says:

    The socks look great! Yay for finishing one of your ufo’s.

  6. Opal says:

    I adore those socks! Such pretty ocean colours. Have a great day at the golf course!

  7. Terri says:

    Oh those socks are gorgeous – even with the pooling. And yes, that golf course is very scenic too. I still prefer the socks though. ;o)

  8. Maud says:

    Lovely colours and a very nice pattern too!

  9. hakucho says:

    Your socks are so pretty 🙂 Good for you getting them done!

    happy knitting 🙂

  10. stitch-dom says:

    Another project to check off the list. I’m definitely process oriented – but I do love to finish something – then I love to give it away cause I’m just SO done with it. Except mittens…I think because they are so quick to knit.

    Now you need a golfing blog! Although you may want to blog it here when you knit the inevitable golf club cozies.

  11. Cookie says:

    At least, you’re starting the winter with a new pair of socks. ;^) I like them. Although, I wonder if a short row heel would have taken care of that puddling.

    I hope the golf is going well.

  12. tiennie says:

    Pretty pretty socks! I hope you had fun golfing!

  13. Silvia says:

    Hi Jeanne,
    Another beautiful pair of socks.
    And thank you for inspiring me to start knitting socks – you should be proud of my first pair :).

    best wishes,
    Silvia

  14. Lorraine says:

    Almost worth taking up golf so you can get all that nifty gear!

    The socks are fabulous!

  15. Jilliana says:

    Those socks look awesome!

    I actually kind of like the pooling. It reminds me of fish scales– each one has it’s own color, but together make up a beautiful overall look.

Leave a Reply

