You never know…

My husband Larry started playing golf a few years ago.  He went for the first time because my brother was visiting, and I suggested it as a way to entertain him.  And that was it – Larry fell in love with it, and has been golf-obsessed ever since.  Which was nice – I think its good that he has a hobby that he loves as much as I love mine.    People suggested that I try golf, but I always pooh-pooh’d the idea – better that we each have things that we do alone. 

Until we got Wii.  And we started playing Tiger Woods Golf.    I know – completely lame.  But I love the game, and I play it all the time.  And then I got to thinking that maybe I’d like real golf.  And how nice it would be if Larry and I shared a hobby – because I have been a little sad that we seem to spend more time apart than with each other.  So as I said, we went to the driving range a few times.  And yesterday we went and played 9 holes.  And I love it.  It was a beautiful course, Larry is a great teacher, and it was just a lot of fun.  And it was great to spend time with him, having fun, doing something that we both like.  So this morning, I went and bought something other than yarn…

737

Yep – my own set of golf clubs.  And they aren’t pink.  (What is up with everything for golf being pink or purple for women?)  Anyway, we are going in a little bit to play again.  And I’m sitting here all dressed, shoes on, ready to go.  Who knew that it could be so much fun?  Hmmm…maybe I can knit myself a golf vest!

Oh, right – name of blog is Jeanne Knits….so if you glazed over at that part….how about a finished pair of socks?

739

Pattern:  Baby Chevron, 200 Ripple Stitch Patterns
Started:  August 5
Finished:  August 29
Yarn: J Knits, Rhode Island colorway

740

I really enjoyed this pattern and this yarn.  The pattern was easy to memorize, yet interesting so I didn’t mind working on them.  The yarn is just gorgeous.  Very soft, non-splitty and the colors are just so vibrant.  I would definitely get it again – I bought this on vacation in Maine, so I’ll look for it a bit closer to home.

On the “still trying to finish what I already started” front – I’m working on finishing the Child’s First sock – I finished the first one months and months ago – and I’m clipping along on this one.  I just needed a break from the Cobblestone pullover.  This yarn is Sophie’s Toes – and I love it – its so squishy and soft.  And the colors – just beautiful.

743

Have a great Sunday!

13 Responses to You never know…

  1. Jen says:

    Ooooh pretty! All of it!

  2. Opal says:

    I really admire you for picking up such a strenuous hobby like golfing. And those clubs are beautiful! I’m thinking those naps are going to be all the sweeter after all that physical activity. 😉

    Gorgeous socks! Those Chevron socks came out really well.

  3. Nikki says:

    Those golf clubs are just gorgeous. Now you can knit yourself some head covers too – with the pompoms on!!! Seriously though I love the clubs almost enough to take up golf. Think – you’ll be able to knit golf socks, golf gloves and golf sweaters – the possibilities are endless….
    I really liked the socks – can I ask if they are your feet? I like my leg to be a snug fit so if I knitted a pair do you think I would need to change the pattern or do you have particularly slim ankles?

  4. Terri says:

    Both yarns are gorgeous. :o) I will have to be careful about my comments on the golf thing. My parents, Aunt and Uncle and both my brothers are golf obsessed and I avoid it like the plague. Probably just to be different, but I always tell them that running around a paddock chasing a wee ball isn’t my idea of fun. Of course they tell me “how would you know if you haven’t tried it”. I probably would enjoy it, but I won’t tell them that. I never really grew out of the teenage rebel phase. ;o)

  5. lobstah says:

    Ooh, nice clubs! Isn’t it irritating how all women’s sports equipment is pink? If I’m going to play a sport, I want to feel tough, not girly!
    I love both socks, such pretty colors!

  6. hakucho says:

    Your chevron socks are beautiful, but I really love the colorway and pattern of your child’s first sock. That is really my kind of colors 🙂

    I have played miniature golf and I’m not very good at that. Glad you found a second “hobby”. Enjoy your new golf set!

    happy knitting 🙂

  7. Sherry says:

    Both of the yarns you chose are beautiful. They knitted up so pretty. I like your clubs, too.

  8. Laurie says:

    Love the clubs! Enjoy the links with Larry.

    The socks are looking good. And you must be feeling good that you’re finishing more projects.

    Don’t forget the sunscreen.

  9. Chelle says:

    Chevron socks are lovely. Finished yeah! Your child’s socks are very nice too. She’ll love them. Chelle

  10. Beth says:

    oooohhh… the lure of a new hobby, all those new toys and accessories 😉

    Great socks too!

  11. rhoda says:

    i think that’s wonderful that you and larry now share a hobby! your golf clubs are cute! love the chevrons!

  12. tiennie says:

    Great socks! How cool that you have something the both of you can do together!

  13. Connie says:

    Do you like the book about Ripple patterns? I was thinking of getting it at Joanne’s with my %40 off coupon. I do like those chevron patterns…..

Leave a Reply

