Starry Night

I’ve been trying to apply the UFO August thing to my spinning as well as my knitting.  I’ve had two fibers on the bobbins for months, and haven’t spent any real time spinning this summer.  So this past weekend, I spun and plied and finished one of them.

This is Starry Night and I bought at Maryland Sheep and Wool this year from Tintagel Farm.  Its 50% wool, 50% mohair. 

704

I haven’t spun in a while, and struggled with consistency.  So this is all over the place, but mostly worsted. 

710

I really was hoping to use this for the Montego Bay scarf – but that’s 400 yards of laceweight, and this is 240 yards of worsted.  And although I’m sure I could modify the pattern, I’m not sure it would look good.  I find that this is the hardest part of spinning – I end up with skeins of yarn that I’m just not sure what to do with.  I have two others in the stash that I haven’t been able to use.  I’ll have to start looking for patterns specifically for them. 

706

I do like this though – its very pretty.  Right now its hanging in my room – I had it hanging to dry, but it looks so pretty that I just left it there.  Its very puffy and I can’t help but squeeze it when I walk by it. 

I enjoyed spinning this so much that I immediately started spinning the other fiber that’s been lurking around the bobbins – hopefully I’ll have more to show next weekend!

Enjoy your day!

14 Responses to Starry Night

  1. Ashley says:

    OOOooo… I love the colors!

  2. donyale says:

    What about another skein in a contrasting colour and try the trellis scarf? Or modify it. I cut out a few repeats and am using Handspun – it looks lovely.

  3. Lisa says:

    Gorgeous colours! I ended up getting One Skein Wonders in the hopes that it would help me with the handspun issue. I just find that whatever the project is, I either have too little yarn or its the wrong weight.

    I am also struggling with consistency spinning and I think that long lapses between spinning sessions isn’t helping me or my wheel get acquainted.

    Finally – am glad you are feeling better about life. Wouldn’t it be boring not to have the occasional existential crisis? Saying goodbye to growing up kids must really make you re-evaluate where you are at! Another thing to “look forward” to I guess!

  4. Laurie says:

    You’re doing a great job finishing things up.

    This yarn is beautiful! Gorgeous! I can’t see the inconsistency and you shouldn’t point it out. LOL!

  5. Opal says:

    Beautiful yarn! I love the colours. I’m sure you’ll be able to find something that will show it off.

    You really are doing a great job of finishing things up. Give yourself a huge pat on the back! 😀

  6. Oh how pretty; can I have a squeeze too please? 🙂

  7. Terri says:

    It is really very pretty Jeanne. I’m sure you’ll find a pattern that is just perfect for it. Such a nice blend of colours. The name is perfect for it.

  8. Oiyi says:

    Oh, it’s lovely.

  9. chris says:

    Ah, but us spinners always point out our thick and thins – it’s what we do. It looks lovely – and I love the colors – the name is very fitting. I hope you decide on a project for it soon – I really want to see it worked up.

  10. hakucho says:

    Postively beautiful hand spun yarn 🙂

  11. Sherry says:

    If you happen to get an e-mail update from Classic Elite yarns, they just put a pattern up for Charmed Fingerless Mitts. Its a really pretty pattern and calls for a worsted weight. Your yarn came out beautifully and looks like it would make an adorable pair of these.

  12. Julie says:

    I soooo know what you mean about the random skeins of handspun. I liken it to when I started knitting and acquired so many single skeins of yarn — I started spinning and acquired lots of fiber in 2-4oz puffs, and unless you can spin a consistent lace or fingering weight, there’s not a ton you can do with those little skeins.

    I finally got brave and ordered 24oz of one fiber to spin for a Big Project (sweater? eek!) and it skeeers me a little.

    Beautiful yarn, though! 🙂

  13. Manasi says:

    Love that handspun!
    Beautiful colors.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

