Power of Suggestion

685

As you probably guessed, I did cast on for the Cobblestone pullover.  And I love it.  I’m enjoying the crunchiness of the yarn, and the easy pattern – this is perfect no-brainer knitting at this point. 

682

I have about 4″ done – and need 20″.  Since I started this on Thursday night – I think I’m doing pretty good!  I, of course, have dropped every thing else I’m knitting (but I did order two more skeins of the Malabrigo to finish the scarf). 

684

I can’t wait to work on the sweater – I hate to go to bed, and can’t wait to wake up again to just sit and knit.  Don’t you love projects like that? 

Except that this morning, I took a break and spent 45 minutes spinning – I’m trying to clear my bobbins of my UFO spinning projects.  I really enjoyed spinning mohair and listening to a podcast. (its a great podcast by the way).  They kept on talking about this scarf.  And I started thinking about the one skein I have of Sea Silk.  And what a great gift this would make.  And then I started thinking that maybe I should make it for someone for Christmas.    And wouldn’t the scarf be awesome out of handspun.  Hmmm….

At which point, I stopped listening to the podcast, stopped spinning and went out to lunch with friends.  Hoping that the whole idea of casting on for the scarf (whose pattern seems amazingly easy, and after all I do have that skein of silk…) would just go out of my mind.  Because I do love the Cobblestone.  And what happened to UFO August?   And those damn socks need to be finished.  And the scarf….speaking of scarves….what about the Montego Bay scarf?

To distract myself a little more from finding the Seasilk in the stash (I think its in the tub near the window…), I made a chocolate cake.  A chocolate zucchini cake!  It smells so good – just needs the glaze.  I got the recipe from here – I love reading food blogs!  If you like lamb, there is a great recipe for grilled lamb – we made it a couple of weeks ago and it was delicious.

 686

OK, here is what I decided to do.  I’ll finish the Malabrigo scarf first – and then cast on for the Montego Bay scarf.  But for now, I’m going to focus on the Cobblestone pullover.   And I’m going to see how fast I can finish it – I would love to be able to get this done in the next few weeks.  And then, really – its back to UFO August (and September!).

Have a great weekend!

10 Responses to Power of Suggestion

  1. chris says:

    Cobblestone is looking good! I can’t wait to start Bob’s. I’m glad he’s letting me make him a sweater for once. That cake looks delicious. And lunch was fun!

  2. Laurie says:

    Why thank you ! I would love that scarf. 🙂 And what’s one more teensy, tiny little project? It’s not like it’s another sweater.

    I enjoyed lunch. Too bad you BAILED on us. 😦 It was so stinking hot that the only thing I could think of was getting home to the cold air.

    You are FLYING on that Cobblestone. It should be done by next week!

  3. tiennie says:

    Your cobblestone is so nice! Really like that color!

  4. hakucho says:

    Love your cobblestone. I really like the flecks of color in the yarn!

    happy knitting 🙂

  5. rhoda says:

    cobblestone looks good. i love mindless knitting from time to time! ooh and the chocolate zucchini cake looks yummy! thanks for the recipe!

  6. Opal says:

    Good for you for sticking to the Cobblestone! It looks fabulous btw. I’m glad you’re enjoying the yarn too! Crunchiness and all. 🙂

  7. Adrienne says:

    It’s looking great!!!

  8. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- I love when you can’t think of anything but that project, and you race through your chores so you can knit.
    Too bad it doesn’t always last.

    Love the color.
    Zucchini cake, mmmm!

  9. Rebekah says:

    wow, you made great progress. sometimes mindless knitting is exactly what we need.

  10. Suzanne says:

    That cake sure looks good! I love the Cobblestone and now I want to knit one!

Leave a Reply

