Maple Leaves

661

OK, here is the official “I can’t believe its finally done” post….

669

Pattern:  Heartstrings Maple Leaves Scarf
Yarn:  Alpaca Lite, A Touch of Twist (Purchased at Maryland Sheep and Wool 2006)
Started:  September 2, 2006
Finished:  August 15, 2007
665

This is a good pattern – now that its done, I can say that I enjoyed it and should have finished it a while ago.    I don’t know why I didn’t work on it – other than it was at the bottom of the basket and I always wanted to work on something else.    It measures 58″ – which is plenty big for this type of scarf.  The yarn is very pretty – beautiful teal color.  I was surprised at how soft ….yet scratchy alpaca is.  I think this will be fine worn as a scarf – when I wear it on my bare skin, its a little itchy – but not horribly so.  Anyway, I would recommend both the pattern and the yarn.

662

I also need to figure out how to take decent pictures of lace.  I had to rope Larry into this (he also helped me block it).

OK, I have one more beautiful picture for you today….
670

Lisa and I did an informal swap – I sent her stitch markers….and she sent me yarn that she dyed herself.  Isn’t it gorgeous?  Lisa and I were part of another swap last year when I received beautiful roving from her that I spun and used to make a scarf (looking at the pictures I really think this was the nicest yarn I’ve spun!).  I think she does gorgeous work and really wish she would open an Etsy shop (hint hint Lisa)!.  I can’t wait to use this….and aren’t you all jealous?

TGIF!

18 Responses to Maple Leaves

  1. knittingnoob says:

    It looks absolutely beautiful. I’ve never bought alpaca, but felt it in the store, and I’m surprised to hear it’s scratchy. You must have sensitive skin like me!

  2. Lisa says:

    Jeanne – I am utterly thrilled that you like it. That’s my favourite skein of any that I’ve dyed.

    Did you find the maple candy hidden away at the bottom of the package? You should suck on one while you enjoy that gorgeous newly completed scarf — I love that pattern!

  3. Rebekah says:

    Oh wow, that is absolutely gorgeous!

  4. donyale says:

    Ohhhhh – lace—–ohhhhhhh. Lovely.

  5. Laurie says:

    Your scarf is very pretty. I’m always surprised about the scratchiness of alpaca but, like you said, over a shirt or sweater should be great.

    Lovely colors on that yarn. A worthy swap!

  6. Annie says:

    Oooh, it’s so beautiful! Great job. 🙂

  7. kathleen says:

    I’s place a bet that when it is 20 degrees this winter the word scratchy will not even enter your mind.

    I was looking at your NWNJ link. I believe I live jist down the road from you, in Washington

    What a storm that was today!!!

  8. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Wow, you knit up yarn that you purchased a year ago?
    That would be some kind of record around here.

    Lovely scarf- lovely colored yarn.

  9. adrienne says:

    It’s BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

  10. Hedy Price Paley SpinningStar Alpacas says:

    Hi – Your scarf is absolutely beautiful – What a lovely pattern and color. Alpaca yarn comes in many different grades. The very soft and not scratchy yarn come from the blanket of the alpaca. the fleece from the neck, belly and legs can sometimes be scratchy and soft. — The finest alpaca fleece is always the blanket -extremely soft –not scratchy .The grade of fleece also depends on the alpaca the fleece comes from, Good educated breeding decisions yields beautiful soft non scratchy fleece. As an alpaca owner and breeder our emphasis is on breeding with champion alpacas to produce the finest fleece. I am just learning how to prepare my fleece to spin into yarn and also to dye and weave – it’s all such a joy.

  11. hakucho says:

    Beautiful yarn and beautiful scarf!! You are really cruising along, aren’t you? 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  12. susan says:

    Wow. That is an accomplishment! It’s beautiful. I finally picked up some yarn at Stitches and plan on taking a break from socks to make some presents.

  13. Nicola says:

    The scarf looks lovely. I find Alpaca can be scratchy on bare skin but most people would wear a scarf over some sort of clothing!!! You’re going great on finishing off all those UFOs too – what next ? Na Craga?

  14. Cookie says:

    Gorgeous lace! You did a wonderful job.

    Lisa did a great job with that skein. It’s lovely.

  15. Terri says:

    It’s gorgeous Jeanne!!! Well done. :o)

  16. Jeannie says:

    The scarf turned out beautiful! I’ve heard that alpaca feels scratchy only to some people. Me, I have shawls and scarves knit with it and they don’t feel scratchy to me. The swap yarn is so pretty!

  17. rhoda says:

    oh, it’s absolutely stunning! And the yarn you received from Lisa is so pretty!

  18. tiennie says:

    This is really beautiful!

Leave a Reply

