Pretty!

631

Chris apparently doesn’t get the whole birthday thing.  We went out yesterday for her birthday – the plan was lunch, yarn stores, presents, and knitting.  All went well except she gave me a present.

632

I had been drooling over this necklace for months –  and I was really pleased and touched that she gave it to me.   I felt a little guilty about getting a present for her birthday but not guilrty enough to refuse it!   Chris makes beautiful stuff – you can see more in her Etsy shop.  (You will definitely see better pictures of her stuff!)

We went to a yarn store that I hadn’t been to in a few years – Yarn for all Seasons.  It is a beautiful store – very nice yarns, lot of variety.  I hated going there though because the owner was sort of rude.  She would follow people around the store like she was afraid they were stealing yarn.  After a few times of that, I just stopped going.  But I thought Chris would like something new for her birthday, so we tried it.  I think the owner must have read some of the negative reviews out there on her store (all saying the same thing I just said) because she was remarkably nice.  And she was having a sale on summer yarns and discontinued yarns.  I bought some Silky Tweed – it was 50% off!  I have enough for a sweater or shawl.  Very nice.  I’m too lazy right now to run upstairs and take a picture – but its a pretty eggplanty color.   Anyway, if you are in NJ, check out the store – not sure how long the sale is, but she had a lot of nice yarns at 50% off.  I was looking at some Debbie Bliss (again, 50% off!), but since I just swore no more yarn until Stitches, I just couldn’t buy anything else.

Today I went for a pedicure….and I’m knitting.  I’ll have a FO by the end of the day!

633

Ruby doesn’t seem impressed with the red toes, eh?

I’ll leave you with a picture of the t-shirt I bought in Maine….how could I resist?

636

7 Responses to Pretty!

  1. Opal says:

    What a gorgeous necklace! I’m so jealous, I adore Chris’ jewelry.

    I love the pedi and Ruby looks adorable.

  2. tiennie says:

    Great toes, great pendant, great t-shirt! Can’t wait to see your FO!

  3. Jean says:

    That necklace is beautiful. And Ruby is seriously adorable. I knit during pedicures. How ’bout you?

  4. chris says:

    I had a great afternoon! I really love that T-shirt – cracked me up!!!

  5. hakucho says:

    Beautiful necklace…very unusual design! I love it and I bet you’ll enjoy wearing it!

  6. Kathleen says:

    Visiting from throughtheloops. My son said the same thing about A Yarn For All Seasons. So I had to go. I have been visiting over there for a couple of years now. I took the aggressive aproach when she followed me. I think she just loves her store so much that she wants to tell all about every skein that is there. She also likes to talk about fiber trips she takes. Her picture is actually in one of the Interweave Knits magazines when she went on the fiber trip to I think Norway. The best part of going there is ice cream at Gabrielle’s next door. The best around. Worth the trip just for ice cream.

  7. susan says:

    Oh that Ruby is just too cute!

Leave a Reply

