UFO August

As I was reading blogs the other day, I came across an entry on Through the Loops that caught my interest.  You know I’ve been talking (whining) about finishing my current WIPs before I start a new project, but if you’ve read this blog for any length of time you know I whine (talk) about that all the time – and never do anything. 

So I decided to join this informal KAL to finish some of my projects.  So the first part of doing this is finally owning up to what I have.  And please excuse the cat hair – it is pretty obvious that someone (Nipper) has been sleeping in my knitting basket when I’m not around.  OK, here we go!

Up first is the finish back for Spray – this is bulky yarn, and took like two minutes to do…but its been sitting for months waiting for a front and a couple of sleeves…

629

Next up, is the Drunken Argyle vest – I’m planning on making this for Larry’s retirement gift, so I have a little time (how about 25 years?)

628

Na Craga – I love this.  Even with the cat fur.  This needs to get done soon.  This is about half of the back – front, sleeves, etc need to be done.  This is going high on the list.

627

Chevron socks – just started, but I’m loving it.  I think I just like chevron patterns.  I’m iffy on the pooling of the yarn, but I’m not iffy enough to rip them out.

625

Maple Leaves scarf – I’m probably 2/3 of the way on this – but the other needle mysteriously disappeared.  Weird.  Maybe Nipper ate it.  I’m iffy on the whole thing, but I’ve done too much to frog it.  Maybe it will look better blocked.

626

Cieara’s Lillian tank – just about done with the back – except I need to try it on her, measure it and rip it back and redo.  And then the front.  I think this is a weekend’s worth of knitting.

630

The three socks from hell – actually, I’m just finishing up the second one to match the one on the very left (Opal yarn).  The problem is that I have no interest in finishing the other two. 

506

OK, so that’s my project list.  I don’t think I’ll get everything done in August, so here is what I’m going to shoot for:

  1. Lillian tank
  2. Chevron socks
  3. Opal socks
  4. Maple Leaves scarf (assuming I can get Nipper to give me the other needle)

Then I’m going to start working on Na Craga.  So no Pi Shawl for me….well, maybe if I do finish the four things, I’ll reward myself with a new project. 

I was struggling with the cast on for Pi shawl, and Opal sent me the most amazing cast on – the belly button start.  If I do decide to make the pi shawl, I’m going to use this – so much better than what I was trying to do.

Did you notice the “if” in the previous sentence?  Although I was very excited about the Pi shawl, it was before I saw the Honeybee shawl.      And now I just don’t know….

15 Responses to UFO August

  1. Nikki says:

    My, you have alot of UFOs Jeanne. You know the first stage of any Addicts programme is to admit you have a problem…..seriously though, why do you think you need to finish them? If you don’t like the socks then FROG THEM and save the yarn for something else (or give it away). I think it’s much better to get rid of anything unloved than grit your teeth and finish it. There are far too many lovely patterns out there to waste your time on knitting something you just don’t like.

    xx

  2. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Not only did I see the Bee Fields shawl, I got the patterns (there’s a stole as well) and ordered the Oregon Red Clover Honey yarn. Now who’s obsessed?
    But UFO’s can weigh you down- deal with them and move on.

    Way too much blaming on poor Nipper.

  3. Adrienne says:

    Your UFO’s look great! Can’t wait to see them all finished though!

  4. hakucho says:

    You certainly have lots of WIP’s! So much beauty…you have to get them finished 🙂 Would be a sin to leave them unfinished for too long!!

    happy knitting 🙂

  5. Connie says:

    I so understand the lure of the new project! I’m very guilty of that also.

  6. Jeannie says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of UFOs, but they are very nice ones. I just can’t do that. Right now, I’m strictly a one project at a time person, but those are all socks. It would be far too painful to frog the Maple leaf–all that lace! But I would frog the socks if you’re not happy with them.

    I did see the Bee shawl. I bought the stole! Both of them are so beautiful. It’s very tempting to ditch summer of socks and cast on for one of those.

  7. Laurie says:

    It’s a good idea and I just might join along. I’ve got too many things I want to start but am feeling uncomfortable about the “pile”. I don’t know if I’d count the socks as UFO’s. They’re just “orphans”. TOTALLY different! 🙂

    Frog the shawl that pains you. Then, when you’re done with some UFO’s, you can make the Honey Bee with it! It’s a sweet pattern!

  8. Opal says:

    Wow! What a vast array of delightful projects to choose from! I love your Chevron socks. So much nicer then mine. I just love the Maple Leaf scarf. So airy and frothy. The Lillian tank looks like it’ll be gorgeous once it’s blocked.

    I’m so glad you found the belly-button start helpful. As for the Honeybee Stole, it’s a tempting project, but you’ve got to be strong. It’ll still be there when you’re done with the Pi Shawl or a couple of other projects. Of course, who am I kidding? I just started another shawl last night!

  9. wowsers! Poor Nipper. I say, bite the bullet and finish that pile – what a great sense of accomplishment you’ll have. And that scarf is too close to finished to rip it – just do it!

  10. knitxcore says:

    lol! that’s out of control! I have 3 WIPs and I’m freaking out.

  11. stitch-dom says:

    Now then…isn’t confession good for the stole…ahem soul??

    I have my fingers crossed for you…I mean, if you can do this, maybe there is hope for the rest of us?

  12. tiennie says:

    Gorgeous UFOs! Now get knitting!!

  13. rhoda says:

    wow…I hadn’t seen that honeybee stole. the stitches are so intricate. I had been eyeballing the wing o’ the moth myself but it is way beyond my abilities! good luck with finishing up some of your ufos. I hadn’t seen Na Craga before until I googled it–you have to finish that one. It looks amazing! It’s so hard to resist starting new projects–I know all about it.

  14. Hello, Jeanne! I’m the “belly-button start for circular projects” inventor, and was just cruising your blog when I found it!
    I must admit, I was once a multi-UFO person myself. However, I am pleased to say that I have my addiction under control and have only ONE project on the go … well, ok, serious project (currently my fifth Niebling). I also knit Izzy Dolls, which go to Afgan children and kids in Africa (AIDS orphans) through a couple of Canadian organizations, but I can start and finish one of the dolls in about an hour and a half. Anyway, fight the good fight (as in, conquering all those UFOs) and knit in peace!
    Rosemarie Buchanan (from Vancouver Island, on Canada’s glorious west coast!).

  15. Kathleen says:

    Good luck. I joined throughtheloops UFO August just to finish a sweater I started in March. I think I will have to take a week off of work to finish.

Leave a Reply

