Perfect

I have to say it – I had a perfect weekend.  Some weekends are just drags with errands, problems, whatever.  And some are good.  But this one?  This was better than good – it was really perfect. 

Yesterday was the knitting group party, and I had a great time.  About a dozen knitters showed up, each bearing food (or drink) and I can’t even begin to tell you how good it all was.  Homemade cheesecakes and carrot cake.  Cobb salad.  Chicken.  Shrimp.  Drinks.  Lots of drinks!  There was so much food that I can’t even remember what we had and ate – but it was all very yummy. 

The women in the group range in age from the 30’s to probabably late 50’s (I have no idea how old everyone is and I’m not asking!) but its pretty amazing how well everyone gets along.  We swam, ate, talked, laughed – and there was very little knitting done.  I am so glad that we did this – and I’m so glad I’m part of the group.  Chris wore her new Josephine top – it is beautiful – really amazing.  She beaded the tie – and it really was so pretty.  I’m tempted to make one for me – but its getting to the end of the summer, and I’m not sure I should be making one more summer top (and I really need to finish Cieara’s…but more on that later).  And honestly?  I’m not sure mine would look anywhere near as beautiful as Chris’ and then I’d be disappointed. 

Chris also brought me a beautiful plant for my deck

621

Most of mine died when we went on vacation, so I was grateful to have something pretty!

All in all, a succesful party, and I was happy and tired when everyone left.  There is a lot of food left – so we had the added benefit of not having to cook for the rest of the weekend!

Although we were tired, Larry and I decided to go out – we went to the movies and saw Harry Potter.  Very good, but I think it was a different experience watching the movie after I read the last book.    But it was nice to get out and spend some time with Larry away from the house and kids. 

Today I had a slightly different day – but also very nice.  We made blueberry pancakes for breakfast (with some Maine maple syrup!) and then Larry went to a golf lesson, Andrew went to his girlfriends and Cieara is hiding in her room lately so I was by myself – so I did a little of this…..

616

And some of this – reading one of my favorite authors….

618

Then listening to podcasts and knitting….

620

Yep – I gave in and started a new pair of socks.  I’m using the Baby Chevron pattern from the 200 Ripple book.  I love it – I was a little iffy on it when I first started ,but I really like how its turning out.  

I was listening to the KnitPicks podcast (I really like this podcast, by the way, and recommend it).  Kelly was speaking about how she feels that you should just admit that you will never finish some projects and frog them or throw them out.  I thought about the ones that I have in progress – and I don’t think I’ll do that.  I may not want to work on them right now, but I do want to finish them eventually.  Kelly is also doing a KAL for the Knitter’s Almanac and making all of the patterns in the book in the month they are listed.  July’s pattern is the Pi Shawl.  I’ve heard about this a lot but never really knew what it was.  I was curious, so I read the chapter and pattern this afternoon….and I do believe that I’m going to make this one.  Soon.  Maybe tonight.  I just need to think about what yarn I want to use.  I’m half resisting the urge to start it and finish these socks (or the other 3 pairs of socks I need to finish).    And I thought that I really should finish Cieara’s top – I have to frog back the top because its too big – I think it was me, not the pattern, but it just isn’t right.  And that’s making me avoid it.  But I should just finish it because its going to be cute on her.  But the Pi Shawl….maybe I’ll just go get the needles and yarn….

8 Responses to Perfect

  1. hakucho says:

    The Baby Chevron socks are fabulous. I love the colors!
    Good luck with Cieara’s top. I always have so much trouble with sweaters that I tend to shy away from them. I’m always seeing patterns I like, but….

    Glad you had such a nice knitters meeting. Sounds like fun!

    happy knitting 🙂

  2. tiennie says:

    It does sound like a great time! I really liked the HP movie – went twice!

  3. chris says:

    I’ve always wanted to tackle that shawl – get going! Glad you liked the plant – it was a great get together – I don’t think we could have asked for anything more!

  4. Laurie says:

    I don’t think you can have too many projects, as long as there aren’t time limits on them. Start another one with a clear conscience (lemming). 😉

    I enjoyed the movie more, because of reading the last book. Guess it’s because it had been so long between books and such that it made it easier to remember everyone.

    Looks like your Sunday was ideal. Good for you!

  5. Opal says:

    First off, I had an odd sensation when I saw the new HP movie after reading the last book too. It was hard to rewind to the past or something like that.

    Secondly, your Chevron socks are sooo pretty! I love those colours! So bright and cheery.

    Finally, I adore John Irving! A Prayer For Own Meany has to be one of my favorite books of *all* time. Now you’ve got me itching to reread it. 🙂

  6. stitch-dom says:

    Sounds like a terrific party and great time for everyone! Perfect weekends are definitely something to cherish. Your pool looks divine and those socks are going to be darned cute!

  7. Lorraine says:

    Jeanne- Sounds like a fabulous weekend.

    I’ve had the Pi shawl on the to-do list forever. I love the color of your socks.

  8. Rebekah says:

    what a lovely post, it sounds like a wonderful way to sepdn the weekend. Even if you made me throughouly jealous with that pool picture.

Leave a Reply

