Puttering

I feel like I’m puttering along on my knitting….I’m still finishing up the Lillian tank – I think I’m just about done with the front, but I’m going slowly because I don’t think I have enough yarn.  And knitting slowly won’t use as much yarn apparently.  I should go and look in one of my yarn tubs and see if I happen to have one more ball – but I can’t bring myself to do it because I may just find out for sure that I don’t.  It seems like one of those weeks – keep on worrying about it, but just don’t want to know for sure. 

On the train, I’m knitting the second sock….

614

Nothing exciting, but a good plain sock.  I’m not sure who its for – I thought it was for me, but when I tried on the first sock, I realized its too small.  So I need to find someone with a slightly smaller foot.   When I was putting away the yarn I bought in Maine, I looked at some of my sock yarn – I really wanted to cast on for something more exciting, but forced myself not to since I have three singleton socks right now that need mates.

I finished Harry Potter on the train this morning – I was nervous about reading it on the train because I was afraid that someone walking by would look at me and say what the ending was (you never know how weird people will be on the train).  But I thought that was a bit paranoid, and I really wanted to read it so I took it.  And got to the Newark train station at just the most exciting part – I couldn’t believe it.  I wanted to sit on the train and finish it, but didn’t, so I finished it on the way home.  No spoilers here, but if you read it and want to discuss, email me!  Good book though – I really enjoyed it.

On Saturday, the knitting group is coming to my house for our summer party.  This was my idea.  And now I wish it was at someone else’s (Chris has a nice new patio – maybe we should move it to hers?).  Now I need to clean, cook, shop for drinks (do you think anyone will want alcoholic drinks like margaritas?), clean up the backyard, deck and pool  – you know, all that stuff you do when a whole bunch of people come over.  But I think it will be fun (and hopefully they won’t poke around and realize the closets and drawers are terrible!).  Larry is going to go play golf and I’m sure the rest of the kids (or at least the ones who aren’t grounded) will be running for the hills, so it should be a bit of fun.  I need to let the anxiety of people coming to my house go, and just concentrate on having fun. 

Its hot here – the start of a heat wave…and yet, I can feel fall coming, and I want to be knitting something big.  Something fall-ish.  Maybe Fair Isle – or maybe this.    Or maybe I need to stop thinking about new projects, and finish the ones that have been just languishing on the sidebar over there for months…..

9 Responses to Puttering

  1. Terri says:

    The hint of Spring is in the air here and I’m already thinking of summer tops to knit. Funny how the slightest change in temperature can get us looking forward to a new range of knits. :o) I’ve just finished HP too. Loved it. :o)

  2. hakucho says:

    I’m still waiting to read the newest HP book. One son has finished and the other has about 1/4 done. I’m here waiting patiently. I’m probably the slowest reader in the house so that’s why I have to wait!

    Good for you trying to finish all your singleton socks…your latest is looking really good. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you find that extra ball of yarn for tank top. What will you do if you don’t? …is the yarn still available? (–sorry to bring the subject up, but you can see I’m worried for you!)

    happy knitting 🙂

  3. chris says:

    I finished it before we left for Lake Placid – we should discuss. Margarita’s? yummy. Mojito’s? Always wanted to try one. My Patio? Still sandy, grass has to be planted in the dirt – so it’s not quite ready for prime time. But soon.

  4. Laurie says:

    I finished the book last week. We should discuss it at the group, as long as everyone else has read it.

    If it’s stressful to do alchoholic stuffs, don’t bother. We never get them at Panera. If people want to bring their own fixin’s that’s another story. Don’t go nuts with the house. We’re there for each other, not to do the white glove test (at least not me).

    RUN LARRY, RUN!

  5. tiennie says:

    I love the new HP book. So wonderful!

  6. stitch-dom says:

    Why is it so much harder to catch finishitis than startitis?

    I really hope you don’t run out of yarn…but if it helps to motivate you – wouldn’t it feel nice to be able to decide whether or not to continue on if you don’t have another ball around? Or even better – forget that you were worried at all if you do?

    Have a great time on Saturday – wish I could transplant myself to NJ and stir up some slushy drinks with you!

  7. Opal says:

    I’ve had the worst case of startitis this week, but so far i’ve managed to fight it off. Hopefully you’ll be able to be strong as well.

    Saturday sounds like a blast! Have fun and try not to worry about having your house immaculate.

  8. rhoda says:

    I’m sure today with the knitting group over was awesome. 🙂 I also hope you don’t run out of yarn!

  9. knitxcore says:

    I’m really trying to take my time with HP, but when I’m finished I’d ❤ chatting about it. What yarn are you using for that sock? the colors are gr8.

Leave a Reply

