Maine I

I’m not sure where to start – should I tell you all about Maine?  It was beautiful – trees, blue skies, beautiful lakes, friendly people.  Except when it rained.  Then it felt like autumn, and we all wore sweatshirts and tried to remember it was July.    I started the week by wanting to move there ….but fortunately, ended the week happy to go home and back to my life.  We had a great time with the kids – lots of joking, laughing, poker playing., sight seeing, good food (OMG!  You have to try lobster rolls!).  No TV (except for a movie or two together), no computers….totally disconnected.  It was great.  The sun came up a whole hour earlier than we are used to – and it made me get up a little earlier than I wanted to on vacation (until we were smart enough to make sure the blinds were closed before we went to bed!).

And that disconnected, early morning time let me finish a thing or two….

581

Pattern:  Monkey
Yarn:  Lisa Souza Sock!, Earth Birth colorway
Started:  July 5, 2007
Finished:  July 19, 2007

Love them.  Love this yarn, and I’ll be getting more.  Its very soft, and the color is so rich and beautiful.  I really would have to say that its in my top 5 favorite sock yarns.

584

OK, back to Maine.  We stayed near a town called Penobscot  (if you look at the map, look for Toddy Pond  – that’s where our house was and in NJ this would be called a lake!) – which worked out very well as it seemed to be central to everything  – or as central to everything as that part of Maine can be – it was really rural!  No really.  I live in the country in NJ, and in Maine I was a little freaked out at how country it was.  We had to take two dirt roads to get to the house.    And everything was a long drive.  But we went to different areas, and didn’t have to spend hours in the car, so I guess it was ok.    One of the first places we went to was Black Woods Farms  – an alpaca farm!  (t really pays to be the planner in the family – I had the address of this place long months ago.    So I made sure we were pointed in the right direction last Sunday.)

The farm was fun – its owned by a family, and one of the owners, Lisa, spent a lot of time telling us about her alpacas, and was very friendly (it really is freaky to someone from the Northeast how friendly people in other regions are).  She’s a knitter, and wants to learn how to spin.  We took pictures, and then we went into the little store she and her husband built.  Which was full of things made from alpacas.  I was a little disappointed not to find roving, but I did manage to find a little yarn. 

579

I actually have two of each color – the white is from a male alpaca named Ruiz (who is the white one in the picture in the previous post).  The brown is from a female alpaca named Lyra.  The cards on the yarn have their picture (so cute!).  Each skein is about 150 yards of sportweight.   I’m think its going to be a scarf – its so soft.  I also bought some other alpaca yarn, but it is commercial – so I won’t show it.

580

I had a great time there, and it made me want to fence in my yard and buy a couple of alpaca of my very own.  Sigh….I love the yarn, and its nice to actually meet the animals it came from.

OK, that’s it for now.  Tomorrow (or Wednesday) I’ll post the couple (cough) of stores I went to….along with another FO!

9 Responses to Maine I

  1. chris says:

    Loverly socks!! And that alpaca yarn just looks sooooo soft! Sounds like you really had a good time!

  2. Opal says:

    Love your monkeys! I think it’s great that you got to meet the alpacas your got your yarn from too!

  3. hakucho says:

    Glad you had a good time in Maine. Love your monkey socks…very pretty color 🙂 Beautiful alpaca yarn as well…bet that will be a dream to knit!

    happy knitting 🙂

  4. tiennie says:

    Beautiful socks! I’m glad you had a great vacation!

  5. Laurie says:

    I wanted to feel the alpaca but my hand hit the screen and I realized it was just a photo. But it looks very soft!

    Should I start calling you Monkey Girl? They’re great!

    More photos please. I can almost feel the water.

  6. lobstah says:

    Hee, hee…yes Maine tends to be quite rural…and rainy. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself anyway. The sun rising an hour early in the summer is cool, but unfortunately in the winter it rises an hour later 😦 If I get down that way I hope to check out the alpaca farm myself, looks neat!

  7. Happytee says:

    Wow!! beautiful socks love the colors. Love the yarn. I always wanted to visit Maine.

  8. Terri says:

    Glad you had a great time. The yarn looks very soft. Can’t wait to see it knitted up. I love knitting with alpacca. The socks look fantastic too. Well done. :o)

  9. rhoda says:

    oh, your monkey socks are so pretty! 🙂 an alpaca farm, how fun! too bad you couldn’t find any roving.

Leave a Reply

