Finally Friday!

Finally!  What a week.  Really.  I think the week before vacation is always bad – but this one in particular seemed particularly long, stressful and tiring.  But here we are, Friday morning.  And I’m working from home,this morning and taking the afternoon off.   And I have a finished object to show!

563

Pattern:  Chevron Scarf, Last Minute Knitted Gifts
Yarn:  Koigu KPPPM – sorry – I have no idea what colorways, but purchased from Loop
Started:  June 10, 2007
Finished:  July 11, 2007

565

This really is a great pattern – very easy to do, but wasn’t so boring that it was a chore to work on it.  I started working on it on the train recently and finished it after a week of concentrated train time.  This isa gift for a friend’s birthday – I feel very good about finishing a gift months before I need it.  The scarf is fairly long – I hope its not too long for her!  I’ll definitely make another one (or two) of these, but unlike Chris – I’ll take a little break before I cast on for a new one.  I will say that its a lot of fun to look at my stash and try to figure out good combinations for new scarves.

So tomorrow we leave for vacation.  I’m excited and yet….its going to be hard leaving Cieara home.  I’m not sure if I mentioned this, but she’s going to summer school because she failed some classes – and she can’t miss any days.  So she’s staying with friends.  We know this is for the best – but I feel like a grinch.  And its so weird to go on vacation without her.   It will definitely throw a damper on this vacation.  But we are bringing all the other kids (plus some girlfriends) – and it will be good to spend time with them and Larry and decompress.

I haven’t started packing (of course)…and I have some errands to do this afternoon, but I’m sure it will all get done in time for us to leave at 6 a.m. tomorrow morning.    I’m excited about the 9.5 hour drive – I’m hoping to get the Ribby Shell done.  I’m about 1/4 way through the second Monkey sock, and I’m hoping to get it done as well next week.  I will take the yarn for the tank for Cieara  with me as well, and I’m hoping to get a good start on that.   I might also bring another sock project – so hard to tell how much knitting time I really will have.  I always bring more than I need to but you never know!

I thought long and hard about taking my laptop with me so I can stay connected – but I’ve decided that its probably a good thing to occasionally disconnect completely.  So I’m leaving it home, and I won’t be able to check email/blogs/etc. 

So have a good week, and I’ll be back with pictures (and yarn purchases?) soon! 

15 Responses to Finally Friday!

  1. chris says:

    It’s Loverly!!! And you say you’re taking a break? Bah! Break, schmake!!!!

    Yay for afternoons off! I’m sorry about Cieara – being a good parent sucks sometimes, I know. It’s only a week and she’ll be with friends.

    Someone and I’m not saying who, maybe ordered yarn for the Kauni Cardy – ahem. Good thing it takes some time to get here…..Have a great, restful, fun, relaxing time in Maine!! I’ll miss you!

  2. Laurie says:

    Have a spectacular time. Don’t forget to bring a project to make for a friend. 😉

    Taking a knitting project for Cieara should ease the guilt and she’ll probably have a great time on her “vacation”.

    The scarf is beautiful. A lucky friend is the one that receives it!

  3. rhoda says:

    you know, it’s perfectly normal to disconnect from time to time. I do it mostly with my cell phone though. For the most part, I don’t like being so connected. How did we get through life driving all over without a cell phone?? Aww, Cieara has to stay in town for summer school? 😦 That sucks but it’s for the best, right? the scarf looks great–and it only took you a month to complete! have a wonderful time!

  4. tiennie says:

    Chevron is gorgeous! Have a great time!

  5. Sherry says:

    Ahhh, vacation! I dont get mine until Oct. then its off to Florida. I love the scarf, mine is a chore to work on, too. It is very stalled. Enjoy yourself!!

  6. Irie says:

    Lovely chevron scarf!! Enjoy your holiday! 🙂

  7. Terri says:

    The scarf is lovely Jeanne. Lucky friend. Have a wonderful vacation. :o)

  8. Charli says:

    That scarf is fabulous! You’re version is much nicer than the one in the book (one of my favorite books, btw).
    And, I cannot believe that you just knit that because I almost started knitting that last night, with the amazing orange koigu I got at Purl last week. We are clearly connected by some knitting project ambilical cord.

    Have a fabulous vacation!

    Charli
    p.s. I wrote a response to your e-mail, but then I thought it was too long and boring to send. I’m a bit wacky, you see.

  9. susan says:

    Oh I really like the colors in the Chevron Scarf. Hope you have a great vacation! My new motto on the teen front is If it doesn’t kill them, it will eventually make them stronger.

  10. Linda says:

    Hope your vacation is/was fabulous! Gorgeous chevron scarf! As always, you find the loveliest colorways 🙂

  11. KnitXcorE says:

    i think i might try that with some sock yarn i dyed….. it looks awesome. have fun on vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Happytee says:

    Beautiful!!! I love the color.

  13. Chelle says:

    Beautiful lace scarf you made, I love the colors. Have a great time on vacation. Your daughter will be fine, and you’ll come back refreshed.

  14. Suzanne says:

    The scarf if beautiful!

  15. Hanne says:

    Love this scarf! Have to find the pattern! Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

