Black hole

I really don’t have anything to show today  – I think I’ve reached a total black hole with my knitting.  I’m just about on the third skein of yarn for my Ribby Shell so rationally I know I’m making progress.  But it just feels like I’ve been knitting forever on it.  And when I measure it – I always have 3 more inches to go.  

Same thing is happening on the Chevron scarf – I’ve joined in the second set of yarn – and its getting longer.  But I feel like I’ll be knitting this for the rest of my life.  And as I knit it I really wonder how this is in a “Last Minute Knitted Gifts” book – its only last minute if you anticipate that last minute by ..um..say a year. 

So I really don’t want to show you progress shots – because they look pretty much the same as last time.  So how about this?

I celebrated Canada Day on my Canadian wheel – it is a beautiful day here – cool, breezy – perfect for being outside.  Hard to believe its July.

522

This is a wool/mohair blend I bought at Maryland this year  – it is called Starry Night and I can see why!  This is for Spun Stitches and I’m very glad that there isn’t a deadline on this KAL.  I haven’t spun in a while so I was a little rusty, but once I got back into it, I really enjoyed it. 

521

It was nice to spin outside surrounded by my flower boxes….

524

I’m so happy that this work week will be broken up by a holiday – and I sort of wish I had thought about it and taken time off.  But it should be slow at work, so hopefully I’ll be able to catch up on things.  Its been a bit crazy lately – way too busy, way too many problems and way too stressful.  I’m looking forward to vacation (two more weeks!).

Have a good week – and wish me luck getting out of the black hole.

10 Responses to Black hole

  1. Opal says:

    Oh no! You’re in the blackhole of knitting! I hope you achieve some escape velocity soon. I know how disheartening it can be to be sucked into such a vortex.

    Your yarn looks fabulous. I haven’t spun in ages so I’m another one that’s glad Spun Stitches is an open ended KAL.

  2. hakucho says:

    Beautiful pictures, beautiful hand spun yarn 🙂

  3. Lucinda says:

    Your handspun looks lovely, and so do the flowers!

  4. Annie says:

    Oooh, I love your spinning! It’s beautiful. I’m another one who hasn’t touched my wheel in forever. Need to get back to that!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. 🙂

  5. Laurie says:

    Cute. Canadian wheel. 🙂

    Nice spinning job. Lovely day for doing it. Beautiful colors.

    I think you’re in yarn overload. Maybe you should give some to me and then the black hole will be lighter.

    I love the Chevron Scarf but all of that color changing every other row makes me a bit nutso.

  6. lobstah says:

    LOL, I like the Last Minute Knitted Gifts book but there is almost nothing in there that I could actually crank out at the last minute! I love the starry night wool–perfect name! Your spinning looks very nice to me (an admitted non-expert).

  7. charlizeen says:

    Thanks for the warning about scarves from Last Minute Gifts. I love that book and have 3 of it’s scarves on My List.

    Your knitting may be in a black hole, but your spinning is beautiful!! I’m hoping to spin someday. I have a drop spindle and some roving, but . . . .

    Happy Canada Day!

  8. tiennie says:

    Beautiful beautiful yarn! It’s true – there’s nothing last minute about the chevron scarf!

  9. Rebekah says:

    What beautiful spinning. A perfect way to spend part of a day.

    I hate knitting scarves, they never seem to go anywhere. I think they, for me anyway, are one of the projects I will do the least of because they seem so endless.

  10. rhoda says:

    oh, i remember when you purchased that roving! It looks just as gorgeous as it did when it was still roving! ha..what chevron?? I haven’t touched mine in @ least a week!

Leave a Reply

