Singles

The other night I decided to clean out my knitting basket – it sits next to my chair in the family room, and contains all the projects that I’m working on.  Even if I haven’t worked on them in months.  I don’t keep projects anywhere else – I’m afraid that if I put them in a location other than this, I’d forget about them, and find them years later.  But the basket tends to become a catch-all for knitting things too – needles, yarn bands….occasional dog toy.  So every now and then, I clean it out, shake out the projects, and see what I have.  And every time I’m surprised by something I’ve forgotten all about.

506

This time it was socks.  I knew about the Opal sock I just finished…and  I vaguely remembered the beaded sock.  But the other one?  I had sort of remembered it, and thought I had a little of the leg finished – and I was going to frog it!  I was shocked to pull out these three.  I’ve never had three pairs of socks going at the same time.  The worst part is – I really don’t feel like doing the mate to any of these.  I want to cast on for something else.  I’ve joined the Summer of Socks, and none of these will count because the KAL requires you to cast on for a new pair starting yesterday.  

And I’m tired of blue.   See the trend?  Its worse than this though – the vest I’m working on is blue.  So is the Spray.  And Na Craga.  And the Maple Leaves Scarf.  And the North Sea Shawl.  Its just weird – every single thing in the knitting basket is blue.  Yes, I actually do like blue – but I have no idea why its the only color I have going. 

So I am going to do the only thing I can to shake this up a bit….

509

Cast on for a non-blue project!  This is Misti Cotton – and I’m going to use it for the Ribby Shell.  After all, I don’t need socks right now…and I’m sure that someday the socks will get their mates.  Just not right now.

11 Responses to Singles

  1. ooooo, the Misti Cotton – looks soft! socks be damned – just stick a nice bar of soap in em – and shove them in a dresser drawer – that puts them to good use.

    I’ve got a lot of blue going on now too – weird!

  2. Laurie says:

    If you had a house elf, you’d be golden! A tank is perfect for this time of year. CAST ON! 🙂

  3. hakucho says:

    Gosh it looks like you have second sock syndrome. It would be a sin to leave all those beautiful socks mateless 😦

    happy knitting 🙂

  4. Arleta says:

    Those socks will be fine. They are really cute! Love your sheepy tat from the sweater post, too! 😉

  5. Opal says:

    Yay for the Ruby Shell! I go through colour obsessions. My last one was for all things green. I’m slowly phasing myself out of the green and I’m either going to go to purple or *gasp* blue!

  6. Asa says:

    Yum, beautiful Misti Cotton – very non-blue.

  7. Pixie says:

    I suggest wearing mismatched socks. Each of these is beautiful and shouldn’t be wasted just because they don’t have a mate.

  8. tiennie says:

    I think that’s why I like KALs and Project Spectrum – it breaks me out of my comfort zone in knitting.

  9. rhoda says:

    poor socks without mates–@ least they have each other and you’ll return to them one day-just not anytime soon! they’ll miss you! Oh, but that ribby shell is going to be cute! great color!

  10. stitch-dom says:

    That Misti cotton is lovely. I hadn’t seen the Ribby shell pattern before – I think that’ll be very pretty!

    When I used to quilt I would have to work hard to not make a quilt that matched my clothes! To this day, my favourite quilt is one I made out of golds and greens. I think because I was outside my comfort zone, I was able to “accept” fabrics I wasn’t sure about…the combination is great!

  11. Lucinda says:

    I’m in Summer of Socks too. I thought I recognized your name over in the sidebar! I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to work on any of my pre-SOS socks over the next 3 months.

Leave a Reply

