Lutea Lace-Shoulder Shell

I have something to show you…but before I do, let me tell you a story.  A story about a pattern.  A pattern that literally drove me to the point where I was mumbling to myself, doubting my knitterly skills, and swearing that I would only make socks from now on…  

This pattern is actually a really nice pattern – or it would be if the correct version was published in Interweave Knits…or on their errata site.  Yes, that’s right  – even the correction was wrong.   So let’s recap – first I made the wrong size, and had to rip the whole thing back…then I restarted, and when I got to the lace shoulders, I did the back left and right at least 3 times before I got it right.  I had moral support, and the correct pattern, from Pixie (who apparently is following the same path I did in making a larger size first!).  I finally figured out the pattern and clipped along finishing all the shoulders.  I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I was knitting the last stitch…it was a perfect moment.

So today, after work and physical therapy on my knee, I rushed home – I couldn’t wait to work on it.  A three needle bindoff on the shoulders, weave in some ends, and it would be done.  It has been a while since I’ve finished something more than socks and I was excited.  I had never done the three needle bindoff – but it went fine, and looked great.  Excited I tried it on…and in the interest of preserving any level of dignity (or decency!) I’ll show you the back – you can figure out how the front looked…

496

I was floored – what the hell!  I was trying to figure out how to fix it  – maybe I’d try to weave the neckline a little bit.  I was looking down at it when I saw decreases down the front – I stood there thinking “that looks so weird – why would anyone write a pattern where the dereases are in the front?”.  Hmmm…that’s so weird.  Oh.  I got it – GRRRR!  I bound off the shoulders the wrong way…instead of front to back, I did side to side. 

One hour and one foot-stamping-cursing-want-to-cry tantrum later….a little better….

497

Pattern:  Lutea Lace-Shoulder Shell, Interweave Knits Summer 07
Yarn:  Lion Brand CottonEase
Started:  June 1, 2007
Finished:  June 18, 2007 (probably would have been done at least a week ago had I not had to rip it all out and start again!)

499

I like it!  It fits well, and is very comfy.  I would recommend it – but if you are going to make it, the right lace pattern is:

Right-back shoulder
Row 1: K2 , *yo, k1, yo, k3. Rep from *, ending row with k2 instead of k3.
Note that # of sts is increased after this row.
Rows 2 & 4: P.
Row 3: K2tog, *k3, k3tog. Rep from *, ending row with k2tog instead of k3tog. This row restores original # of sts.

Left-Back shoulder
Row 1: K2, *yo, k1, yo, k3; rep from * ending k2.
Rows 2 & 4: P.
Row 3: Ssk, *k3, sssk; rep from * ending ssk

This is the first thing I’ve made with CottonEase.  I like it – and yet I think this top would have been completely different in a 100% cotton, or a cotton/silk blend.    But this is soft and light and I think I’ll like wearing it all summer.

21 Responses to Lutea Lace-Shoulder Shell

  1. Maud says:

    Looks very good! Stylish, and comfortable. And the fit is perfect.

  2. Terri says:

    It looks lovely! Your initial mistake is just something I would do. Thanks for providing the correct pattern. I was thinking about making this top too when I got my copy of the mag. I’ve saved your instructions and will put them in with the pattern so I don’t forget. It will probably be summer (here) before I get to it, so forgetting in the meantime is quite likely!

  3. tiennie says:

    Hooray for the fix. It looks great on you!

  4. Opal says:

    all that hard work really paid off. it looks fabulous on you!

  5. It’s gorgeous – DH probably like the first shoulder join tho! LOL! I just happen to have some cotton ease in my stash and since you and Pixie went through all that trouble figuring it out, I should at least help you out and make sure it’s all ok now? Right?

    The hair looks great too!

  6. lobstah says:

    It is gorgeous! I have to apologize for getting quite the laugh out of your seaming error (sorry). I probably would have done the same thing and been like, “what the hell??” Glad you got it all straightened out in the end.

  7. Laurie says:

    The final product is very pretty! The best way to learn is to make some mistakes. So you’re a Master Knitter now! 🙂

    p.s. pictures in front of windows mean reflections…I’m just sayin’.

  8. I did this one too, and figured out the error right away, although I added on a stitch just to make it even. Yours looks great, and the cotton ease is a good choice. I did mine in Cotton Fleece.

  9. Sherry says:

    Pretty, pretty, but there is no way I am making it, I think its cursed! 🙂

  10. Ina says:

    Very pretty! I like yours better than the one in the magazine.

  11. rhoda says:

    after all that and it’s finally done. Yay!! I have to tell you, when I saw that first pic I thought..wow, that’s a really plunging neckline! lol. I did the same thing recently too–I bound off the handles on my market bag side to side. I guess it happens to us all. I’m SO glad that you were able to figure out this pattern and it looks great on you! 😉

  12. Wanda says:

    It’s beautiful! Love how it turned out. Sorry you had such a problem with the pattern, but thanks for forging ahead and correcting the corrections for us!

  13. Chriss says:

    Very nice job! I was looking at the Lion Brand CottonEase yesterday but I hesitated to buy it. I like their Woolease but it’s hard to find a nice cotton blend. Now that I’ve seen it knit up I may try it.

  14. Pixie says:

    Great job. I apologize for laughing at the first photo where everything went all wonky with the bind-off….but I think we’ve all made this kind of knitty goofs haven’t we?

    Anyway, the finished project looks great. I recast on yesterday after ripping out version 1. My goal is to be wearing a smaller and better finished version by this time next week!

  15. hakucho says:

    I’m so glad you figured it all out because you did a beautiful job on it…I love it…who wouldn’t?

  16. stitch-dom says:

    lovely – and lovely on you! and definitely worth every foot stomping tantrum it caused. (note to self – do not knit lutea shell)

  17. Jen says:

    Jeanne, your hard work (and mighty perseverance) really paid off. It looks great and great on you.

    BTW, it’s Jen (your SOS blog reader) saying hey!

  18. Lee says:

    You had company–I have just completed two of the Lutea shells in cotton-ease…and shared your frustration with the error in the correction! Before the correction was posted, I had cast on scrap yarn and was trying to puzzle out, looking at the pix and pattern, where the error in the lace pattern was. I had a quick and polite response from Interweave, but alas, their correction still has the error you noted!

    Your top looks great! I’m very pleased with mine, now that they are done. I’ve used cotton-ease before and it’s held up nicely for me with much less sagging than pure cotton.

  19. charlizeen says:

    OMG! Thank you so much for posting this. And you Lutea looks beautiful!!!

    I’ve been knitting shawls for the last 7 months because I’m so scared of knitting a garment for myself. I am so glad I thought to google it.

    By the way, did you find the sizing instructions helpful? I mean, was it just a mistake that caused you to make the wrong size the first time. My bust measures at 40″ so, because of the sizing note I’m making the 40″ size (although I think it may be too big elsewhere, but I suppose I’m supposed to be happy about that, right?) If mine turns out half as well as yours did I will be quite pleased.

    Thanks again!

  20. connie says:

    I found you looking for the correction to the correction to the Lutea pattern. How frustrating! and why can’t they fix it on the website? I also tried the “adding on a stich” like Kim but it still didn’t look right to me. It looks lovely on you, though, and now I can finish mine!

  21. PixieM says:

    I was looking back through my Ravelry projects and it made me remember trying to sort this pattern out, so I thought I’d revisit your blog. 🙂 Pixie

Leave a Reply

