Something new

I woke up at 4:30 today – had so much work to do, and wanted to get things done.   Because I was doing summer hours today – and I had plans!  The Wooly Lamb had sent me a coupon (20% off!), and since I didn’t get yarn for the Chinese Lace pullover when I was in Philadelphia, I thought I’d go and see what I could find.  I met Chris, and started by stopping for lunch at Cracker Barrel (how can you not love that place?). 

I think it was a succesful mini yarn crawl….

Although I really intended to do the next Chevron Scarf from my stash…I just couldn’t resist this Claudia Handpaint

482

and I found the perfect yarn for the Chinese Lace pullover…this is actually a blue/teal/navy type color…but so beautiful.  I’ve never used Silky Wool before, but I am really looking forward to using it.  I am trying to use Chris’ method of project management – no more than one of each type at a time (so one sweater, one shawl, one socks, etc).  Since I have 3 sweaters, two socks, one shawl and one scarf…I don’t think I’m there yet!

484

After that, we went back to Chris’ house where I got to see her beautiful new fiber room….and I did something new….

481

How cool is this?  Chris showed me how to crochet – and I have to say she really is a good teacher .  She only made fun of me once or twice!   It’s a bit uneven, and it doesn’t feel comfortable at all (how weird is it to do this on one needle?), and I keep on trying to cast on when I turn the rows…but I’m crocheting.  And you know, I like it.   Its sort of fun.  I can’t imagine how some of the other things are done, but I have single and double crochet down (sort of)…I may just get wild this weekend, and try some other stitches from the book I bought.    There is a pattern for a very pretty shawl that I’d like to try – but I think its a bit much for me.  I’m sort of amazed at all the crochet sites online – I don’t know, I guess I am so focused on knitting I never really thought about what was out there for crochet – but there are amazing patterns, CAL’s, groups, blogs.  How exciting! So thanks to Chris for helping me with a new obsession!

I’m still working on the Lutea shell  – I was hoping to get Chris’ help on it since I just can’t get the shoulders right, but I was totally distracted by the crochet thing.  I’ll try to work on it tomorrow morning – I don’t know what I”m doing wrong but I just can’t get the pattern right.    I hate frogging things over and over – so hopefully tomorrow things will go better.  Or maybe I should frog it – and crochet something with the yarn!

Have a great Saturday!

11 Responses to Something new

  1. chris says:

    You’re a good student! And I had a great time – the crochet is looking nice!!! Wait till Beth see’s it!

    And thanks for reminding me of my project management plan (pmp) – sigh – I guess I have to wait to cast on with that Sea Silk…..

  2. Laurie says:

    Well, holy moley. You guys must have waited for me to leave the Lamb before you went in!

    Nice crocheting job.

  3. Sherry says:

    Wow, that Claudia’s is going to make a beautiful chevron!!! I like the silky wool, too, and crocheting along with the spinning of big wool fleeces? You are going to have one busy summer! 🙂

  4. tiennie says:

    Hooray for learning something new! I’m hopeless at crochet.

  5. Sarah says:

    That’ll be such a cute chevron scarf! You’ll love the Silky Wool — it’s a treat to knit with. 🙂

  6. Terri says:

    That new yarn is gorgeous. I wouldn’t have been able to resist either!

  7. hakucho says:

    Your Claudia Handpainted yarn is to die for…I love those colors.
    Good for you taking to crochet so quickly. Altough I do crochet and have done so for a very long tome…my first love is knitting, BUT knowing crochet really comes in handy.

    Happy knitting AND crocheting 🙂

  8. Opal says:

    Yay! You learned how to crochet! Now you can ripple. 😉

    Love the yarn you bought. Such delicious colours.

  9. susan says:

    I’m a sucker for Claudia Handpainted. Crochet? You will enjoy it. I actually crocheted as a child before I learned to knit. Your sample look great!

  10. stitch-dom says:

    Gorgeous yarn Jeanne – a successful crawl indeed! I’m itching to cast on too…or spin…or knit…or maybe take up crochet (cause now that you are doing it…it seems totally cool to me!!!)

  11. rhoda says:

    your chevron is going to be lovely! great colors. 🙂 congrats on learning how to crochet too!!

Leave a Reply

