Summer Hours

I am a complainer.  I really am – I complain a lot (and I seemed to have passed this down to Dan – who is also a serious complainer).  So I complain about work to anyone who will listen.   Its not that I don’t like my job – its just that I like to complain.   You know, the people, the overwhelming number of projects, the commute…

But today I really can’t complain.  No, really.  Because today was the first time that I did summer hours.   What’s that?  You don’t know what summer hours is?  Summer hours….ahhh….if I work an extra hour a day for 4 days (which is no problem since I usually work more than 8 hours anyway) I only work half day on Friday.  Nice eh?  I don’t think I’ll be able to do this every week this summer, but I did it this week.  So at 12, I closed my laptop, put away the phone, and went to the mall with Larry.  How nice is that?  They told me about this last fall when I interviewed and I thought it was sort of nice.  But today I thought it was really nice.  This week was so busy and stressful that it was just heavenly to disconnect and start to relax. 

I had to go to the mall to buy sneakers.  I’m going to Philadelphia tomorrow with my knitting group on a yarn crawl.  I can’t wait  – we are going to Rosie’s, Loop and Sophie’s.  I’ve been to Rosie’s but not the other two.  There are 8 of us going, so it will be a lot of fun – but lots of walking.  In the past, I have been known to wear horrible shoes whenever I had to walk a lot (I wore flip flops to Disneyworld and by the third day could barely walk), so I’ am finally trying to be smarter.  Plus the whole knee thing.  So I decided that I’d go and buy a new pair of shoes so that I would not slow anyone else down…. 

463

Cute eh?  I just couldn’t decide so I bought both….I really like both…but not sure which ones to wear.  I have to admit – I really like shoes – I can’t remember the last time I went shoe shopping and only bought a pair.  Its not unusual for me to forget what I have and I think it drives Larry crazy to hear me say “oh, I forgot I had these…”.  (He just doesn’t get this – he has a pair of black, brown, sneakers and golf shoes – what more does anyone need?) Poor guy – between the shoes and the yarn, our bedroom is slowly being taken over.

 467

I spent the rest of the afternoon napping (and I dreamt about my new sneaks!) and knitting.  It was pretty hot out on the deck – 91 degrees today (Farenheit).  But it was nice and relaxing and my heart finally stopped racing as I let the deadlines, deliverables, meetings, reminders go….and I sat and knit and drank coffee and thought about what shoes to wear….

466

I think I’ll wear these….do you see the booboo?  That’s from wearing a new pair of sandals I bought in Florida to the mall.    See?  Always wear the wrong shoes to the wrong thing…but not tomorrow!  I love these – next time you are at the mall, try them on. 

I listened to a new podcast today – I didn’t get to finish it but I liked what I heard so far…its Knitters Uncensored.  I’ve noticed a bunch of new podcasts, and I’ve been trying to listen my way through them.  Anyone have recommendations?

Have a great Saturday!

12 Responses to Summer Hours

  1. Opal says:

    Oh that booboo looks so sore! Ouchie! I love your new sneaks! They are too cute for words. Have a great time with Chris tomorrow. I wish I could be there with the two of you.

  2. hakucho says:

    Wondeful new sneaks…very sylish 🙂

  3. They are just too darn cute – I’ll have to shop for some myself – i have big clunkin sneaks right now. Not nearly as stylin as yours!! See you in the morning!

  4. Laurie says:

    Where’s the picture of you wearing the Sketchers? Both pair are great! Looks like I need to head to the mall.

    See you tomorrow!

  5. tiennie says:

    Summer hours sounds wonderful. Cute sneaks!

    It also sounds like you’re doing a lot better now (after surgery).

  6. stitch-dom says:

    I’m enjoying the Knitpicks podcast WAY more than I thought I would..I’ll check out Uncensored too…makes bus commute fly right by!

    Those sneaks are super cute…and what is the pretty white knitting????

  7. Chrissy says:

    Cute shoes! I can see why you coudn’t choose!

  8. Irie says:

    i love the socks in the city podcast – about 30 min episodes about socks socks and … socks 🙂

  9. kitkatknit says:

    Where I work we can flex our hours as long as we are an independent contributer/project manager etc. So for the past couple of years I’ve tried to work 4-10’s. it always ends up being 4 9.7 or 9.8’s but at least I am off by about 8:15 am on Fridays!!

  10. Asa says:

    Snazzy shoes and they look comfortable too! Hope you have had a great weekend!

  11. susan says:

    Ooooh I have a blister as I write this from wearing the wrong sneaks while walking. I love those shoes! Just downloaded the same podcast but haven’t had a chance to listen yet.

  12. knitxcore says:

    cute shoes! knitter’s uncensored was cute. I wish we had “summer hours”.

Leave a Reply

