Secret

Thanks for all the great comments on my sizing issues – I’ve restarted the Lutea Shell, and I’m am increasing after the waist decreases, so I’m hopeful I’ll get back to the fun shoulder lace part by the end of the week.  Unfortunately, I didn’t see the comment about using the lace again to start until after I started it again; I did a couple of rows of garter.  Not as nice as the lace, but it works – no more rolling.

I went back to work today – and I am now sitting with an ice bag on the knee.  Long day…but good to be back in the routine.   

Diva Knitting recently had a contest on her blog – I didn’t enter – I always feel like a schmoe entering in contests when I’ve never commented on a blog..anyway, she apparently had a lot of commenters for it, and she made a OPML file of all the blogs.  I imported it into my Bloglines and picked up some really nice new blogs to read.  I haven’t gone through them all, but I’m enjoying it  – always nice to see what people are doing, eh?   So if you use Bloglines, check it out!

OK, I have a secret to tell.  I’ve been hiding this one for a while.  I’m not sure how to say it.  I mean, as a knitter, there are just certain things that you just can’t do.  Especially a blogging knitter.  Doesn’t it seem like there is some sort of code out there?   Or an expectation that you use the “right” kind of yarn?   And the “right” kind of pattern?  All natural fibers of course (hold on while I hide the cotton/acrylic blend…).   

So I’ve been hiding a terrible secret…and I really think I need to share it.  Ready?  Can you come a bit closer?  I don’t want to say this too loudly…

451

I really like self-patterning sock yarn.  Yes, I know.  Its lame.  Its so two years ago.  Its so…not Knitter.  Where is the handdyed-all natural-one-of-a-kind yarn?  Actually, that’s in the stash.  And I do like it.  But self-patterning is like Macaroni and Cheese.   Like a comfy sweatshirt (or handmade socks!).  Its just simple.  And satisfying.  And sometimes when my life is complicated, I need uncomplicated knitting.   I have a bit of this type of yarn in the stash…but I constantly fight the urge to buy more.  And I decided that I’m going to admit to this addiction, and just buy it from now on!  So how about this?  Or thisThis?

454
So the sock is the Opal yarn that Donyale sent me – not sure of the colorway, but I really do like it.   And you know what else I like?  I do like informal swaps….sort of fun to just swap yarn with someone half way around the world for no real reason other than you have yarn that you want to send to someone else.

Anyone want to do a self-patterning yarn swap? 

452

Ruby wants to know if someone wants to do a dog toy swap!

15 Responses to Secret

  1. Laurie says:

    Ice that knee! Get it ready for Saturday.

    Don’t tell Jane it’s not Knitterly to use self patterning yarn! LOL.
    And you’re doing a cable thing with it, as well. That makes it SO MUCH MORE!

    Wes says he’ll swap with Ruby. He doesn’t know he’s not a dog. Sad… really.

  2. Asa says:

    There is no shame in self-patterning yarn! Glad to hear you are well enough to get back to work – although I hope you were taking it easy.

  3. Nicola says:

    You know I’ll always trade yarn, chocolate or whatever with you Jeanne. I’m so far behind with what’s ‘cool’ in knitting that I have barely started with the self-patterning yarn – current favourite is GarnStudio Fabel for it’s ability to produce co-ordinated stripes!

  4. chris says:

    What’s wrong with Self Patterning yarn? (looks around wildly) What do you mean? I like it. It’s good for a quick fix when you don’t feel like a pattern. Two years ago? What? It’s not popular now?? I’ll swap ya – but then I’m gonna post the hell out of it, with a blog post title of LOOKY WHAT JEANNE KNITS WITH and the content will start with – CAN YOU BELIEVE SHE USES THIS STUFF????????

    I like my SPY. (self patterning yarn)

  5. kitkatknit says:

    Or a Ruby to Ruby toy swap!!! My Ruby the Cat says it would be fun to send toys to Ruby the Dog.

  6. stitch-dom says:

    I must have totally missed the memo about self-patterning sock yarn being out. Mind you, my jacket has…sssshhhh…shoulder pads but I swear just little ones. I may not be someone you want to use as a personal style guru. Patterning sock yarn is just too much fun to knit! For someone like me who prefers no nonsense stockinette stitch bus knitting, the self-patterning yarn plus Ipod save what little sanity I have left when mashed into the window seat on a long ride.

    BTW…dyeing self-patterning sock yarn HAS to be in. Doesn’t it?

  7. Ashley says:

    Self striping is my all time favorite. I have an addiction to it as well… hehe.

  8. Opal says:

    How can I say that Opal yarn is lame? That would be self-defeating. Don’t you think? I also didn’t get the memo that self-patterning yarn was on the down trend. So don’t beat yourself up over loving it! And did you know that the Jaywalker pattern looks really cool with self-patterning yarn?

  9. tiennie says:

    Shh…it’s OK. I kinda like it too!

  10. Rebekah says:

    I love self-patterning sock yarn! I too am addicted to it.

    Abner would love a dog toy swap 🙂

  11. hakucho says:

    I love all self patterning and variegated yarns…they are so much fun to knit with…you never quite know what you will end up with!

  12. donyale says:

    Glad you like it! it’s not a wicked secret – I have knit a few pairs of socks and funny enough the ones I seem to reach for are the self patterning ones.

    ( I am thinking it was Opal Prisima 1194 or something similar.)

    BTW – I LOVED our informal swap – and agree that is the way to go.

  13. rhoda says:

    you’re so funny! I like self-patterning yarn too. It’s always exciting to see what color is going to knit up next. 🙂

  14. OzKnitter says:

    I’m up for an informal sock yarn swap. I usually can’t resist self-striping sock yarn either LOL.

  15. Pixie says:

    Hi! I found your blog while googling “Lutea Lace Shell” and saw that you had to pull out part of your project. I just started working on this, what issue did you encounter?

    Cute shoes BTW!

Leave a Reply

