Knitting ADD

I originally was going to go back to work yesterday and work from home today and tomorrow – but I didn’t.  I took yesterday off, and worked from home today.  So yesterday, I didn’t do much other than a) sit b) whine to Larry and c) knit.  But ….I didn’t work on any of my current projects….instead, I worked on something I started the night before.

I think I can blame Chris for this one – she mentioned that she was working on Josephine from the summer Interweave Knits.  I  didn’t know what it looked like, so I pulled out my copy and looked it up.  Very cute.  I flipped through again, and saw the Lutea Lace-Shoulder Shell by Angela Hahn (check out her site – I really like the Chinese Lace pullover don’t you?).  I really liked the pattern when I first got the magazine, but forgot about it.  I started reading it – and looked up the yarn – worsted weight..hmm…I had that CottonEase…hmmmm

Next thing you know – 11 inches of stockinette.  I’m just about at the point of separating it for the front and back.  Its a great pattern (no seams!), but there is errata for it.
443

I hope that since I’m stuck home this weekend that perhaps I’ll actually finish it!  Wouldn’t that be amazing?

I mentioned that I joined the Spun Stitches KAL – I’m spinning up roving I bought at Maryland Sheep and Wool from Tintagel Farm.  Its 50% wool, 50% mohair – I don’t think I’ve spun mohair before so I’m having fun (and yes – I did spin for about 20 minutes today before my knee started to ache – I think its good therapy!).  This picture just doesn’t do it justice – its called Starry Night and its dark blue, yellow and teal.  Very pretty. 

438

I haven’t decided on a shawl pattern yet – I’ll have to see how it looks when I’m done spinning.  I have a pound of it so I’ll be spinning a while!

444

So that’s my weekend – knitting, some spinning, some hobbling……I hope to have a finished top to show by the end of it!

7 Responses to Knitting ADD

  1. That is a cute top and I had it in my “queue”, too!! Wow, you have a lot done – and spinning too! Just be careful you don’t over do it!

  2. Opal says:

    What a cute top and you’ve already accomplished so much. Starry Night is really spinning up into a pretty yarn. Are you going to knit it as a single or are you going to 2-ply it?

  3. Arleta says:

    A little time off can be good. Nice knitting!

  4. hakucho says:

    I love the yarn you’re spinning! Spinning sounds like so much fun 🙂

  5. HollyEQQ says:

    That yarn is beautiful!! I can’t wait to see what you make from it.
    Holly

  6. rhoda says:

    wow, the starry night roving is gorgeous!! Can’t wait to see it all spun and knitted up! hope you can finish your lutea!

  7. Terri says:

    Well one good thing about recouperating – you have a good excuse to sit and knit. :o) Not that you need one right? Looking forward to the finished photos. :o)

Leave a Reply

