Touched

I’m really touched at all the emails and comments I got about my surgery yesterday – it was very nice and helped me get through a long and trying day.  I had to wait about two hours at the hospital before my surgery…and then it went very fast.  I woke up in recovery, and they gave me pain medication.  I remember they asked me if it was working, and I said that it still hurt.  They offered me morphine….but I turned that down – and asked for coffee! 

When I got back to the room, they finally did bring me a cup of coffee.  It was the best I’ve ever had but Larry tasted it and said it was pretty bad so we think it was the drugs).  I recovered fairly quickly, and was back home by 6:00. 

437

Do you think its a bad sign that people from work send you flowers that look like a drink?  Maybe one too many jokes about drinking on the weekend?

I had a pretty crappy night, but I’m feeling better today.  I called the doctor, though, to schedule my follow up visit and couldn’t get in before next Friday – and they don’t want me to work until then.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do – I really need to get back to work by Monday.  Lots of things going on there, and I really don’t want to mess up my projects by not being in.  I was pretty surprised as the doctor originally told me to just take this week off…and that it would be fine after that.  Larry suggested staying home until next Wednesday, and then seeing how it was then (a week after).  Anyone have knee surgery and any experience with this?

On to knitting…

I’m still clipping along on the shawl – I messed up one row, but immediately found the mistake and fixed it.  I’m not sure that the row gauge is correct, but I can always add more to make it long enough. 

Do you ever look at Elann?  How about this?  I’m thinking about Mallard and/or Fiddlehead Green….just need to figure out how much to buy for a sweater. 

I also joined a new KAL today – Spun Stitches – the premise is that you spin something and make a shawl by the end of the summer.  I need a push to spin some of my roving and actually use it.  I usually just put it in the stash and it just sits there.  I’ve only used my handspun once for socks, so using it for a shawl will be exciting!

OK, just took a pill so I better sign off before I doze off….

13 Responses to Touched

  1. Terri says:

    Glad you’re home again and the surgery went well. The flowers are fun. Bet they gave you a smile when you saw them. The Mallard is very pretty – sort of Peacock to me though. Personally my favourite is the Lichen, but I love all these earthy colours. Whatever you choose will be lovely. :o)

  2. Glad you’re feeling better today. I think the work flowers are very practical – you can certainly use the glass after the flowers wilt….you know, for orange juice or some other healthy beverage!!!

  3. Opal says:

    I’m so glad you’re recovering so well. I love the presentation of those flowers! I love both the Mallard and the Fiddlehead Green, so I’m no help there.

    Good to see you joined Spun Stitches! It should be a blast!

  4. Maud says:

    Glad you’re recovering! And it doesn’t matter the coffe tastes bad for other people, if it tastes like heaven for you!

  5. Monika says:

    HeHe … do your co-workers know you? That’s a funny bunch of flowers, such a nice idea!
    I’ve used the Wool/Alpaca yarn from elann and loved it. It felts quite easily, but I loved knitting with it. I made a warm shawl for my grandma and a hat. The hat was too big, after washing it got huge, so I tried felting it. It did, but all the stitch patterns couldn’t be seen anymore. Still found someones head to keep warm with it.
    I did not look at Etsy for roving so far. I want huge amounts at low prizes! ;o) Wish a speedy recovery. Mybe with crutches you could go in to work when you must.

  6. Laurie says:

    At least work thought of you enough to send you flowers!

    Coffee…the new painkiller. hee hee

    Elann and I are really close friends. They send me cards for my birthday! You’ll look great in either color…why not buy both?

  7. tiennie says:

    Glad everything went well and I hope that you’re feeling much better. Rest, knit, rest, knit some more….

  8. LindaB says:

    Sooo glad you were able to squeeze in your repair work! With all the places you visit you need strong knees. So relax already on your beautiful deck, the work will wait.

  9. rhoda says:

    hopefully you’ll be okay by next Wednesday..but with all that time off, you can just knit, knit, and knit some more. 🙂

  10. hakucho says:

    Gee, I am behind….didn’t know you were having knee surgery…I would have prayed for you if I knew. Glad you are doing well. Hope it won’t be long before you are completely recovered.
    In the mean time looks like you’ll be doing lots of knitting:)

  11. Arleta says:

    Good to hear that you’re feeling better. Listen to your doc, and don’t go back to work too soon! 🙂

  12. stitch-dom says:

    Jeanne – I so glad to hear that everything went smoothly and you are feeling better! Sorry I have been awol for a few days (work is a bummer!!) – your knitting looks terrific (loving the shawl).

  13. knitxcore says:

    I’m playing catch up on everyone’s blogs…. glad to see everything went well, hope you’re feeling good.

Leave a Reply

