Lazy Sundays…

422

I really had a wonderful day yesterday.  Larry and I went to the plant place, and bought plants for the vegetable garden (tomatoes, a bunch of hot peppers, zucchni, yellow squash and watermelon) and flowers for the deck.  We also bought two new trees – a Weeping Cherry and a Flowering Pear – our yard is mostly grass, and we are slowly trying to plant trees.    After that I went to lunch with Chris and Laurie, and then had knitting group.  I think the group is finally starting to come together and move from strangers getting together to knit to a group of friends.  I had a great time – we are going to Philadelphia in few weeks to check out yarn stores, and I think its going to be a lot of fun!

But today….I don’t think there is anything better than a beautiful Sunday on a long holiday weekend.  We started by going out to breakfast for pancakes, and grocery shopping.  When we got home, I potted my plants, and Larry finished putting up the gazebo…and now I have the perfect summer knitting spot…

415

I love it – we just bought the gazebo and furniture this year, and they are wonderful.  Sitting out there is so peaceful and relaxing that I just don’t want to be anywhere else.  We hadn’t used the deck too much in the past – it’s just unbearable in the afternoon because there isn’t any shade and it gets all the afternoon sun.  But the gazebo seems to be working, and I’m going to love spending time out there.

425

To go with my beautiful new knitting spot, I started a new project today as well.  Its the North Sea Shawl from Folk Shawls.  The yarn is Shimmer from KnitPicks….I don’t think it looks like the North Sea…but it does look like the Carribbean Sea so I think I’ll rename it to that!  I love the yarn already, and I think its going to be a good fit for the pattern. 

421

I hope you are having a wonderful Sunday wherever you are too!

13 Responses to Lazy Sundays…

  1. OMG – the deck just looks so wonderful!!! That really is going to be a nice place for you to spend a lot of time! Beautiful flowers, too!

  2. Sherry says:

    Oh, I love your deck and gazebo!!! It looks like you have a pool,too. LUCKY!! I have had my gazebo for 3 years now and I love it!! So nice to knit under. But my family bought me a three person canopied swing for Mothers Day and I cant seem to get out of it!!

  3. Opal says:

    You’re gazebo is too prefect! How I wish I could spend some time with you there with some knitting and our wheels. *wistful sigh*

    I think your shawl mojo is coming around, it looks beautiful! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you so that nasty knitting imps of mischief don’t get into your project!

  4. elanknits says:

    We have a gazebo like that & I’ve loved it, so much that we’re building a peramnent structure & passing the gazebo on to friends. Your space looks lovely.

  5. susan says:

    Ok that knitting spot looks like it came right out of a magazine! It just looks so inviting.

  6. hakucho says:

    I agree… you now have the perfect knitting spot…lucky you! Your flower photos are delightful 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  7. Laurie says:

    Your photos are beautiful and so is the deck. Can’t wait to try it out. 🙂

    It made me feel peaceful just reading your post.

    I hope today is just as lazy and calm.

  8. knitxcore says:

    the gazebo looks fab, and the flowers are beautiful. I’d still be afraid to sit outside, the mosquitoes love me.

  9. Terri says:

    The gazebo looks very inviting! What a lovely spot to while away a hot afternoon. Lucky you. Love that yarn too. Gorgeous.

  10. tiennie says:

    Sounds lovely! Move over and make room for me….

  11. Arleta says:

    Great knitting spot! Lucky you. Your shawl is going to look great, too, I bet!

  12. Monika says:

    Beautiful place on your deck. We have the same problem with the sun shining on ours from morining til about 6 PM, way to hot to sit and relax. Your flower pictures are beautiful and the Fresia? look unreal. Your shawl looks so fresh and cool (can you tell I’m feeling the hot right now?).

  13. rhoda says:

    the gazebo is gorgeous! what an awesome place to get to knit in. I’ve got that same colorway of shimmer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

