Travel knitting

Tomorrow Larry and I leave for Florida…..I’m going to a conference next week – when I found out I was going, we looked at where it was and thought it would be nice to go together.  So we’ll leave tomorrow, have Sunday and Monday to do things together, and then Tuesday and Wednesday Larry will golf while I’m at the conference.    The resort looks pretty amazing…and I totally admit that this is a boondoggle.  I mean, yes, I’ll go to the conference (and I’m actually looking forward to it)…but I probably wouldn’t have gone had this been in a less …attractive location.    But sometimes that is just a perk of working, and I’m ok with taking advantage of it!  And I will have my Blackberry with me, so its not all fun…..

We are looking forward to spending Sunday at the beach….and we are going to play the rest by ear.   I don’t think I’ll be scoping out yarn stores…but who knows!  I’ve never been in this part of Florida, so it will just be nice to explore – and relax.  Oh, yeah, and of course, learn new things at the conference……

I realized that I needed something to knit on the plane….and I just didn’t want to deal with any of my current projects.  So I thought socks would be nice….and I found a kit that I had purchased two years or so ago from Wool Gatherers.  The yarn is Lorna’s Laces…and I think its my favorite sock yarn.  I really love the way it feels and the way it looks….
376

Pretty cool, eh?  The heel and toe are done in a dark blue….but it has beads! 

377

I just started this last night, and I’m already at picking up the gusset.  I forced myself to put it down so I don’t finish it before I leave in the morning.  I think that I may just come home from my mini-break (oh, sorry, very serious work conference) with a finished pair of socks!

We are leaving fairly early tomorrow morning, and I won’t be back until Wednesday night.  I hope everyone has a nice weekend, and that you aren’t too jealous of my boondoggle! 

13 Responses to Travel knitting

  1. Opal says:

    Beautiful socks! I just love the way the beads look. Have a great time next week.

  2. tiennie says:

    Have a great time! The socks look good.

  3. chris says:

    OH, I have to admit, I am a little jealous of your Boondoggle. I just want to be able to say “Boondoggle”. I hope you have a great time, use the sunscreen and those socks will fit me perfectly – thanks!

  4. Sherry says:

    Very jealous here, about the trip and the socks! Those are sooo pretty!!

  5. Bon Voyage!

    You’ll probably have the socks done before you touch the runway in FL.

    But I’m SURE you won’t have any time to knit while doing all of the business.

    Have the decency to remove the sand from your hair before any meetings, ok? 😀

  6. hakucho says:

    Socks with beads…just lovely!

    Have a wonderful and safe trip. Enjoy 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  7. stitch-dom says:

    Have a great time! Those socks look like a fun knit. Also – thanks for the tag…I’m plenty wierd! (just not sure what I want to admit). BTW…I didn’t comment on your last post but those laceweight singles are gorgeous! well done!

  8. rhoda says:

    the resort looks awesome and I, too, am jealous of this boondoogle (cool word by the way!) of yours–just because the resort looks so amazing! Despite the work that you’ll have to do, I’m sure there’ll be plenty of time for playing. 🙂 the sock looks really cool too!

  9. susan says:

    Nice resort! Have a great time. I’m leaving for one of these work “conferences” in 2 weeks. At first I was going to decline but then saw the close proximity to the hotel of a couple of yarn shops and said….sure I’ll go. Beautiful socks. I have yet to try beading.

  10. Terri says:

    The beading is really pretty! Hope you had a nice weekend! It’s already Monday here and I’m back into the hard slog. :o/

  11. Asa says:

    Love the beads. Have a great trip! Don’t work to hard, tee hee.

  12. Rebekah says:

    Well hope you have a wonderful trip! florida is usually nice under any circumstances.

  13. knitxcore says:

    a beaded sock? how very awesome.

Leave a Reply

