Back to basics

I had a wonderful Mother’s Day – I went to my Jenny Craig appointment and somehow managed to lose 2 pounds last week.  I came home and vegged completely.  Lazy doesn’t even begin to describe it.  The kids all gave me wonderful gifts, and Larry gave me tickets to a weekend in NY in June to see a Broadway show.   I ended the day with chicken pizza made by Larry and apple crisp made by Cieara.  I was touched at the thoughtfulness of my family – just really a wonderful day.

Which totally made me feel better about what happened with my lace.  I started the pattern, as you saw, and ….messed up.  Frogged it.  Started again.  Messed up.  Frogged it.  I did this three times, and finally got it going.  And that’s when I realized – I just didn’t like it.  I don’t think I like Schaeffer Anne for shawls.  So I rummaged in the stash, but just couldn’t anything that I wanted to knit.  I’d find a pattern, but not the yarn.  Or the yarn and not the pattern.  I just feel like I’m drifting and don’t have a plan. 

Which is making me go back to basic knitting.  I’ve been doing this for the last couple of weeks….

337

Yep, knitting dishcloths.  Something so soothing about it, eh? 

360

I’ve made four so far – and I think I’m done for a while, but I do enjoy the mindlessness of it sometimes.  Its the perfect anidote to knitting that isn’t going well. 

So the lace bug is still screaming at me to knit something….but I just can’t figure out what.  I hope something comes to me soon – do you know how much laceweight yarn I have?

14 Responses to Back to basics

  1. chris says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend – congrats on the 2 lbs! You’re family did a great job of treating you like the great Mom you are! And I hope you discover the perfect combination of yarn and pattern – just keep looking!

  2. tiennie says:

    Glad you had a great time! Congrats on the 2 lbs too!

  3. Chrissy says:

    It doesn’t matter how many dishcloths I see, I never get tired of seeing them. Yours look great.

  4. Arleta says:

    Yay for a great Mother’s Day!

    I’ve been wanting to knit some lace or some socks, but for some strange reason I just knit 13 dishcloths! I think I’m a little obsessed.

  5. Nothing wrong with a little lazy! 2 lbs. Whoo Hoo!

    Dish cloths look nice. Doesn’t matter what kind of knitting you do, as long as you’re knitting. Inspiration will hit you eventually.

    Chicken pizza and apple crisp. YUM.

  6. lobstah says:

    I’ve been feeling the lace itch too–but don’t have any lace yarn in the stash or any idea what pattern what I want to do–so I guess I’m not much help. I’ll probably wait until fall to start any lace!

  7. knitxcore says:

    the colors on that second one are soooo fun.

  8. Asa says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend – and what great presents you received. How about this lacey project: http://knitty.com/ISSUEspring05/PATTbranchingout.html. I’m going to make this scarf for my mom, once I have finished off some WIPs.

  9. Sherry says:

    Yay for 2 lbs and yay for dishcloths!! I love ’em, something useful and fulfilling!!

  10. Rebekah says:

    Sounds like a great day, even despite the lace fiasco or is it annoyance.

  11. Opal says:

    I’m so happy that you had such a wonderful Mother’s Day. What a thoughtful family you have. Those dishcloths are wonderful! The colours are so vibrant!

    I’ll be making sacrifices to the knitting goddesses for the return of your lace mojo.

  12. rhoda says:

    isn’t it funny the calmness that comes with knitting dishcloths? Yours look great by the way. I hope something lacey finds its way to you–pattern AND yarn!

  13. hakucho says:

    I so love your DW and ball band cloth. Gorgeous colors. There is nothing better to knit to cleanse your knitting palate so to speak. Watch out though…you might get hooked 😉

    happy knitting 🙂

  14. clumberknits says:

    Congrats on your 2lb. loss. I really need to make one of those dischloths!!

    But I’m really coming over to TAG YOU for the latest Meme that’s making the rounds. See my blog for details!

Leave a Reply

