Dreaming

I woke up this morning and lay there listening to the sounds of early morning.   Something had woken me up, but I couldn’t figure out what.  So I listened – and heard birds and the sound of Saturday – sort of hushed silence so early.   But nothing that would have woken me up.  I was starting to doze off again but I woke up again fully.  What was it?  Something was hovering around the edges of my mind.  I had forgotten something?  No.  Needed to do something?  That was it – I needed to do something, but what was it…?

It was lace.  My mind kept on coming back to where it was when I fell asleep last night.  Lace knitting.  I have been wanting to knit a shawl, but haven’t been able to figure out what to knit.  Too many choices in patterns.  Too many choices in yarns.  So I’ve been waffling for weeks….and buying more laceweight yarn.  Which didn’t help.

So this morning, I lay in bed, listening to the sounds and thinking about lace.  And I made a decision.  I would knit Seraphim, no Hidcote….well….maybe I would start with the yarn – silk?  wool?  silk/wool?…finally I made a decision  – I would pick something this morning and cast on. 

And I did.

361

I choose the Spring Things shawl  – its a small shawl, but I like the pattern, and have seen them around the blogsphere (Opal made a really gorgeous one) and they are beautiful.  Plus its small so its not a huge committment for me.    The pattern calls for Karabella Lace Mohair which I thought was a laceweight, but according to Yarndex its fingering.   So I rummaged through the stash, and came up with Schaeffer Anne – the yardage is fine and I think it will be pretty – its a varigated blue/green.   And my inner voice that is screaming “lace” is quiet at last.

364

Andrew flew in Thursday night for a fast visit.  Yesterday was his girlfriend’s senior prom.  He looked dashing (but he didn’t wear the hat or gloves except for this picture).  He’s headed back to Maryland today so we won’t get to see him.  Next week he has finals and then he’s done with his first year at U of Maryland.  Amazing – it went so fast!

353

Today Cieara and I are going for pedicures, and then I’m having lunch with a friend and then knitting group.  I’m looking forward to it all….and looking forward to coming home and working on my lace.  Have a wonderful weekend….and Happy Mother’s Day!

11 Responses to Dreaming

  1. rhoda says:

    glad to hear that little voice screaming ‘lace! lace!’ has been satisifed. I can’t wait to see how your shawl comes out. 🙂 that was very sweet that Andrew flew in for his gf’s prom. 🙂 love the top hat and cane!

  2. chris says:

    LOve that pattern!! Great choice. And what a handsome young man – it did go fast, didn’t it? I’m sure lunch and group was fun, and Happy Mother’s Day to you, too!!

  3. hakucho says:

    Love the shawl pattern you picked to knit. Very dashing young man you have there. It is really nice to see them dressed up 🙂

    happy Saturday and happy knitting 🙂

  4. stitch-dom says:

    Beautiful shawl – and I love the colours yours will be.

    Handsome son! You must be very proud. Enjoy your Mother’s Day!

  5. tiennie says:

    Very dashing son! Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  6. Laurie says:

    Andrew looks very spiffy! Did he use the cane?

    I’m glad you quieted the “voices”. It’s going to be a lovely shawl.

    Nice meeting, yesterday, as usual. Lunch and toes, too!

  7. Arleta says:

    What a good looking guy!! Hope your mother’s day was great!

  8. Rebekah says:

    Oh don’t you hate it when that happens, although it’s a relief when you figure out what it was, and a doulbe relief when it’s knitting.

    Hope you enjoy the shawl! Good selections.

  9. Opal says:

    Ooh! The lace bug has hit you! Ooh! That is some really gorgeous yarn. Are you planning on doing nupps or beads?

    Andrew looks really dashing and I’m glad that you and Cieara got to treat yourselves to a girl’s day out!

  10. Katie says:

    I hadn’t seen the Spring Things shawl before – it looks lovely.

  11. Lauren says:

    Ok I am so jealous of your beautiful lacy knitting. I am trying SO HARD to knit lace with my beautiful Schaefer Anne fingering yarn but it keeps slipping off my needles and I can’t find my place. I rolled the yarn in this big ball and look at it. http://indianhillmediaworks.typepad.com/yarntalk/

Leave a Reply

