Maryland ’07 – Fiber

Another year has passed for Maryland Sheep and Wool.  We got there around 11 (after stopping for a very nice breakfast).    I think the festival was more crowded than last year – it was crazy.   It was painful.  It was just too much.   I found myself just skipping booths if they were too busy – I was just tired of fighting my way in and out and around.  So we actually didn’t stay too long – we were back on the road home by 2:00.   

This year we saw a lot of animals (usually I just skip that part).  These two were too funny – all shorn except their heads and legs…

292

And these were angora goats….they were for sale, and I really wanted to bring one home.  The babies were especially cute.

291

We saw a lot of Angora bunnies too – I was really tempted but I’m not sure I want the responsibility of the bunny right now – although I have to admit – the fur is amazing.  I meant to pick some up, but just forgot.  We did have a good time but I wasn’t in a frenzy to buy this year.  I have so much nice roving and yarn already – there really isn’t much I need.  I did buy things – just not a lot. 

I almost bought another spinning wheel, though – I saw Vermont Wheels – they are gorgeous.  Absolutely stunning.  All handcrafted by Patrick Russo and he only makes a few a year.   I sat down at one to try it – but I just couldn’t do it.  I don’t know if it was the spinning in public, or the single treadle, or the saxony style – but I ended up looking like I couldn’t even spell spinning, let alone do it.  I didn’t buy the wheel since I didn’t intend to buy a second one – but I still feel a little sorry I didn’t.   Maybe I’ll see if he goes to Rhinebeck….

OK, so what did I buy?  Well, here is the first thing…4.9 pounds of Cormo fleece!  It is so soft (although this picture  makes me think of lobster meat…I think I’m hungry!).  I originally thought of dyeing this, but I think I’m going to spin it up as is and see how it looks.  I think it would be sort of cool to make a sweater out of it undyed – something cable-y?  Like a Starmore?. 

297

I also bought more roving, but haven’t taken pictures of it yet.  I did buy a little yarn too – but I’ll show pictures of that later this week. 

We got home around 5:00 and took Dan, his girlfriend Carrie and Cieara out for dinner to celebrate his new job.  We went for Mexican and I had a very good margarita! 

Today was time for relaxing – I spun outside for a little, knit, napped.  I also frogged Cece again – and put the yarn away on a timeout.  If its good, I’ll try again. 

By the way, since so many of you asked – the tattoo is on my right shoulder….and I’m thinking of getting another one on my arm (I guess I better look at Microsoft’s site – maybe they have new clip art!).

11 Responses to Maryland ’07 – Fiber

  1. Laurie says:

    You got some good photos. Mine are all butts, arms and “moved just before the flash”. LOL!

    There sure were some beautiful wheels!

    Sorry we didn’t see you…we looked!

  2. chris says:

    It was painfully crowded – too claustic sometimes. But I did manage to buy myself silly with fiber. And the weather was just right, even though it clouded up a bit. I’ve been spinning allllll day today…..

  3. T. says:

    Hi there! My sister, my boys and I went to this Saturday, too (our first time). You should be glad you left at 2 p.m., because soon afterward it got really chilly & windy to the point that we were all miserably cold! We weren’t too happy with the crowds either… I think maybe they should turn it into a 4-day event… 🙂

  4. kerstin says:

    oh that fleece looks gorgeous! Sorry the crowds were so bad…I would have gone to hang out with the sheep too. I have a bunny…he’s litter-trained and is much less work than the dog.

  5. hakucho says:

    Sounds like fun 🙂
    Angora bunnies are so cute 🙂
    Have lots of fun with all your purchases!!

    happy knitting 🙂

  6. Opal says:

    Are those funny lookin’ guys llamas? They’re too cute! I saw some pictures of the crowds and it made me more then a little glad that I couldn’t make it. I really hate crowds.

    Those Vermont Wheels are gorgeous! I do hope you get to try one at Rhinebeck! The Cormo fleece looks luscious. I bet you can’t wait to spin it up. I look forward to seeing what kind of roving you bought!

  7. Rebekah says:

    Dang I’m jealous! What great pictures you shared with us though, thank you!

    And I love the knitting journal in your next post. That’s a great idea, I may ahve to steal it!

  8. Terri says:

    I’m glad you had a good time. I don’t deal with crowds well either and tend to do the same sorts of things you did. Love that fleece. I think it would be beautiful spun up and knitted ala naturale! You are so funny about the tattoo thing. I wish I was game enough to get one, much less two!!

  9. knitxcore says:

    a lot of people said that they had to just keep skipping booths b/c of the crowd. it’s a shame really. I’m not as upset about missing it now, though.

  10. Hannah says:

    I’m so envious! Had to skip it this year because of other (financial) obligations…like rent! Why can’t they schedule this for the middle of the month? It’s always so crowded, but still fun. So maybe I’ll head to Rhinebeck instead…? Thanks for the photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

