Spinning Afternoon

I worked from home yesterday, and at lunch checked my personal email….there was an email from someone saying that if I wanted company later, she could come over ….that sounded good….
281

Spinning outside with a friend is really nice – it was a beautiful afternoon, and we spent a couple of hours chatting and spinning (and the dogs enjoyed having someone new to bother).  It also makes spinning go quickly….and I finally finished the Cherry Tree Hill roving….I had a little roving left but just couldn’t get anything more on the bobbin.

287

Now I just need to skein it up.  I wound it on the niddy noddy for a while last night – and I’m not even half way down on the bobbin, so this is going to take a couple of days to get it off the bobbin  – this highlights my need for a skein winder.  Good thing Chris’ husband makes them!

285

I definitely have enough for a shawl….I’m wasn’t going to ply it, but just use singles.  I’m a bit worried  how that will work, so I’m going to watch how the singles look once I get it off the bobbin and then decide.  I suppose it will depend on how much I have – I really want to use this for a shawl, so if plying it means I won’t have enough, I don’t want to do that.   But it did break once pulling it off, so I’m concerned the singles aren’t strong enough. 

All in all, a wonderful afternoon!

One more day and a wakeup and its Maryland!

9 Responses to Spinning Afternoon

  1. chris says:

    I had a great time too! Maybe now I’ll finish up that merino tencel I’ve been spinning for over a year!! And thanks for the fiber fix – it’s really pretty and I can’t wait to spin it!

    Yay Maryland!!!

  2. Opal says:

    So glad you had a good time with your friend. Gorgeous yarn! I’ve been thinking of using singles for a shawl too. Let us know how that works out for you!

  3. hakucho says:

    Beautiful newly spun yarn 🙂 Spinning must be fun!

    happy knitting 🙂

  4. Laurie says:

    Sounds like you had a great time!

  5. donyale says:

    That looks so lovely – I hate how you guys have so much access (without international postage costs) to wonderful stuff that we don’t!

  6. Asa says:

    Lovely colourway – nicely spun yarn. You have sun, you lucky things. For us it’s been rain rain and more rain.

  7. tiennie says:

    What a great way to spend your time!

  8. Chelle says:

    Looks like a perfect spring afternoon.

  9. Terri says:

    That looks like so much fun. Makes me want to spin. Gorgeous colours too.

Leave a Reply

