Gave in!

Yesterday, I met Chris for lunch before going to my knitting group.  She mentioned that she had been to Michaels and had bought some Cotton Ease – I had heard about this yarn, but never saw it.  It was so soft!  So between lunch and knitting group, we snuck over to Michaels and I bought some…
274

This is Cece – which calls for DK weight yarn.  Cotton Ease is a light worsted.  Sort of the same, right?  (Anyone having flashbacks to the pirate hat?).  I did a gauge swatch, though – and I think its going to be fine.  Although as I typed that, I got a little nervous.  Did that just tempt the knitting gods?  Nah – I do think its going to be fine. 

275

I love Cotton Ease.  I know, its Lion Brand.  And its so not cool.  But I really like the yarn – nice, light – just pretty.  I think I may get more for another project (summer Ariann?).    And I’m loving the pattern – really – I love it!.  I’m actually smiling as I knit it – always a good sign (does anyone else get the sense that I’m now going out of my way to tempt the knitting gods?). 

I haven’t said anything before this, but tomorrow my oldest son, Dan starts a new job.  At the same place I work.  We will be taking the train in together.  He’s very excited and nervous (and I have to admit – so am I!).  He also – wait…..looked at an apartment today!  Yea!  He needs to call back and tell the landlord he wants to rent and then he is on his way.  I’m so proud of him. 

Duncan is running around like he normally does (as much as a old, overweight dog runs around that is), so we are really hoping that it was just a sprain.  Thanks for all the good thoughts!

So at the end of a nice weekend all is well in my world – new project for me, new life for Dan, new spring in his step for Duncan.  Hope all is well in your world too!

13 Responses to Gave in!

  1. Cece is looking Nice!! And congrats to Dan on the job/apt and to Duncan for feeling better!!

  2. tiennie says:

    Yay for Dan and Duncan! Beautiful knitting with the white cotton ease. I may need a trip to Michael’s!

  3. hakucho says:

    CeCe is very pretty! Perfect for the summer 🙂

    happy knitting 🙂

  4. Sherry says:

    That looks really nice. I love the way the yarn looks. I bet it will be nice and cool and comfy for summer!!

  5. You’ve gotten a lot done on Cece. Very nice!

    I think, with Dan moving out, you will need another dog…or cat…or both.

    🙂

  6. Opal says:

    Wow. Now I’m just itching to get some Cotton Ease and start the Ariann. Or Cece. Cece is so pretty. Ariann or Cece. Damn girl. You are tempting me beyond belief!

  7. Rebekah says:

    You know I’ve come to appreciate that even Lion brand yarn has it’s place, even Red Heart. They do have some purpose, like cat and dog blankets (Red Heart) and washable baby knits (Lion Brand)

    It’s just finding the right project for the right yarn.

  8. Silvia says:

    Oh, this is familiar. My step son just got a new job and for a few days now decided he wants to move out as well. So we’re crossing the same bridge here :).
    I keep telling my (stressed) partner to start crafting something ( and no, changing chanels on TV is not a craft ) , in order to have something to calm himself down :).
    At least we’ve got the knitting :).

    Good luck to our sons and best wishes,
    Silvia

  9. knitxcore says:

    I’ve been meaning to pick up some cotton ease to make branching out from knitty. i

  10. kerstin says:

    I’ve never tried cottonease….have to check it out! You’re really making me want to try Ariann!

  11. rhoda says:

    oh, there’s nothing wrong with cotton-ease! glad to hear duncan is running around like normal. 🙂 And that’s awesome about Dan starting a new job and getting his own place soon. 🙂

  12. Chelle says:

    Cotton Ease is fine. That pattern is darling. Gosh, you’re adding yet one MORE thing I want to try to make before Stitches. You knit fast too. What you’ve knit up so far looks lovely. You’ll soon have your Cece finished.

  13. Terri says:

    I think Cece is a gorgeous pattern. Personally I found Cotton Ease to be quite a bit thicker than DK. I’d call it Aran weight myself, but maybe our DK is much lighter than what you call DK. Good luck with it anyway.

Leave a Reply

