Darn!

If you are a sock knitter, you will agree that there is just something about it.  No matter how you make them – DPN, one circular, two circulars….the process is just ….amazing.  I still remember my first pair of socks and being awed at what I could create, and how all those stitches actually turned into something I could wear.  And turning the heel!  I still love that part of the process.  I love making socks, and always have a pair on the needles.  They are also my preferred thing to make for other people – yes, its like 17000 stitches but I’m not as emotionally invested as I would if I made someone a sweater and they didn’t wear it (ahem…Larry…).   I have two tubs of sock yarn now and can always be persuaded to buy a bit more (did you see the update yesterday by Emily  No?  How about this shop – love the pinks, reds, greens…sigh….)

A few months ago, something terrible happened to one of the socks I made.  It was so traumatic I couldn’t blog it. 

The same thing happened today…. 

254

Larry’s socks – made from Kraemer’s Naturally Nazareth.  I made them last year.  (Like the long hairs around the hole?  I think maybe Larry is part hobbit, but he swears its cat fur.  I’m not really sure, but I think its wrong to conveniently blame everything on the animals. Maybe its just time to own up to the hair on the bottom of your feet thing, eh?)

I don’t fix socks – I just toss them.  But now Larry is down two pair. (the last time was another one of his)…and I think its time I made him another pair.  Maybe after I finish my Ariann socks (which are just amazing, by the way!)….

13 Responses to Darn!

  1. geckogrrl says:

    Wow, that’s some hole! I had the same thing happen to me recently with a pair of socks (interestingly enough, they were the same color as yours) wearing down to almost nothing. The thing was I had only worn them for about a year… Wouldn’t it be cool if a sock pattern book would include some projects for holey handknit socks & how to reuse them!

  2. Opal says:

    Eek! Holey socks, batman! I’m so glad you got your sock mojo back though.

  3. Terri says:

    Bugger. (That’s not considered rude here by the way, just a common form of expression – the young ones would add ‘dude’ to that, but I just can’t bring myself to say it). The hairy feet thing is funny. Hairy toes are one thing, but hair on the bottoms of your feet….eewww! ;o)

  4. Chrissy says:

    No matter how many times I see them, the sight of a sock with a hole in it does not get any easier.

  5. tiennie says:

    Oh no! That’s so hard to see.

    Bright side – do you get to go yarn shopping now in order to get more sock yarn?

  6. Asa says:

    Oh no! That’s not possible – how in the heck did that happen? Let’s see your progress on the Ariann socks…

  7. Nair! Now for feet!!!

    LMAO!

    Poor Larry. And right after that beautiful birthday post. Isn’t the hole in his sock abuse enough?

    I guess you’ll have to buy some yarn for new Larry socks. You really don’t have anything, right?

  8. lobstah says:

    That’s gigantic! Men seem to be really hard on their clothes!

  9. Beth says:

    I haven’t put any holes in any of my socks yet, but that sight is certainly a painful one that I don’t look forward to experiencing firsthand.

  10. Arleta says:

    Darn is right! I have done that to some hand knit socks too.

  11. Kelly says:

    My 7 year old son took less than a month to put holes in both heels of the first pair of socks I made for him (there’s a picture here). The next pair he gets will be in something seriously sturdy.

  12. Chelle says:

    Hey wait, Jeanne, my friend and blogger LynnH at http://www.colorjoy.blospot.com knows how to fit that kind of hole! At one time, she had a step by step tutorial on her website. I’ll check on it and let you know. Don’t throw Larry’s sock away!!!

  13. Chelle says:

    Sorry I had her web address wrong. Here is a link to the entry I’m referring to: http://colorjoy.com/weblog/archives/1656

Leave a Reply

