One step forward…

At least 10 steps back.  Welcome to my week.  Really – in at least three aspects of my life, I’ve gone backwards more than forward. 

Knitting wise….
238

Larry’s vest.  Yep, probably the day after I posted the picture in the last post, I realized that I had miscounted and placed one of the diamonds a few stitches off.  After a few days of trying to figure out how to fix it without frogging it back, I sat down last night and frogged it back to the ribbing.  But I just wasn’t happy how it looked once I picked up the stitches, and ended up just ripping it all the way, and restarted it last night.  I knew that if I continued, I’d keep on focusing on the part where I picked it up  – the stitches were twisted and it just looked wonky.

I also started a pair of socks…well…I actually started 3 pairs of socks this week.  I bought the new More Sensational Knitted Socks book, and tried several of the patterns.  But I was just iffy on them, and finally put the yarn back in the stash (once again I was trying to use Lorna’s Laces Black Purl  – I’m starting to think this yarn is doomed).  As far as the book – great patterns.  Love them.  Not sure I like how she organized it – she removed the stitch patterns from the sock patterns, and clumped all the stitch patterns together at the back of the book.  So you have to flip back and forth between them.  I think this isn’t as effective as having them together, but we’ll see.  But the patterns – amazing.  She has a few fair isle patterns, and I’m starting to consider raiding my Palette sampler to make a pair (which will impact my making the Palette cardigan, but maybe that’s ok – I’m undecided on this now).

Work wise…sigh…its really been one of those weeks.  I did hire two new people that started, and I think they are going to be great.  Things are looking up, but its just a difficult job sometimes.  I don’t like to mix work into this blog, so I’ll leave it at that.

Weight wise….yeah….hmmm….not doing well there at all.  I’ve regained half of what I lost since last September.  And every day I’ve been “starting over”.  I’m irritated with myself for my lack of willpower and control.  I had stopped going to Jenny Craig about a month or so ago, and switched to Weight Watchers.  Sort of.  Not really.  Grrr.  So this morning, I’m calling Jenny and going back.  I need the structure of it I guess – because I’m a jackass that just can’t stop eating things that I know I shouldn’t.  

I’ve been reading The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, and although I’m not normally a big fan of this kind of thing, for some reason its really speaking to me.    Maybe its mid-life crisis or something, but I’ve been feeling more and more lately that I need to make some changes in my life and be different.   No, this doesn’t mean I’m going to go into a whole thing about it – but one of the things that the book talks about is taking responsibility for things.  So with the weight thing, I’m finally starting to stop blaming things – stress, not smoking, etc.  The fact is that I like to eat too much of the wrong things.  And I know it.  So now I’m taking responsibility for it, and its going to change.

237
                                Saturday Sky

Spring seems to be missing this year – we are expecting a storm tomorrow and its going to be cold.  So its unreal that the sky right now is perfect blue with just a few wispy clouds.    We are supposed to go to a pig roast for Larry’s birthday, but I’m not sure if its still on.  I need to go shopping today for his presents (and no, I don’t procrastinate!), and then I have knitting group.  Tonight Larry and I are going out to dinner.    I’m hoping to squeeze in a nap – I woke up at 4:00 a.m. and just couldn’t sleep (work stress, sigh), so I need to nap, or I’ll be sleepy tonight by 9:00.  I hate when that happens!

Sorry for the ramble!  Have a great day!

5 Responses to One step forward…

  1. Sherry says:

    I have had weeks like that, but I am like you, if it doesnt look up to snuff I just cant let it go!! Thus the big RIPATHON at my house!! I actually ripped more than what I wrote about 😀

  2. hakucho says:

    I did quite a bit or” tinking” this week too! I tried to fix my mistakes with out ripping back, but it just became too much of a mess, so I literally unknitted about 20 rows of a blanket one stitch at a time. Such wasted time in my opinion, but at least things are looking up now! Good luck with your knitting!

    happy knitting 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    I’m glad you ripped the vest.

    Not only will you be happier with it but I think I’ll finish the back before you! hee hee

    Sorry it’s been another rotten week, at work. Hope it continues to get better.

    Raid the Palette! Think of how many pair of socks you will get.

    Looking forward to the meeting, today.

  4. Terri says:

    You are WAY too hard on yourself re: the weight thing. If that is your butt in the Ariann modelling photo, you look perfectly fine to me. :o)

  5. tiennie says:

    Don’t look for all the negatives. I think that if you look and see all that you are accomplishing, I bet you’ll feel a lot better!

Leave a Reply

