Next up..!

So about 12 years ago last month, I went to New Orleans for a conference.  It was a huge technical conference – I think there were about 8000 attendees.  Dan was 10 years old, Andrew was 7.  I was a single mom at the time, and I left them at home with a friend.  I was a little lonely that first night – I rarely was away from the boys.  And I was all alone in a hotel room, nervous and scared about the conference the next day.   I still remember the feeling I had that night – very lonely and lost.   The next day I went to the conference, and went through the day.  At the last session, someone sat next to me and we struck up a conversation.   We chatted for a while, and then I asked him if he wanted to get coffee or something after the session.  Coffee led to dinner.  Dinner led to lunch which led to dinner again which in turn led to a phone call to my friend asking her to watch the kids for two more days, and an extended stay for the weekend in New Orleans.  Larry lived in California at the time, I lived in New Jersey.  So at the end of the weekend, we went our separate ways.  Six weeks later he moved to NJ, and 6 months later we got married. 

Larry and I have never regretted our fast beginning , and I love being married to him – he truly is my best friend.  In fact, I love him so much that I’m making him a golf vest out of fingering weight yarn on size 2 needles. 

234

This is Dale Baby Ull and I really like the yarn already.  The color is actually a royal blue, but the lighting makes it look purple.   This is perfect train knitting and I’m hoping to get it done …..well….maybe in time for him to retire!  Come on – its a size 2 needle!    The front is done in intarsia – which I’m very excited about since I’ve never done it and I like doing new things. 

I ordered a new book from Amazon…..I’ll talk about it more when I get it – hopefully tomorrow!

16 Responses to Next up..!

  1. Amber says:

    Great story! And, the vest is coming along nicely — for fingering weight on size 2s it seems to be to be going pretty fast!

  2. tiennie says:

    Now that’s love – size 2s?!! Seriously, thanks for the sweet story!

  3. hakucho says:

    That is going to be a beautiful vest…can’t wait to see more of it 🙂 Sounds like even if it is tiny needles and fine yarn it will be joy to knit!

    happy knitting 🙂

  4. chris says:

    What a great Love Story!!!!! Get crackin on that vest, woman!

  5. lobstah says:

    What a crazy story! Funny how you just know when something is right, huh?

  6. Karen says:

    Beautiful story. A sweater on size 2’s is love indeed. 🙂

  7. kitkatknit says:

    That’s love all right!

  8. rhoda says:

    aww, i love stories like that. 🙂 thanks for sharing it!

  9. Hey, what’s up with the third diamond from the left?

  10. What a sweet story. So much love. So many stitches in the vest. I know you can finish it in no time. (hee hee)

    Remember the bet!

  11. Opal says:

    Beautiful story!

  12. stitch-dom says:

    A guy willing to help you block lace will understand the love poured into a vest knit on size 2s in fingering weight yarn…that was a great story Jeanne – makes me feel hopeful.

  13. lindab says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  14. Asa says:

    What a romantic whirlwind of a story – fantastic to hear how you met your other half. Vest is looking great.

  15. Sherry says:

    That is love!!!

  16. susan says:

    I love to hear stories like this. Was a labor of love.

Leave a Reply

